We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel with Genuine 5 Star Status”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel with Genuine 5 Star Status”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

One of the finest hotels I have ever stayed in. My husband and I stayed one night while traveling through Greece. The Grande Bretagne is true luxury. We stayed on the butler floor and were assigned a butler. not something we really need, but was a fancy touch. The room was large (#621), bathroom and bedroom separated by closet area. Wonderful tub/shower combination with rain shower head as well as a hand held. Bedding was so soft and luxurious I wanted to take it home with me. We typically stay in hotels within the Westin Collection because we have SPG gold status, so we are used to the nice bedding offered with Westin. However, this was even better than the norm. I cannot say enough good things about the bedding. Hotel is quiet, and the not to be missed view of the Acropolis at night from the roof top restaurant is unsurpassed. You cannot go wrong with this hotel. One last thing, the Grande Bretagne is located directly across the street from the metro exit at Syntagma Square, making it easily accessible from the airport. Just 6 Euros per person.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,536
    552
    132
    53
    33
See reviews for
631
1,616
141
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I was in Athens several times, but this time was absolutely special thanks to the staying at GB!
The hotel is perfectly placed in the main square, with all monuments at walkable distance.
The view from the roof terrace is amazing and I suggest to have at least a drink there, better a dinner, which impressed me for the taste of the food, the professional service and the fairly reasonable price.
On the roof I also enjoyed the swimming pool and the lunch service (more informal, but excellent, too ).
And after a day spent walking around, I recommend a professional treatment at the spa and a break at the relax area.
My room was very elegant and with a balcony facing the acropolis: I would have spent the full vacation on that balcony!
A part from admiring the perfection of the furniture and decoration, you really feel at home at GB, pampered by everybody.
An unforgettable experience I suggest everyone to go for, at least for one night!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Viaggiosola123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne and thank you for taking the time to write this review. Looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic service to back up a very smart product. Perfectly sited in Syntagma Square. Service started at the door with a friendly attentive doorman. Slick check in. Well equipped and well maintained rooms (we had adjoining rooms for the kids). Great rooftop pool and bar and a very well presented and served restaurant.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is a very classically luxurious hotel in the world. The service is seemless. The rooms however are on the small side. We booked a junior suite and it could not have been bigger than a standard hotel room.

Location wise it is in a perfect spot to explore from. Only minutes from the main attractions and all within walking distance. The lobby restaurant is really nice for a quick bite and a coffee. However, the winner is the rooftop bar with the awesome views of the Acropolis. It can get a tad busy up there but it's worth the magnificent view.

My only complaints about the hotel are the cleanliness of the rooms. We checked into the room and it was obvious that the bathroom was not properly serviced as there were dry cleaning tags still laying on the floor. The designs of the room are classical and nice overll.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. After every guest departure, the room is thoroughly cleaned. It is evident from your comments that this was not your experience for which we would like to offer our sincere apologies. Please be assured the issues you have raised have been addressed to prevent any reoccurrence in the future. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

while staying only 2 nights, the hotel was easy to get comfortable in. staff was always helpful. location is ideal. rooftop pool during the day is terrific and perfect after a long flight for relaxing. the view at night of Athens is amazing to see landmarks and city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We got two connecting rooms and stayed for four nights. Our rooms had city view with Syntagma Square right in front of us and we were able to watch change of guards from the comfort of our room. Very impressive traditional touch in every corner. Very comfortable and clean bedding. The spa was amazing. We used indoor pool all the time because the roof top pool was always crowded. Excellent service and outstanding food in their restaurant. Breakfast buffet had every possible breakfast item that you could think of. It is less then 10 min walk to Plaka. The concierge arranged a private guide for Acropolis and museum tour, which was very helpful. The main lobby was very relaxing where we could come, cool off and stretch in the middle of the day to freshen up for our next venture in the heat of Athens. Walk around it and to Plaka even at midnight was very safe. It would be our hotel again if we go back to Athens. The price is right for the quality of service. We stayed at another hotel for two days in Plaka (also highly recommended by tripadvisor), but there's no question that Grande Bretagne was way better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsTravel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

While it's location is ideal, there are lots of problems at this pricey hotel.
The rooms are small and it was not as clean as it should have been. The concierge was very helpful before we arrived but completely ignored us once we arrived. We stood in front of their desk while they could not be bothered to even look up and see if we needed help.
The breakfast is fantastic with amazing pastries, yogurts and honeys. The view is spectacular and can't be beat. The roof top pool and bar is also lovely and a great place to cool off after a day of touring.
While there's a lot to recommend this hotel ( lobby is also beautiful) I might rethink staying here if you want a more helpful concierge.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank EAK141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were disappointed to read your comments and are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. This has been discussed with the Front Office Manager in order to make good use of the feedback and improve our services. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,087 reviews
Hilton Athens
#22 of 326 in Athens
3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,803 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 326 in Athens
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing