We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Gran Bretagne for two nights before heading off to Mykonos and Santorini. This is the only place you should stay in Greece. Beautiful hotel and the best location in Athens. The hotel has a wonderful pool and the rooftop restaurant and bar have a wonderful view of the Parthenon, Parliament, and downtown Athens. We finished our trip by staying here one more night before heading back to the US. I highly recommend this hotel and it certainly made our trip while in Athens. Don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your lovely review after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We really appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcome you back when next in Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,585 - 1,591 of 3,475 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a lovely building in the grand style and whilst all the staff are friendly it is very much a formal experience. If the budget stretches I would recommend taking an Acropolis view room on the 6th or 7th floor, these are the Butler floors where a team of liveried staff will organize anything you want. We had a fantastic balcony with our room which was enormous but lacked any sun loungers so I asked the on-duty butler and two arrived within 15 minutes. The group also own the newly refurbished King George next door so on the first night we went to their restaurant and had a lovely table looking across to the Parliament building and the Acropolis. Food was fine but lacked refinement, which was disappointing considering the cost. This proved to be a theme throughout the week where the views and the service were excellent but the food lacked the quality we are used to particularly having stayed at the Casa Velha do Palheiro the week before. I think this has a lot to do with the type of customer the hotel caters for which appears to be the well heeled but uncultured given the strident tones admonishing children and the predominance of mobile phones. Dress code although stated at the entrance to the roof top dining room was often ignored and t shirts and flip-flops to me seem inappropriate for dinner at 9.00. Room service was good and we took the advantage of using our balcony as much as possible.
Having walked the streets for hours looking at the wonderful monuments we relaxed in the basement spa which was well equipped and mostly under used. The foot spas and herbal steam rooms were particularly good. We didn't use the outdoor roof top pool as shade was very limited as was space.
Breakfast was an extensive buffet of high quality in the roof top restaurant so views were magnificent and again the staff were very attentive and obliging as well as long suffering in the face of unreasonable requests and demands for take-out containers.
We had the hotel arrange transfers to and from the hotel, which worked well and the drivers were very helpful. Check-in was slow, we hadn't realized and weren't told that the Butler floors have their own check-in so if you choose this option just go straight to the 6th floor reception, where you will also get a glass of Prosecco.
We enjoyed our stay but would we go again, probably but only if we could have room 602 again.

Room Tip: Always get an Acropolis view with a balcony and try for an end room as they are the largest with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FionaRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here overnight before picking up a Seabourn cruise at the port the next day. Lovely, grand old hotel in Central Athens! Rooms were spacious overlooking the courtyard, although the wardrobes were in an outer hallway. Bathroom was large and well appointed. Very comfortable beds!! The rooftop bars and restaurant were spectacular and overlook the Acropolis and have a selfie spot for photos. We had a lovely meal for 4 and didn't stint on the food or the wine - and it was 160 euros which we thought was fairly reasonable considering the vantage point that we had. Breakfast in the morning was buffet style on the rooftop and very nice. The pool and bar looked good but sadly didn't have long enough to enjoy it! Popped over the road to Parliament square at 11 am to see the Changing of the Guard Athens- style, which was fun - and obviously the inspiration for John Cleese's ministry of funny walks?!! Wish we had had longer to enjoy this lovely hotel and would definitely stay again if I was in Athens!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank KMDBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated in the middle of town. The location cannot be beat. The hotel itself is very nice, clean, and great amenities. The staff was pleasant, but somewhat snooty, and very slow in getting us checked in and getting the luggage to our rooms. The rooftop restaurant is a breathtaking atmosphere, perfect for drinks and hanging out at night. The food is good, the service is average, and it was overpriced (paid 75 Euro for 3 meals with no alcohol). There is free wif-fi in the lobby, which is nice, because it is very expensive in the rooms. The lobby cafe is overpriced, but fun surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KatBSuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here overnight before a Greek Islands cruise. The hotel is very grand, as it's title suggests , but the highlight for us was the view from the Garden Restaurant where we had breakfast. It has stunning views to The Acropolis and is a great photo opportunity.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank 605Chrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our 5 day stay was very, very nice and reminded me of the St. Regis in Rome. It is right across from Syntagma square and Parliament and walking distance from a variety of shopping options to meet every budget. We experienced fantastic views and meals from the roof garden restaurant along with excellent service and food in the winter garden restaurant near the hotel lobby. They were gracious to accommodate our desires and customize our meals to meet our taste. The hotel staff was courteous and always willing to help. Travel from the airport was easy on local transportation and convenient access to fixed price taxis for early morning flights. The culture is wonderful and we were able to most historic sights by walking and short taxi rides - we never paid more than 5 euros to get anywhere. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravelYea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in total as a family of four with two school aged children.

The hotel entrance foyer was magnificent and check in went smoothly.

We had large adjoining rooms with views towards the Parliament which were thoughtfully decorated in keeping with the era. The beds were particularly comfortable and, due to the black out curtains and double glazing, we slept well despite the central location.

It is a short walk to the main shopping areas and to the Plaka at the foot of the Acropolis where there are numerous restaurants.

On our last night we ate at the roof top restaurant which was wonderful with fantastic views over the city.

The staff were, without exception, polite and efficient.

A definite favourite, we look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 3lion5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,941 reviews
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,838 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £239 - £694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing