We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifull property!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautifull property!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 night in last August and we had a very nice time there... The hotel is located next to the major walking street and have a beautifull pool. The outside pool is open only warm season but they do have an other one on the ground floor with different bath very nice after a long day ! As well a must its to thé a drink at the majestic bar called Alexander... You can have a very nice dinner as well and I recommend outhe soup fish ! We have only beautifull memory from our sejour there... The only remark will be the concierge go suggest us the most touristique and expensive seafood restaurant !!! We should follow other recommendation ! As well on thé way back to the airport and after asking for a taxi the concierge again gave us an "other yellow taxi " with limousine price ! Not very fare but I guess it s our error since we should double check

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giftoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,331
    507
    122
    51
    32
See reviews for
550
1,504
135
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a luxury hotel that is perfect for holiday in Athens. . The hotel is very beautiful and elegantly designed and decorated for the luxury it offers. The rooms are specious and elegantly fitted with many amenities to offer the absolute comfort for such a luxury hotel. On our stay we loved the bath room, which is absolutely lovely; you can soak in the large bathtub with a lot of ease, especially for a big individual like me. The staff is very attentive and friendly and the service excellent. The food they serve is also great. We loved the beef burger and the club sandwich. This is a wonderful hotel that accords you all the luxury you need. I recommend it to any one looking for a true luxurious hotel in Athens.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimMerrtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

I organised a trip for my wife's birthday in January and found the hotel amazingly warm and full of character. The breakfast was organised and sumptuous. The location is amazing and slap bang in the center of Athens. My only bug bear was the temperature of the pool and Jacuzzi, which we tried to use on a number of occasions - but failed to stay in the respective pools. We did have a lovely time - however the room was quite small for the price paid. But I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHAVESHPATEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here on SPG cash & Points ( which is excellent value on this hotel ) in early September. Brilliant hotel , great service etc. Loved the rooftop pool / bar. Not much I can add that has not already been said!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robertadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We arrived at 12:30 pm and our room was ready and waiting. After a short rest we took off to tour Athens. The hotel is located across from the Greek parliament building and the square is big and interesting. The area is great to walk around, many shops and restaurants and open until late in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeBrannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

One of Athens best bars and a favourite when we are at the Center. Love the beef burger here, the club sandwich though was not what we expected and should not be served with brown bread. Service is excellent.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank seasatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on the first leg of our anniversary trip. We are SPG members and that is how we chose this hotel.

This hotel is very beautiful and completely worthy of its place in the SPG Luxury Collection. The staff is very attentive and the rooms are elegant and comfortable.

The location is great, almost all the main attractions of Athens are within walking distance.

If you are looking for the pinnacle of luxury while in Athens, I highly recommend staying at this hotel

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dustinthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were delighted to read that you chose our hotel for the first part of your anniversary trip and that is was an enjoyable one. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#6 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing