We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than perfect for the price ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

While it's location is ideal, there are lots of problems at this pricey hotel.
The rooms are small and it was not as clean as it should have been. The concierge was very helpful before we arrived but completely ignored us once we arrived. We stood in front of their desk while they could not be bothered to even look up and see if we needed help.
The breakfast is fantastic with amazing pastries, yogurts and honeys. The view is spectacular and can't be beat. The roof top pool and bar is also lovely and a great place to cool off after a day of touring.
While there's a lot to recommend this hotel ( lobby is also beautiful) I might rethink staying here if you want a more helpful concierge.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank EAK141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were disappointed to read your comments and are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. This has been discussed with the Front Office Manager in order to make good use of the feedback and improve our services. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,502 - 1,508 of 3,417 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Great Bretagne as a stop over to our holiday in Chania. We were very impressed. Yes it is old fashioned. However that somehow adds to the experience. It is grand. But it has lost non of it's elegance. We recommend dinner and breakfast at the roof top restaurant. The staff are very helpful and friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights prior to going on a cruise and it was well worth it! As described by other reviews, this hotel is a classic, luxurious and renovated gem. We stayed on the 6th floor, which provides a butler and concierge service and we were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a room that was on the small side, but beautifully renovated. The room also had a balcony, so we were able to enjoy our coffee on the balcony each morning (we brought a Nespresso machine with us - we love our coffee!). The room was quiet and the air conditioning worked perfectly. The staff, including the butler service, was excellent - very friendly and going above and beyond to make sure that you were satisfied with the hotel, any tour or other experiences they may have arranged for you. One afternoon, we sat at the bar by the pool. The pool area is small, and I noticed that it was challenging for hotel staff to accommodate all of the guests that were trying to find a lounger, so my advice is to get to the pool early if you are planning on hanging around at the hotel.

The hotel concierge (on the 6th floor) arranged a private tour of the Acropolis (museum, Parthenon) and it was one of the highlights of our visit to Athens. Dining at the hotel's roof top hotel view an outstanding and unobstructed view of the Acropolis, was another highlight. The food was very, very good. As we are brunello fans, the sommelier suggested that we try the local wine, and I have to say that I was impressed by the quality. Staying at this hotel and experiencing the service but the hotel staff, whetted our appetite to return to Athens.

Three side notes. First, if you are into high quality jewellery, check out Lithos by Michelle. This store is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and was a worthwhile stop. Michelle exports her jewelry to several high quality stores that I have frequented in the United States and her designs (and prices) are very good. Second, the tour guide met us at the hotel. When we were walking around she told us that the metro stations display Greek treasures and artifacts that were excavated when building the metro station. You can find these artifacts in the public areas. On our last day, we went to the nearest metro station (which is just outside of the hotel) and went to see several museum worthy pieces. It was unique and free! Third, we visited the Byzantine Museum, which is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. It is a beautiful museum and worth the visit.

Room Tip: Book a room with the Butler service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francefanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It was a real pleasure to read through your comments and we are glad that you had such a nice time in Athens. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a great hotel! we booked a Junior suite which was a decent size room. Very comfortable bed, clean room, good size bathroom. Concierge is very good. The hotel is ver well located. Took the metro from the airport and the stop was right in front of the hotel. And from there you can go anywhere. Acropolis museum is very close by feet. Great little restaurant on the main floor and great Bar (Alexander's). Ate breakfast on the rooftop. Beautiful views while eating. All in all this place is excellent. Can't see how you can beat this in Athens.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MTL1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel's location is the best in Athens. You can walk to the Acropolis.

The staff are very helpful and professional, specially at the reception, breakfast and Bar.

The concierge was very keen to help but recommended two restaurants that we did not enjoy.

We had a great room overlooking the Parliament, with huge windows and high ceilings. Beautiful light and very calm.

Only 1 suggestion regarding the room : it requires newer televisions.

The breakfast restaurant has an amazing and open view to the Acropolis. Great staff and food.

The high roof outside pool area is very pleasant and has a great view. However from my point of view it is small for such a big hotel.

The Bar is so beautiful and elegant.

Overall and excellent experience!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Francisco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

What can I say? There are not enough words nor description to do this property justice. The Hotel Grande Bretagne is simply perfection. The rooms are luxurious, the food is delicious and the location is primo! Clearly the entire staff, starting with their appearance, is trained exceptionally well. One must visit this property! And, the rooftop is a must for dining and/or drinks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Constitution Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mary Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the warm comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were delighted to read your review and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I booked one night here and one night next door at King George since I couldn't tell which was going to be better. This hotel is quite grand and nice. We arrived to check in and the girl at the front desk seemed to have forgotten she was working in a luxury hotel and not a Sheraton 4 points because when I told her I was checking in she didn't welcome or anything - instead she abruptly said she gives priority to people checking out and proceeded to call out to anyone checking out. This stunned me because I've never encountered such behavior at a luxury hotel. Even when she started checking us in she wasn't very welcoming. She did give us an upgrade, which was "ok" and when I asked for late check out she said it depended on availability. Then when I told her what time i wanted to check out she apparently didn't make note of it in her system so out keys stopped working the following day. Concierge was great and everyone else was really kind. I must say though that the Roof Garden Restaurant is so so expensive and I'm not sure why. The food is good but honestly was not worth the price. If I go back to athens I will stay at King George.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank sra12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your review after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We would like to apologize for the service you experienced, which is certainly not indicative of the usual high standards the hotel abides by. We hope to be given the chance to welcome you back in the future and show you the kind of service our guests are accustomed to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,202 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#18 of 281 in Athens
3,758 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,891 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 281 in Athens
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £254 - £664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing