We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Start to our Grecian Adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Start to our Grecian Adventure”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Grande Bretagne tired and stressed, and left rested and refreshed. We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of a 10 day trip to Greece. The food was excellent, the views from the hotel pool and the main restaurant are inspiring, and spa was delightful. We had fun just sitting in the atrium and bar, enjoying the ambiance of this great dame. It was extremely hot while we were in town, but the hotel was delightfully cool--fabulous A/C. The location was just perfect, right in the middle of things, a close walk to Plaka and the Acropolis, and museums. Loved this hotel, and would definitely stay again. I look forward to returning!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank palena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It is truly a motivation for us, when we are able to relax and refresh our guests. This is after all the essence of a hotel. We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,350
    512
    123
    51
    32
See reviews for
558
1,514
135
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I really can't say much about this hotel because we stayed one night ... got in late and flew out early the next morning to Santorini. The rooms were classic and nice, as were the bathrooms. The rooms and bathroom did feel old and outdated though, but were still elegant and clean, which is all that matters in the end. I felt the price tag was a bit much for what you were getting. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and overall it was a great pitstop before we flew out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It was hard to find anything to complain about at the Grande Bretagne: perhaps a bit too ornate, or took itself a little too seriously. But the service was fine, location is great and room quite comfortable. We had Classic Suite #740. Considered upgrading, but the room was very nice and really there was no need. 740 is a long walk from the elevator, but that was a plus for us, as we prefer quieter, more out of the way locations. We had lunch at the pool bar; the pork souvlaki was some of the best I've had. We had dinner at the roof garden and were very satisfied with the presentation, service and taste. The buffet breakfast at the roof garden was also excellent. Check in and check out was efficient. For good shopping and restaurants, go right outside of the door and take the street that leaves from the middle of the square (Ermou). Lots of nice stuff down there in the Plaka.

Room Tip: Classic Suite #740 was very nice. Considered upgrading, but the room was very nice and really there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odd_Meter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

the luxury of the hotel is unique, the food is great, and the location is ideal. very convenient parking given the very busy area. the roof garden view is the cherry on the cake, either for a drink or dinner.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Not the 1st time at Grande Bretagne. We had our wedding reception held there and our experience was unrivaled by any international standards!
Therefore we decided to spend New Year's Eve at the same hotel with our 17 months old son and other friends. We had an upgrade for our Suite that was highly appreciated.

The staff is friendly and absolutely professional. The service? Impeccable. All those are the Good.

A boy, 17 months old doesn't just need a baby-cot. He needs a larger baby bed, we have seen in other luxury hotels. That wasn't the case. Our son could hardly fit in the bed provided. Therefore he woke up at night and spent more than two hours crying due to his bad sleeping environment. That was the Bad.

The Ugly? Five (5) Euros surcharge on every room service call! We had invited friends in our Suite and had to order several times. Each call was "penalized" with 5 EUR! That's the first time we ever saw this kind of charge in a hotel of such a caliber.
That's the Bad! It's not the money (our tips are normally much higher). It's about the principle of room service and finally the pocket those five Euros end to...

P.S. It's also annoying to have the WiFi charged. We didn't use it, but it's time that premium hotels understand internet access as a commodity, not as an extra service.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Dodonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing you review after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. So nice to read that you decided to spend New Year’s with us, and enjoyed our services and facilities. Regarding the baby cot, your comments have been discussed with our Executive Housekeeper in order to take remedial action where necessary. However, we are pleased to inform you that we also have extra beds available, which can accommodate children. As for the room service delivery charge, this is common practice in almost all international hotels. We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed there December 2013. Honestly our experience here was better than even the Ritz. They let us check in early and check out late no problem. Everyone on the staff was ready to help and please. I really liked the Alexander Cigar Lounge. Breakfast was awesome and they serve it on the rooftop restaurant with awesome views of the city and the Acropolis, I asked for some Eggs Benedict and the chef made the best EB I had ever had. The location is great, right across from the Syntagma square and close to shopping, Palaka and all the attractions...

Room Tip: Classic rooms are bigger..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Smartpunjabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Hotel Grande Bretagne is clearly world-class. Located nearby the Parliament building, it's conveniently located downtown. The history of the building is impressive. The service is very good. The staff is knowledgeable and the concierge is helpful. The rooftop restaurant commands superb views of the Acropolis, which truly shines at night. The food, though it is not "out of this world," is quite good and appropriate for the price. Head to Spondi for a truly excellent meal in Athens (but be sure to make reservations).

If it is a bit less impressive than other international hotels in it's class it is due to the relatively underwhelming "butler service," which is closed often enough to be reasonably useless and does not really provide the "bespoke" service one might expect. The rooms' balconies are separated from neighboring balconies by a planter, rather than separate verandas. And the rooftop pool is somewhat less than stellar, although it does offer good view of Lycabettus Hill.

All in all, I would not hesitate to stay at the GB again and would certainly recommend it to the international travelers for whom it is clearly intended, with the qualifications mentioned above.

Room Tip: I'd not spend the money on the Butler Service. Rooms with a view of the Acropolis are attractiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PresumedRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,837 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 326 in Athens
3,134 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 326 in Athens
1,605 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 326 in Athens
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing