We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stays but beware of hotel taxi and bellman”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on two different stays at the hotel. It is a beautiful hotel and as a Platinum SPG we got upgraded to a Deluxe Suite - the 2nd time the suite having a nice outdoor patio on the 6th floor. We got a nice bottle of Ouzo on each stay and on the first stay we got a nice bottle of Champagne. Rooms are very nice as is the whole hotel. The roof top patio is very nice as well. The food at dinner on the Roof Garden was ok - some dishes were served cold (i.e. fish). But otherwise it was a nice atmosphere and a nice view and good service. The outdoor pool also looked really nice but we did not have a chance to enjoy.
Overall, we were very satisfied with this hotel - from quality of rooms, service, etc. check in was slow on both occasions -once because they were training but they apologized and were friendly during the process.
My main complaint would be that upon checking out the 2nd time, we asked for a cab to take us to the airport. We had inquired the night before at the front desk as were told the cabs were EUR 35. When we left early that morning, we were told by the bellman and front desk that it was EUR 55 - I told them I had checked the night before and was told EUR 35 but they said it was due to a night premium being applied since we were leaving early - I thought it was weird and I re-stated that I just wanted a regular street taxi and was sure the day before I had been told EUR 35. The bellman took our bags and when we got in the cab, I realize it was one of the hotel cabs - a Mercedes with even the hotel's magazines in the car. I knew we had just gotten ripped off as the bellman got us a hotel cab (which are normally EUR 75 at night time) for a reduced rate instead of a regular outside taxi – I’m sure splitting some of the fees with the driver. It was too late but I felt cheated by the hotel. This would be only my negative on my experience -I would stay again but I would just get my own cab. Also, taking the subway to the airport is very easy, we did this on the first stay - there is one line that is direct between the hotel and airport and would recommend as it is cheap and efficient.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MillerCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced however, from 23.00 – 06.00 a taxi to the airport does indeed cost €55 so if you left the hotel before 06.00 in the morning that is probably why you were charged this fee. We are sorry that you felt cheated but the associates who work for the hotel have been with us for many years and such behavior is neither in line with the Luxury Collection high standards nor does the management tolerate it. We were happy to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with is and hopefully we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,577 - 1,583 of 3,412 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Very pleased with this elegant hotel in the heart of Athens. Amazing views, walking distance to everything and a great restaurant and bar on the rooftop. Go during sunset.
The hotel is luxurious and beautiful and service is impeccable! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Grande Bretagne was something soberb.. we got a suite in the second floor, the Butler set up everything for us, the room was plenty of space, the bed was hyper soft, the decoration of the hotel makes u feel in and palace.... everything was good !!! and the view in the Roof.. goshhhh... And the spots of Athens are beside of hotel.. just one walk around ...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogerio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this wonderful review after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It was a real pleasure to have you with us and we were delighted that you enjoyed the Luxury Collection bed and magical GB Roof Garden restaurant views. Looking forward to welcome you back once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for our first two nights in Greece and it was just what we needed after a long transatlantic flight. The staff was gracious and helpful and our room was very comfortable. The best part was arriving for breakfast at the rooftop restaurant in the morning to a stunning sun-drenched panoramic view of the city. Unforgettable! Also, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the Parliament Building, Hadrian's Arch, The Olympic Stadium, and many cafes, bars, and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachLover57201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed there recently on a vacation stop in Athens. While we had heard that some of the rooms were very small, ours was not. We also enjoyed the level of service from the staff. It is definitely at the high end of price and service but in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an overview of Parliament Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CasaPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We look forward to welcome you back and extend our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived around noon and after waiting for 10 minutes to check in we were sent to the 6th floor butler check in. When we arrived we waited for 20 minutes before being acknowledged and another 20 before we were informed that our room would take another 10 minutes to be ready. After an hour wait, we were escorted to our room. The room was great with awesome views and location. The cigar room was fantastic and most things were in walking distance. The hotel is beautiful but the service from the butler and concierge was inadequate to say the least. They rush you along and act as if you are in their way and/or disturbing them.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Angel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. Firstly, may we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during check-in. This is certainly not indicative of our usual service and hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back and show you that we can exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Everything Is great. The rooms, the staff, the spa. The business offers the internet free of charge. This location is right near the pl aka. The dining options are fabulous in the hotel itself, but it is easy enough to ask the concierge for alternate outside dining suggestions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ReggieAnn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,200 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#18 of 281 in Athens
3,748 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,882 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 281 in Athens
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £254 - £663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing