We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a Palace but We Had the Maids Quarter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay area, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It was a Palace but We Had the Maids Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked this hotel through Oceania Cruise for one night before the cruise. Not that we got a discount price but seemed like all the cruise passengers were on the third floor. Our room was very small. I cannot imagine a princess standing there with her gown. She'd have to stand on the bed in order to accommodate a gown with any volume. The bathroom was spacious though. Do try to point the shower head in the right direction before you turn on water.

While the food at the rooftop restaurant was un memorable, the view of Acropolis was spectacular. The container in which the yogurt came in was very useful too. With the view and OK food the price was worth it.

As pointed out by other reviews, the location can't be beat. And if you are used to step-by-step Google map directions, you better bring them. Hotel staff's direction can be quite vague.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are small. Try other floors, maybe they are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,329
    506
    122
    51
    32
See reviews for
550
1,503
135
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We ordered the most basic room for a (relatively) great price on the internet. We asked for a quiet room, well away from the lift. The hotel was everything it is billed as, and the room was everything we asked for. A courtyard facing room on the 4th floor - and we enjoyed complete silence! Except for the reception on our arrival (when the lady was far more interested in carrying on her conversation with someone else than in greeting us), the staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. Free internet in the lobby, and a nice little business centre. The flower arrangement in the lobby bar was stunning. Do remember to press the do-not-disturb button, as the chambermaids start early. Fabulous location: Do not miss the changing of the guard.

Room Tip: If you want quiet - the courtyard rooms really are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Hotel Grande Bretagne in Athen deserves its title. It is really excellent. It has class, style, sophistication and luxury. Impeccably run by Starwood hotels. Having booked into another hotel in Athens (already scathingly reviewed) we checked out in a hurry and checked into the Grande Bretagne. Best move we made. Should have booked here in the first place. I have stayed now in a few Athens hotels and should have stuck with what I knew from the past and stayed every time at the Grande Bretagne. The location is great- and we had a view of the Parliament and some of the locals expressing their opinion of domestic politicians in Syntagma Square (good to see democracy working in the home of democracy - after a fashion). The hotel hall, reception and ground floor bar are a delight. The reception staff most helpful, as was the concierge. We viewed two rooms- a deluxe and a full suite (as there were no Junior suites available to view or take) and chose the deluxe room. It was exceptionally comfortable, well appointed and well laid out. The decor was 'traditional' as opposed to modern, but it still felt 'contemporary' and not dated. Clean and well maintained. The bathroom was great - very important- well appointed and everything worked (always careful about foreign plumbing). Good wifi (although you have to pay for access in the room for 3 devices). Room staff were all helpful. Very much enjoyed the bar on the ground floor- really delightful and attractive young ladies serving who were most helpful. The 'basement' spa and swimming pool, turkish bath, sauna etc were all top class - a very relaxing way to start or end the day and revitalise or envigorate. Breakfast is served on the 8th floor restaurant and was an excellent spread with a great choice. The view from this 8th floor restaurant is a joy- looking out on the Acropolis and one could eat inside or out. In fact the view is so good that we had lunch there before leaving for the airport- we sat outside (it was just warm enough to do so) - had a glass of champagne and a bottle of wine and a relaxed and most enjoyable lunch with a wonderful view. The staff were very polite and helpful (although they should be as the restaurant was not full- but then again all the staff in this hotel were polite and helpful) and the experience was sublime (excepting that inexplicably they didn't have any avocados- no matter). This is a very well run hotel. Mandy nice little touches like the staff saying 'good morning' or 'hello' when you pass them in the corridors. It is good to see that Starwood are intent on maintaing their high standards of service and quality. One of the sad facts of Athens is that the Greek recession has impacted levels of service and the quality of product in many places. But not at the Grande Bretagne. It is a great hotel, excellently run and maintained and deserves its reputation as a top quality establishment. It will be my hotel of first choice whenever I return and I could not recommend it more highly. Do yourselves a favour- stay here and enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Enjoyes this great hotel on my honeymoon. I'm a hotel snob, so I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The restaurant was great and there are great views. There was a riot on the second day and the hotel right besides the parliment building; so, we got tear gased. Our rooms were a little small compared to middle American hotel rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights before heading to Mykonos. I can't imagine there is a better hotel in Athens. The location is perfect: right on Syntagma Square close to a Metro stop and bus stops and easy walking distance to stores, restaurants and downtown sights. The rooms are tastefully appointed, the staff is professional and the view from the rooftop bar/restaurant is amazing. It's not inexpensive but it's worth every penny.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank marco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. Your review filled us with delight and motivation to continue exceeding our guests’ expectations time and again. Looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Well, what can I say but spending one night at this absolutely amazing hotel was the highlight of our trip to Europe last year.

We knew it was would break our budget but really you only live once and this Hotel lived up to all of our expectations.

Our room was beautiful and the interior of the Hotel was magnificent. We had a drink at the open bar upstairs staring at the Parthenon which was lit up just for us! We didn't eat at the Hotel as it was very expensive but that was expected.

The Hotel is right on the main square of Athen -Syntagma - which is close to the Plaka, Monastirariki and close to restaurants and shops. An ideal location.

Our stay at The Grand Bretagne was one will we will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Lovely hotel with great location. Old Town and markets within walking distance.
Very good breakfast, which takes place in the restaurant with stunning views of the Acropolis! Rooms are spacious enough.
But there are some minuses ...
Staff is very slow, and not professional enough..too small swimmingpool area (for such a large hotel swimmingpool area is quite small).
SPA is in the low level...unfortunately..
I do recommend this hotel for having a trip in a low tourist season also its perfect for business trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jekaterina_Tallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 333 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing