We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel's location is fantastic . and the history - WOW .
Ms Dimitra Karmiri from the Concierge desk , extremely knowledgeable and helpful . Tall - smart with the most beautiful eyes . An asset to the hotel . . Kudos to the Hotel for employing her

Room Tip: facing the square & parliament house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DILIPJOSHI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,644 - 1,650 of 3,508 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

The location of the hotel is wonderful and the view from the roof top restaurant of the Acropolis is truly breathtaking. We had "high tea" which did not measure up to some the experiences we have had at other "fine hotels" around the world. We were a bit disappointed in our room, especially its size. We had seen pictures of the rooms and none that we saw showed a room as small as the one we stayed in. Quarters were definitely cramped - especially for the price we paid. The staff was very nice and made excellent arrangements for local tours.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpb4usc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were disappointed to read that you didn’t enjoy our Afternoon Tea at the Winter Garden. Please accept our apologies. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future trip to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We only stayed one night here before joining our cruise ship in Athens but we thought the hotel was great. It is in a convenient central location and internally is very elegant and stylish. Although it is of traditional style, it has all modern comforts! It is situated on quite a busy road but our room overlooked the central courtyard and we didn't hear any noise at all. The swimming pool is situated on the roof and in quite a confined space so was fairly crowded when we arrived. Dinner was a real highlight, enjoyed in the open air on the roof of the hotel with a fabulous view of the Acropolis as the sun went down - and a delicious dinner it was too! Breakfast was also eaten on the outside terrace and the fabulous buffet contained everything you could want to eat for breakfast and more with many different types of bread and pastries. Meals and drinks were quite expensive but despite this, we would highly recommend this hotel and our stay here was a fantastic start to our cruise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank malcliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a wonderful property, with excellent and spectacular views of Athens and the Acropolis. The rooms are well appointed, but the wifi is very pricy, if not included in your package.

Butler service is hit and miss. One or two are very friendly, knowledgable and willing. A few others were arrogant and misinformed: e.g. directions and mass times (address given was to a coffee house, and time off by 1/2 hour-thank goodness we checked google a few hours ahead), bringing new keys for two separate rooms that went wrong, turn down service that never happened (card left under door after 11PM to indicate that the service could not be provided when there was not a lock or "do not disturb" sign left -- as if they were going to do turn down at 11pm... They also went days without being able to provide face clothes stating that they "ran out". Unacceptable for a 5 star hotel. The pool was far too busy with children playing for anyone wanting to relax. Wet towels everywhere and no place to sit. Oh well. Kids need a place to be too. They looked like they were having fun and their parents too. Just need more space for lounging too.

More of the good: food service for breakfast and supper on the 8th floor was always wonderful. Staff were courteous and the food fresh and excellent! Wine selection and recommendations were always spot on. This in itself is enough for a return visit. We just wish some of the staff were more honest and friendly.

Room Tip: We like the quietness afforded by the courtyard rooms. Street side can be noisy especially if public...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BNW-Polycarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your feedback after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. First, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to our Butler service. This is certainly not in line with the high standard service we usually offer all our guests. It is unfortunate that your visit coincided with a very busy period at the hotel but we hope to welcome you back in the future and exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We came to Athens for a week and everyone told us that we absolutely needed to stay at the Grande Bretagne that this was not just a hotel but a destination unto itself. We took the plunge and the money was well-spent. If you're coming to Athens to see the sights and you want to feel like you've gone back to another era, then this is the place to soak in that ambiance. Opposite the parliament and Syntagma Square, you feel like you are transported to the time when Greece was breaking away from Turkey and all sorts of characters were coming to Athens to reenter a past that was more pristine.
The facilities themselves are outstanding. The decor is very old-fashioned but extremely comfortable. Powerful shower, huge bath, and luxurious toiletries. Artwork on the walls and in the rooms. The gym is not large but adequate. The indoor pool are is fantastic with a number of spa like treatments and spa / steam room variations. The outdoor pool and space around it is tiny. We came up on Friday afternoon and tried to enjoy it but the deck chairs were all taken and loud children were thoroughly enjoying themselves in the pool - the hotel is very family friendly.
The service is generally excellent and accommodating. We had a midnight flight and they hotel kept our stuff and allowed us to use their facilities until we left and even kept one bag in the fridge / freezer for us.
The glitches came in the housekeeping department. In the morning we asked for them to remove all the goodies and the evening when we returned they were still there - and so I had to ask them again. On Saturday morning, housekeeping rang our bell at 8:10AM! and when we politely declined they came back at 8:30AM! This time we did not decline with the same politeness and they did not come back.
Our verdict: stay here - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JustAFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved the hotel, whole experience was really grande . We had great dinner on roof top restaurant and breakfast was nice too. I think its the best hotel in athens city. We were promptly assisted by everyone in the hotel ,particularly in reception.

Well-done to all staff!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Arie1761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I come here every year and stay in a suite with the butler service. Been coming since 2006.
Recently visited twice on trip in June/July 2014. Great service, incredible/unique architecture, great rooms. Lot of marble. Gotta love marble.
I have stayed in many hotels around the world of the same class. This hotel comes first. Rooftop breakfast and afternoon drinks is what makes this hotel my favourite. The view of Athens and the food available is outstanding.
It makes me annoyed to see people complain on here and give this hotel low ratings over very stupid things. The only reason these people will give low ratings is because they were most likely disrespectful towards the staff and impatient during very busy times. I saw a lot of disrespectful tourists this year and it was pathetic and disturbing, from around the world. Yes, there may be a breakdown in service, but give them a chance first, they're only human.
There was this couple with a child in the elevator and the child dropped all this food on the floor, leaving a huge mess all over the marble floor. Of course, they left it there for the hotel to pick up like nothing had happened. No respect.
My butler this year was great, George (I think his name was). He was helpful in arranging transport to the airport and he also went to a store to buy something for me around the corner as I was not going to arrive from the airport in time to get it.

Another great stay. Always enjoy the richness and class of this hotel.
Son of Mr Magiros

Room Tip: Higher levels are nicer with a view facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,289 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#16 of 282 in Athens
3,873 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
146 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £222 - £630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing