We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Adrian Hotel(Athens)
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$327
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fresh Hotel(Athens)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,580)
Filter reviews
3,580 results
Traveller rating
2,756
588
142
58
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,756
588
142
58
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicerooftop restaurantwinter gardenbutler floorgb roof gardencigar barsyntagma squareparliament buildingbeautiful hoteldeluxe roomsteam roomindoor poolgreek parliamenttop floormarble bathroomking georgeour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,796 - 1,801 of 3,580 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a beautiful Hotel in a great location. We stayed in a Deluxe Suite, and the room was stunning, with a separate lounge, bedroom and a giant sized well appointed bathroom. The bedlinen is soft and luxurious, the showers are amazing and rooms tasteful, elegant and well appointed. Free Wi-fi and Molton Borwn Bathroom Products also included. Hotel Porters & check-in staff are all lovely. Friendly, Helpful, exactly as you would expect for a 5 Star Hotel.
The Rooftop bar & Restaurant has amazing views of the Acropolis, especially at night, but is let down by the service. Its very erratic & painfully slow, we weren't offered any specials, the only reason we knew about them, was we heard the waiter telling the next table about them! Food was quite good, view was simply stunning,but service let it down.
Breakfast - words cannot describe just how bad the service was, it took around 15 mins to get someones attention to get some coffee, some of the staff were a little rude,( stood in your way, when you were walking back with full plates and didn't make eye contact with the guests), so it was very hard to attract someones attention. Considering its meant to be the top hotel in Athens, the staff are really poorly trained - it actually felt like they were far too high & mighty to provide us mere guests with any type of service! Breakfast was ok, the hot food was a little on the cool side ( temperature wise) but there was a nice selection to suit all tastes.
Overall, a stunning hotel, with amazing rooms but seriously let down by the service and staff at the Rooftop Bar. We did mention this to the check-out staff, and i hope these comments were passed on to the Manager.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWIFTYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for writing your review after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. Firstly we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during breakfast. The incident you described certainly does not reflect the high level of service our guests are accustomed to, and for that we are truly sorry. We do hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back and serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel in November 2013 for two nights.
It is very well situated in the center of Athens, in a walking distance from most important sights. The staff is very helpful with suggestions and always happy to help. I very much enjoyed the spa service (although I could hear some noise from a birthday party that was being celebrated upstairs) and the lunches served with a great view over Acropolis.
My room was spacious and clean, with a beautiful design.
No complaints whatsoever, I loved the hotel and would not hesitate staying there again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with a view to the inner garden are slightly bigger than others.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _xKeu_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An old and very elegant lady in the heart of Athens.
A landmark of the city not to be missed in any visit.
Beautilful ambiance, excellent and warm service, antiques everywhere, and the feeling
that here you are treated always as a VIP.
The roof restaurant has superb views of the city, and despite the fact that it is not cheap, it's worth every euro you will spent.
The rooms are elegant, very comfortable, and extremely functional.
Even visiting this hotel for a coffee at the lobby it's an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were overjoyed to read such a wonderful eview and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to the "Butler" floor by using travel points, so we received top level service -- although I had no idea what on earth to use a butler for, so basically the butler service was helpful as concierge. The staff was great, the place was clean. There is a park across from the hotel with lots of people and activity, as well as many nearby shops. While out front near the park, a couple of people tried to talk to me whom I was certain were trying to scam me or rob me. One fellow tried to get me to walk to McDonalds with him. Just be careful because I think the park is full of locals who are hoping to prey on tourists.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent two night at this wonderful hotel. The rooms are super comfortable and the service is excellent. The rooftop restaurant is amazing - you can see the Acropolis and Parthenon. Several good restaurants and helpful concierge made this a great place to stay. The nearby subway is easy to use and local shops and restaurants were great. There was a lovely park across the street. The only drawback was not the fault of the hotel - our last day we had police on every floor and the street outside blocked off because EU observers were arriving for the Greek national elections. It made it difficult to board our transportation to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoosiergrandma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were overjoyed that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope you weren’t overly inconvenienced by the safety measures. Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews