We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars? No way, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel
Ranked #97 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 10 January 2007

The G.R. Louis (formerly known as Andromeda Hotel) does not only have a new name, it also enjoys a new friendly staff. This small hotel is in a quiet, narrow and dirty alley in the nearby of the American Embassy. Although not very centrally located, it is 5 minutes away on foot from the subway station of Megaro Moussikis, three stops away from the old city center.

Absolutely not a 5 star hotel. However the lobby looks attractive and elegant, just like the breakfast room with its old fashioned Murano glass chandelier. The breakfast buffet is passible but the bar, located in the same room, is always unattended. We needed to call someone from reception simply to get a beer.

I have been here a few times and found no real problem with the rooms, although the TV is mostly Greek channels and works from time to time. But they are dark, with depressing colors and in none of them I found a proper desk to work comfortably.

I go to this hotel for its convenient location during my business trips. As I use the room essentially to wash myself and sleep I am fine with it.
Should I come for a holiday, I would probably make a different choice.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MemberfromPadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2006

We found the Andromeda properties in Athens, and in Thessaloniki, to be charming, however, with different styles. In Athens they were very accomodating and placed our family in a two-bedroom apartment in their annex across the lane. The breakfasts were wonderful, the restaurant very credible, the staff served cheerfully, and the management was very helpful. Internet needs an upgrade, but we would welcome the opportunity to stay at The Andromeda again!

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GeorgeFarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
18
Reviewed 13 August 2005

The Andromeda Hotel - what a disaster. the staff, pleasant enough, could not care less. Internet access would not work during the entire stay. phone access would not work for most of the time and was not fixed. rooms are cheaply fitted out and are not really clean, quite disgusting. the balcony door would not open and despite daily requests to fix it, guess what. the bar was closed at 20.00 on arrival as the bar man was sick. ask for guidance on a good restaurant at the front desk and see what blank expression you get and response. the manager, Malliou, was not available during the entire time to discuss these issues. i am still trying to obtain a response from the but no luck so far. in 20 years of global travel, this is the worst Hotel i have ever stayed in. avoid.

  • Stayed: April 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2005

Stayed at this hotel in May of 2005. It was a terrible experience. The Andromeda tries to position themselves as a 5 star hotel but other than the lobby and the breakfast room, this was a 2 star hotel at best. The carpet was old and the furniture was dirty and torn with exposed stuffing. I asked to change rooms and they were not responsive. When I asked to depart a day early, the management would not allow it without charging for a night stay. I was especially surprised in the poor quality of this hotel since it was highly recommended in Frommers. I am not sure if they have changed management but something has changed since the book was published. If you are looking for a hotel with international standards of quality, steer clear of Andromeda Athens.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TimB_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2004

Stayed at the Andromeda both coming/going from the Greek Islands. A very pleasant stay. Wonderful staff who made sure we had anything we needed.
Bellman helping with luggage suggested a better room, even though we had no complaints with the one we were in.
Location was very quiet and an easy walk to the subway to get to center of town & to ruins.
Rooms were spacious & comfortable.

12  Thank TEEVEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demander une chambre sur l'arrière (côté jardin de l'hôpital...) avec balcon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CORELLI001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Airotel Alexandros
#77 of 281 in Athens
523 reviews
Best Western Ilisia Hotel
#176 of 281 in Athens
242 reviews
Stratos Vassilikos
#24 of 281 in Athens
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athinais Hotel
#62 of 281 in Athens
371 reviews
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#37 of 281 in Athens
716 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#44 of 281 in Athens
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel

Address: 22 Timoleontos Vassou Street, Athens 115 21, Greece (Formerly AngelSuites)
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £80 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel, combining understated luxury with the comforts of a modern hotel, provides unforgettable moments of pleasure. The hotel has direct access to the Syntagma Square and the archaeological sites of Athens.It is located between two metro stations just three minutes from the stop "Ambelokipi" and five minutes from the stop "Music Hall". Within walking distance of many public transport stations, it constitutes an ideal choice since everything is easily reachable.This is a 4 Star boutique hotel that is centrally located at the foot of Lycabettus Hill, near the American Embassy, the Concert Hall as well as major private and public hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g r Louis Athens Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing