We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“simply the best!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

have been staying in GB since its renovation of 2003 and still think its the best. Plaza NY, Dorchester London, George V, PAris, Hassler Roma are among the best hotels in the world but in my opinion GB beats them all. unbeatable location, full of luxury, classy rooms, extremely comfy beds, friendly staff and marvellous service. Alexander cigar lounge with its cigars and single malts is a must for aficionados. room service though needs some improvement in terms of food quality. four stars to room service and five stars to everything else.

Room Tip: room with a balcony facing Syntagma sq.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErolBrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,395
    515
    127
    51
    33
See reviews for
573
1,537
135
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I love everything about this Hotel, It has everything a visitor to Athens would want.
It has friendly staff who make you feel at home, it has great restaurants, one with outstanding views of the Acropolis,it is central to everything, and in walking Distance to all you want to visit or see in Athens, with the subway also next to the hotel. It has history and is legendary, but most of all it has a heart.Now is the time to visit Greece, and the Weather is Beautiful. has a balcony and big bathroom. It's wonderful! I enjoy the nights there! The best view, the best location, the best service and the best comfort. I love Grande Bretagne, the roof garden which has the best view at dinner, it's Luxury Collection

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are the best, great balcony and a really nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LupeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It’s wonderful that you had such a pleasant and enjoyable time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Grande Bretagne is no secret to experienced travelers. It has the best location, the best food, the best staff, and the most comfortable beds of any hotel in the country, and should not be missed by anyone going to Athens. We were fortunate that our cruise line had an arrangement with the GB for a pre-cruise stay. Spectacular cruise, but the land arragements were every bit as nice.

Room Tip: Any room in the hotel will be better than the best room in any other hotel in the city. You cannot g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travisthewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herent, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Grande Bretagne hotel is located at the very heart of Athens, the Sintagma Square. It’s one of the most famous classy hotels in the city and very popular among Americans. The Grande Bretagne is in fact ‘little America’. Because of all the Americans you feel like you’re in the USA. Staff was friendly, but I always felt some kind of distance as if they were just playing a role.
The room was a little small but the bathroom on the other hand, was perfect! I think the Grande Bretagne bathroom had the best Rainshower I’ve ever experienced!!
First day at breakfast, it was very busy, we even had to wait for 10 minutes until there was a table availabl which was no problem for us. But we came in together with an older couple and there was no place for them to sit while waiting.
The breakfast itself on the other hand was great. There was a warm part, a cold part, a large variety of juices, a diet part, cereals, break, sweets....
We had a cocktail at the rooftop bar on the last night of our stay, which is a must because you have the best view over the city with the Akropolis on the background.
The pool on the roof was not heated, but ok for the summer. This is a big plus for the hotel, because not a lot of city hotels have a pool. Another plus for this hotel: welness facilities are complimentary.
One remark: House keeping waking us up at 8o’clock when we were planning to sleep a little longer that morning, was a big downer. But hey, they’re only human too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is right across the road from the parliament so extremely convenient to watch the changing of the guards and close to transport. The setting is truly gorgeous and the view from the roof is absolutely stunning. It's a hotel with a lovely presence and my favourite moment was enjoying a drink in the largely deserted but absolutely stunningly beautiful bar.

Despite the grogeous setting and very beautiful furnishings, I wasn't blown away by the service - check in was a bit dismissive and I had an incorrect charge on my bill that although quickly corrected, should not have been there in the first place.
The room was fine but there were toys stuck to the ceiling over the bed! To be fair, I don't know how the previous guests had managed to get them up there, but on reporting them to front desk, a maintenance man arrived later with a huge ladder to get them down...a little notice that he was coming up and a follow up call from the front desk to enquire if the issue had been resolved would have been appreciated. There was just something missing about the service in general, - it is after a 5 star hotel, but it's not the kind of exceptional service that other 5 star hotels do so well. It seemed that service is concentrated on couples and groups and not single travellers. Perhaps it's just a problem of a busy season in a big hotel.
The dinner recommendation from concierge for the best meal in Athens - at the hotel next door was actually the most average and disapointing meal I had in the country (as well as the most expensive). While it's a special hotel with an unmissable view, I can't say it's a hotel that I'm dying to return to especially having found better value and mre importantly far better service elsewhere in Athens.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totoKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

It is historic building across the parliament building of Greece. The location is really nice, you walk to all places and it is safe to do during the day. The problem is that all the demonstrations and strikes go through this hotel very often. We have seen nothing when we are there. Food and drinks are good but a little expensive, try go out of hotel for food, Greece has perfect fish and vegetable dishes.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Antoine Leo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were delighted to read your kind comments and that you had a pleasant time with us. Looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Pre cruise stay of one night...luxurious hotel in the grand palace mode. Lovely surroundings, fabulous roof top breakfast with a view of the Parthenon. Efficiemt and indulgent staff. High quality linens, tv and bathroom amenities. I've said all I need to even though there is a 22 character minimum.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet...facing the front gives you a view of Athens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lnwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. Lovely to read that you had such a nice time while in Athens and we look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing