We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW!”
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed here for one night while passing through Athens to the islands and WOW!! This hotel is INCREDIBLE!! The staff is so helpful! We were able to site see most of the day and then spent the afternoon out by their pool - great food and drinks! We cancelled our reservation at a restaurant outside of the hotel when we saw the rooftop bar. UNREAL! We sat at a table with a view of the Acropolis and had an excellent dinner and wine. Such an unforgettable night - great way to kick off the trip!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfromla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,450
    526
    130
    52
    33
See reviews for
586
1,567
139
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed one night in Athens and stayed at the Bretagne. It was a great location, within walking distance of Plaka and the Acropolis. Rooms were very "rich" looking with a large chandelier in the room. The room wasn't very big, bathroom was a nice size. Rooftop pool was very nice, but not a lot of chairs. By far the best part of the hotel was the rooftop restaurant which was absolutely fantastic. Food was great, view of the Acropolis was amazing, and overall just one of the best meals of my life. Get the Tuna Tartar and the Ice Cream (not together, but you get it...)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBones77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork,ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

stayed here for 3 nights from the 13th june, the Grande Bretagne has the best and friendliest staff I have come across and they will go out of their
way to help you, combined with the luxury rooms the wonderful pools and spa facilities and the great food I would recommend this truely great hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

The Hotel is true five star. We stayed here for two nights after six days on Hydra.

The hotel amazed us and was one of the nicest hotel I've stayed in. It has very friendly staff, a rooftop restaurant with amazing view and a wonderful roof top pool.

The official rate is high but there are pretty good deals around.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joal701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Having been blessed with a number of stays at this magnificent property, felt it was about time to 'update' my review to include how happy I am to have introduced some great friends to this property as well! Starpoints have got to be the greatest invention since the airplane (which joyfully gets me to this wonderful City) and turning on some friends to same, only makes it better to share the experience!
This is a pricey property, no doubt..but can't imagine hard earned money better spent! From the luxurious rooms..to the rooftop pool (my very favorite place!)..to the Winter Garden, where IMO, they make some of the best coffee in the Country..to the indoor pool/spa area..it's all magnificent..but have to reiterate what my friend Johnnieb stated here in an earlier review..it IS the staff that make a hotel great..and hands-down, these wonderful people cannot be beat! We're talking way past efficiency here..and I can't imagine anyone doing a job better..or enjoying it more than Eri who you'll find working everything from the front desk to the butler office on the 6th floor! I extend my personal thanks to you for always making me feel 'at home' in your home;-)
If you have the chance to experience a stay at this marvelous Palace, take it..and Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Litsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Hotel Grand Bretagne is perfect. Luxurious rooms, great staff, perfect location. I stayed there with my family for one night before leaving on a cruise. It is a short walk to the Acropolis and the Plaka. The staff was great, and the rooms were wonderful. We had a room that was obviously smoking had no problems being moved to another room. The rooftop pool and bar is a great place to relax. The rooftop restaurant was fantastic, and the view of the acropolis is amazing at night.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank msw3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Management at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2009
We're delighted our guests enjoyed their stay and thank them for their excellent review. There is no greater incentive for the management and staff to maintain, and even improve where possible, our standards of service and facilities. We look forward to having them back on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for the first night of our honeymoon and were treated by friendly staff who provided a wedding "treat" for us. The rooftop bar was breathtaking, and the pool bar is nice as well - try the Greek burger! I would strongly recommend this hotel to those traveling through Athens.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWOELFEL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#16 of 327 in Athens
2,975 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 327 in Athens
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 327 in Athens
1,463 reviews
Hilton Athens
#20 of 327 in Athens
3,517 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 327 in Athens
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing