We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Nearby Hotels
New Hotel(Athens)
US$428
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$380
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centrotel Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Plaka Hotel(Athens)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,609)
Filter reviews
3,609 results
Traveller rating
2,777
593
144
58
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,777
593
144
58
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicerooftop restaurantwinter gardenbutler floorgb roof gardencigar barsyntagma squareparliament buildingbeautiful hoteldeluxe roomsteam roomindoor poolgreek parliamenttop floormarble bathroomking georgeour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
1,764 - 1,769 of 3,609 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This had to be one of the best hotels we've ever visited! The restaurant on the top had a view of the Acropolis, the food in both restaurants was outstanding and healthy, the service perfect, and everyone in the entire City was helpful toward tourists. There was a spa and indoor pool in the hotel and the location on the central plaza opposite Parliament was great for walking and shopping. The breakfast buffet is not to be believed. The only thing they needed was a third concierge!

Room Tip: Stay on the concierge floor if you can!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minorleaguemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at the Grande Bretagne for four days from 31st May until 4th June 2014 with my wife.
Obviously the best hotel in Athens in regard to location - fantastic view of the Acropolis from the 8th floor restaurant - food and wine menu as well as service and friendliness.
What more can you ask for....
Yes and of course, the wonderful pool on the roof-top with same good food and excellent and friendly service. This hotel must have the best General Manager in the business.
We stayed at a Grande suite with a view of the presidential palace and every detail were taken care of. We cant wait to come back!
KB, Norway

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knut B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Without doubt the GB is the best located hotel in Athens, facing Syntagma Square and just across the road from Parliament, an easy walk to the main shopping(both tourist and local) areas, walking distance to the Acropolis and the kinky little streets around it. I've been staying there since 1975, although this was our first visit for four years. It was amazing, but delightful on walking into reception, to be welcomed enthusiastically by one of the staff who remembered me from our last visit, but that's the sort of hotel this is.
Like many European hotels the rooms aren't enormous, but we found our junior suite quite comfortable, effectively divided into three rooms all about the same size: entrance, sitting room, bedroom. This can be a bit of a problem: on our first night P caught her foot on the bedspread which had a fold on the floor and suffered a bad fall, so for the remainder of our stay we lifted the bedspread and tucked it under the mattress to avoid any further problems: housekeeping please note. A beautiful large bathroom with separate shower; bliss. We stayed there before and after flying to Santorini. First time our suite was on the inside, overlooking the courtyard, and therefore nice and quiet. Second time suite was on the outside, with a small balcony and a perfect view over the Parliament Square and the goosestepping guard. I was worried about potential traffic noise but in fact the windows were very well soundproofed and noise wasn't a problem.
One of the best features is, of course, the GB Rooftop Restaurant with a fabulous view of the Acropolis. We went there for breakfast and dinner repeatedly, not just for the view: the breakfast buffet is one of the best I've had, and dinner v.good. Unfortunately on our last day we tried,on our way out from breakfast, to book for dinner again that night, only to be told, rather rudely, that we could only have a table for 2 at 7 p.m. or 9 p.m. as they would need the table after 2 hours. Given the booking page was virtually empty and we had been regulars (spending more on wine and food than any other couple, I'd wager) this was a bit rich. We didn't go back. I can understand restaurants wanting to maximise throughput and it must be infuriating to have someone sharing a salad and a glass of water and staying all night, but as we had established a reputation for leisurely but extensive dining (3 courses at least, 2 bottles of wine, maybe a sweetie as well, plus generous tip)I was not impressed, and therefore mark it down for service which, otherwise, was first rate.
Nevertheless the GB overall is a great hotel. Thoroughly recommend it, and will stay there again.Even go back to the Rooftop provided they don't try to rush us out.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Parliament or the Acropolis if you can.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

As I am SPG platinum, I was upgraded to the butler floor. Champagne was serviced and we received wonderful hospitality with the butler floor concierge. As it was our honeymoon, the hotel sent us lovely liquor and strawberries to our room it was wonderful. We also enjoyed the spa with many different kinds of steam rooms. Would definitely recommend. The breakfast was alright but the view is amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelInfinity2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. May we wish you a happy & prosperous life together and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Grande Bretagne at the conclusion of our Greek Isles cruise. Wonderful old, but updated, hotel in a great location in the center of the city and walking distance to everything. Roof Garden restaurant has a spectacular view of the Acropolis.

Room Tip: Best rooms are higher floors on side facing Acropolis.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews