We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant hotel in the heart of Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant hotel in the heart of Athens”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Very pleased with this elegant hotel in the heart of Athens. Amazing views, walking distance to everything and a great restaurant and bar on the rooftop. Go during sunset.
The hotel is luxurious and beautiful and service is impeccable! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,350
    512
    123
    51
    32
See reviews for
558
1,514
135
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, Brasil
Level Contributor
384 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Grande Bretagne was something soberb.. we got a suite in the second floor, the Butler set up everything for us, the room was plenty of space, the bed was hyper soft, the decoration of the hotel makes u feel in and palace.... everything was good !!! and the view in the Roof.. goshhhh... And the spots of Athens are beside of hotel.. just one walk around ...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this wonderful review after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It was a real pleasure to have you with us and we were delighted that you enjoyed the Luxury Collection bed and magical GB Roof Garden restaurant views. Looking forward to welcome you back once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for our first two nights in Greece and it was just what we needed after a long transatlantic flight. The staff was gracious and helpful and our room was very comfortable. The best part was arriving for breakfast at the rooftop restaurant in the morning to a stunning sun-drenched panoramic view of the city. Unforgettable! Also, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the Parliament Building, Hadrian's Arch, The Olympic Stadium, and many cafes, bars, and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLover57201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed there recently on a vacation stop in Athens. While we had heard that some of the rooms were very small, ours was not. We also enjoyed the level of service from the staff. It is definitely at the high end of price and service but in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an overview of Parliament Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We look forward to welcome you back and extend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived around noon and after waiting for 10 minutes to check in we were sent to the 6th floor butler check in. When we arrived we waited for 20 minutes before being acknowledged and another 20 before we were informed that our room would take another 10 minutes to be ready. After an hour wait, we were escorted to our room. The room was great with awesome views and location. The cigar room was fantastic and most things were in walking distance. The hotel is beautiful but the service from the butler and concierge was inadequate to say the least. They rush you along and act as if you are in their way and/or disturbing them.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. Firstly, may we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during check-in. This is certainly not indicative of our usual service and hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back and show you that we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Everything Is great. The rooms, the staff, the spa. The business offers the internet free of charge. This location is right near the pl aka. The dining options are fabulous in the hotel itself, but it is easy enough to ask the concierge for alternate outside dining suggestions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReggieAnn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We got to spend only one night at the Grande Bretagne Hotel in downtown Athens, but what a beautiful experience. We arrived around 10 AM, and didn't think we had any chance of an early check in, but we were told if we had a coffee in the ornate cafe, which looked like something out of a Victorian novel, our room would be ready in an hour. And like that, it was. We were able to shower, sleep a bit, and then explore the city. Upon our return we ate at the excellen rooftop restaurant in the shadow of the Acropolis a few kilometers away, and I (not my wife) stayed up to watch Greece defeat the Ivory Coast at the death. That allowed me to watch what seemed like every car and motorbike in Athens drive under our window, honking their horns and waving the Greek colors. Beyond the ecstatic wheelmen, we had a perfect view of the Greek parliament building across the square. Tremendous.

One bit of the advice, if you're American, the showers are small. Other than that, expect perfections.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the central square in front of the hotel, or on the side facing Parliamen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,837 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 326 in Athens
3,134 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 326 in Athens
1,605 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 326 in Athens
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing