We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, average rooms, inconsistent service”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #20 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The hotel location is convenient, with a metro stop across the street, two stops from the Acropolis. The rooms are standard. Good size pool, but often crowded. Service quality is inconsistent, but particularly poor at the front desk/concierge: one of them (Alexander) actually looked at guests waiting in line, then walked away to clean his desk! Galaxy bar on the roof has a great view, but service there is also slow. Best feature is actually Milo's restaurant. Everything did cost extra (Internet, indoor pool, etc). I would not likely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Travelhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

It was a concern to note that you were not quite satisfied with your visit. Please accept my apologies for this.

Your point about the inconsistent service has been reviewed with my team. Thank you for having brought this to our attention, appropriate action will be taken.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens and the Hilton Chain for your stay. Do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,700)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Athens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,402 - 2,408 of 3,700 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

Maybe it was the rate I selected, but the overall experience of staying at this hotel but definitely diminished by extremely expensive (and not included) wifi, fitness center and breakfast.
The bar on the top has amazing views, but it's also too expensive when compared to the quality of what it offers (we tried desserts and drinks...).
I would not stay at this hotel again, even though the rooms are reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinnc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for having taken the time to post your comments regarding your stay here at the Hilton Athens.

We were sorry and concerned to read that your overall impression of your visit was not positive. Your comments have been taken into consideration and discussed with my team. In reference to our prices, kindly please rest assured that these are in line with other deluxe hotels in the city of Athens.

Obviously, we would like to have another opportunity to welcome you back and change your opinion of our hotel and the services rendered.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very basic room, noisy air con, had to move room due to black particles coming out of the taps into the bath. Distant view of the Acropolis. Good range of breakfast items (continental, sushi, cooked) although the quality of the scrambled egg, bacon and things that looked a bit like mini-hot dogs left a lot to be desired. Outdoor pool good. However, there was a 15 euro charge for use of the indoor pool and fitness equipment, which was not mentioned at time of booking and, in my view, is excessive. Although we did get a good upper arm workout trying to open and close the sliding patio doors.

Room Tip: Higher floors with even room numbers have better views of the Acropolis.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GertyGitana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Madame,

Thank you for having taken the time and trouble to send us your comments regarding your stay here at the Hilton Athens.

I was sorry to read that you were somewhat dissatisfied with your visit. Please accept my sincere apologies.

All your valuable input has been taken into serious consideration and reviewed with my team. It is only through feedback received from our guests that we are able to improve the standards we always hope to give our customers.

Look forward to welcoming you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel is one of the oldest in Athens and definitely worth visiting as one of the city's landmarks. Even though it was fully renovated, the property is still pretty old, especially as seen from a high floor (some rusty big white boxes on the right side of the pool). The room (junior suite) was huge, but not cozy at all. The room facilities were only OK. Bathroom was OK. The bed was very comfortable, and the bedsheets were very nice. The balcony could have been appointed in a more luxurious manner.

The rooftop bar is amazing, service and everything is top-notch. In the evening it could get cold, so they had special pashminas, which made a huge difference. Excellent place!!!

The hotel rooms were non-smoking even though all of them have balcony, which is a complete non-sense. Just bring out an ashtray to the balcony and make the guests happy!!!

Wifi was available for a whopping fee of EUR18 per day. What a rip-off!!!! Hotel of such class should offer it free of charge.

The breakfast personnel was very weird, almost like government employees. I came late just before it was closing and had to get food for 2 more colleagues before the breakfast was taken away. The personnel made me feel very uncomfortable, first by allocating the furthest table (because they had to prepare for lunch) and then generally by looking at me as if i did some kind of a crime.

Overall, you go to this hotel for its name, but instead you are getting ripped off for small details. Would recommend to try it for an experience, but not more than that.

Room Tip: Rooms with Acropolis view, high floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savenich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us your feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Athens.

We were sorry to read that you were not quite satisfied with your visit. Your input has been reviewed with my team and appropriate action will be taken, where needed. Thank you for advising us, since it is only through concerned guests we are able to improve the standards we always hope to give our customers.

Do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back. Let me lastly thank you very much once again for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here on the front and back end of a trip to Crete. The rooms are on the small side and a bit dated and air conditioning didn't work well in either of the rooms. Stayed in the Acropolis view side of the hotel so the sun is pretty intense in the afternoon. The maids really should close the drapes to keep the rooms cooler, but they open everything up after making up the rooms. On our second stay, we returned to the hotel in the evening to find the power out. Had to take a service elevator to our room and navigate a dark hallway. That evening we had no air, tv, Internet, etc. If I managed that hotel I would have been up all night writing apology letters to the guests. But instead on check out the staff treated it like it was business usual. Would definitely stay elsewhere if I come back to Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Athens.

We were concerned to note that your generic impression of your visit was not positive. Please accept our sincere apologies for this.

All your commens have been discussed with my colleagues in order to take appropriate action where needed.

In reference to the power out during your second stay, we feel sorry for the inconvenience caused. In cooperation with the Public Electricity Company we had to perfom an electricity system maintenance and unfortunately this was something we could not avoid. Informative letters had been placed in all guestrooms advising our guests.

Do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove that what you experienced was only an isolate incident.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The rap on this hotel has been that its a Metro stop away from the old standbys at Syntagma Square. However, in hot weather this hotel is sensational. You can knock off at 5 PM and relax by the pool for a couple of hours before your typically late dinner. If with children, you can get out and sightsee until 1 or 2, have lunch and hit the pool. Rooms and service are excellent...only downside is outrageous Internet fees if you are not Hilton gold to get them waived.

Room Tip: High floor facing the Acropolis...great view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamptonstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay here, the services rendered, the hotel's comfort and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Excellent service and classic Hilton services. I had a fantastic acropolis view and trully enjoyed my stay. Galaxy bar on the roof top is amongst the best in Athens with excellent clientele. Maybe the best accommodation choice in Athens. Away from any protests it is located in the centre yet not within the action. Full access to tube, taxis and buses. I said that in many of my other Athens reports now it is the best time to visit Greece and Athens as the Greek crises lowered the rates and you can find amazing packages either from tour operators or via the hotels direct. Try the Hilton in Athens and it will be a safe, luxurious and fun choice! Will definately visit again and I would highly reccomend it!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manos_LHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for posting your comments regarding your stay at the Hilton Athens!

It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your visit and your expectations were met. Your positive feedback has been communicated to my team and once again we thank you for this.

In reference to our internet fees, although our prices are in line with other deluxe hotels in Athens, we will attend to this point you highlighted.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 324 in Athens
3,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#17 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £153 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing