We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorious hotel - BEST location in Athens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glorious hotel - BEST location in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I come here every year and stay in a suite with the butler service. Been coming since 2006.
Recently visited twice on trip in June/July 2014. Great service, incredible/unique architecture, great rooms. Lot of marble. Gotta love marble.
I have stayed in many hotels around the world of the same class. This hotel comes first. Rooftop breakfast and afternoon drinks is what makes this hotel my favourite. The view of Athens and the food available is outstanding.
It makes me annoyed to see people complain on here and give this hotel low ratings over very stupid things. The only reason these people will give low ratings is because they were most likely disrespectful towards the staff and impatient during very busy times. I saw a lot of disrespectful tourists this year and it was pathetic and disturbing, from around the world. Yes, there may be a breakdown in service, but give them a chance first, they're only human.
There was this couple with a child in the elevator and the child dropped all this food on the floor, leaving a huge mess all over the marble floor. Of course, they left it there for the hotel to pick up like nothing had happened. No respect.
My butler this year was great, George (I think his name was). He was helpful in arranging transport to the airport and he also went to a store to buy something for me around the corner as I was not going to arrive from the airport in time to get it.

Another great stay. Always enjoy the richness and class of this hotel.
Son of Mr Magiros

Room Tip: Higher levels are nicer with a view facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,329
    506
    122
    51
    32
See reviews for
550
1,503
135
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

In every major city, there is always one hotel that stands out as the Grand Dame of places to stay. Well, in Athens, the Grande Bretagne is it. Only seven floors high but every inch of it exudes class and distinction. The lobby and other public spaces are decorated with royal decor. The rooms are well appointed, with all the amenities one expects in a hotel of this calibre. There wasn't the slightest bit of deterioration anywhere we went. The carpets were fresh and clean, the bedspreads, the wallcoverings, the curtains, all beautiful and looking almost brand new. The staff was attentive but not hovering. The spa was busy, but had ample room for everyone, the roof swimming pool offered views of Constitution Square. A very special experience.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The last time we stayed at the Grande Bretagne is was badly in need of updating. Well, it has had an incredible face lift and it is indeed worthy of inclusion in the luxury hotel collection. The rooms are spacious and lovely, tastefully decorated with luxurious bathrooms, and the beds are very comfortable. We did not take advantage of the spa or pool, but the roof top restaurant is not to be missed. The buffet breakfast is delicious and expansive, the view is superb, and the service excellent. The hotel is well situated in Syntagma Square within walking distance of many sights (Plaka, Cycladic Museum, Agora, Acropolis) and near many restaurants and cafés.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Seven years ago, we were here and every area was a smoking area.

Not any more. Not a hint of cigarette odor in the rooms or lobby, which is very important to us.

Great rooms and service is pretty good. They need to improve the 'butler' check in process, however. Starwood members are sent to a room upstairs expecting a personalized check in but you end up in a small room that is inadequately staffed and limited seating so you end up standing for a while. Would be better if you just checked in at the beautiful lobby; at least you could sit down if you had to wait.

The rooftop bar is a must. Beautiful views of the Acropolis and city. Service is somewhat slow, so be prepared to go after a waiter to get a drink. Also, there was a large sign in the lobby advertising that the World Cup was going to be televised up there. We waited until a few minutes before game time, then went over to where the TV was located only to find out it was broken. We had to scramble to find a nearby bar where the game was on TV.

Hotel is in an excellent location (Syntagma Square), walking distance to the Acropolis and Plaka. Don't forget to walk across the street from the hotel to the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and watch the changing of the guard.

Overall, great hotel, great location, and reasonable good service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on two different stays at the hotel. It is a beautiful hotel and as a Platinum SPG we got upgraded to a Deluxe Suite - the 2nd time the suite having a nice outdoor patio on the 6th floor. We got a nice bottle of Ouzo on each stay and on the first stay we got a nice bottle of Champagne. Rooms are very nice as is the whole hotel. The roof top patio is very nice as well. The food at dinner on the Roof Garden was ok - some dishes were served cold (i.e. fish). But otherwise it was a nice atmosphere and a nice view and good service. The outdoor pool also looked really nice but we did not have a chance to enjoy.
Overall, we were very satisfied with this hotel - from quality of rooms, service, etc. check in was slow on both occasions -once because they were training but they apologized and were friendly during the process.
My main complaint would be that upon checking out the 2nd time, we asked for a cab to take us to the airport. We had inquired the night before at the front desk as were told the cabs were EUR 35. When we left early that morning, we were told by the bellman and front desk that it was EUR 55 - I told them I had checked the night before and was told EUR 35 but they said it was due to a night premium being applied since we were leaving early - I thought it was weird and I re-stated that I just wanted a regular street taxi and was sure the day before I had been told EUR 35. The bellman took our bags and when we got in the cab, I realize it was one of the hotel cabs - a Mercedes with even the hotel's magazines in the car. I knew we had just gotten ripped off as the bellman got us a hotel cab (which are normally EUR 75 at night time) for a reduced rate instead of a regular outside taxi – I’m sure splitting some of the fees with the driver. It was too late but I felt cheated by the hotel. This would be only my negative on my experience -I would stay again but I would just get my own cab. Also, taking the subway to the airport is very easy, we did this on the first stay - there is one line that is direct between the hotel and airport and would recommend as it is cheap and efficient.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MillerCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced however, from 23.00 – 06.00 a taxi to the airport does indeed cost €55 so if you left the hotel before 06.00 in the morning that is probably why you were charged this fee. We are sorry that you felt cheated but the associates who work for the hotel have been with us for many years and such behavior is neither in line with the Luxury Collection high standards nor does the management tolerate it. We were happy to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with is and hopefully we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Very pleased with this elegant hotel in the heart of Athens. Amazing views, walking distance to everything and a great restaurant and bar on the rooftop. Go during sunset.
The hotel is luxurious and beautiful and service is impeccable! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, Brasil
Level Contributor
383 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Grande Bretagne was something soberb.. we got a suite in the second floor, the Butler set up everything for us, the room was plenty of space, the bed was hyper soft, the decoration of the hotel makes u feel in and palace.... everything was good !!! and the view in the Roof.. goshhhh... And the spots of Athens are beside of hotel.. just one walk around ...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this wonderful review after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It was a real pleasure to have you with us and we were delighted that you enjoyed the Luxury Collection bed and magical GB Roof Garden restaurant views. Looking forward to welcome you back once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#13 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing