We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fitting of the Hilton Name”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #17 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We live in Athens but decided to spend a night at the Hilton to see what it's like. It is a very unique building architecturally. We didn't have a chance to really enjoy all the extra perks such as the fitness center and the indoor swimming pool. So I can only speak for the room. Very good fit and finish, and amazing view. The bathroom was very spacious and had speakers in the ceiling which my gf particularly enjoyed while showering. We paid extra for the Acropolis view, which was worth it. All in all, a top notch hotel worthy of its 5 stars. But definitely be prepared to pay accordingly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank J_Panag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens for your stay!

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the comfort, spaciousness of your room as well as the amazing view.

Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,473 - 2,479 of 3,802 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We recently stayed at Hilton Athens for two nighs before our cruise out of Piraeus. The hotel is located in a semi-residential neighborhood relatively close to the city center. We walked to the Syntagma Square a couple of times. Other than the oppressive heat, it is quite walkable to the square. Also, the Evangelismos metro station is very close to the hotel. We were on one of the executive floors. The complimentary breakfast and afternoon/evening snackes were of highest quality we have found in any of the Hilton lounges we have been. The service was good. The room was fairly big. It was clean and well maintained. We recommend this place for anybody who wants to stay in Athens.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the executive floor, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_and_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Athens as your place of residence while visiting Athens.

It is very rewarding to know that your expectations were met both in terms of comfort and quality of service. Your positive feedback will be passed on to my colleagues.

Once again, we thank you for your input and look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The pluses: it’s a drop-dead gorgeous facility, whose common areas put some museums of modern design to shame.

We arrived following a terrible experience. Wanting to get a feel for the real city, we took the metro from the airport to the stop near the hotel. The metro is clean, very reasonable (only 4 Euros if you’re over 65). But it became crowded near the center of the city, and…well…careless tourist that I was, I was pickpocketed when I felt a push as we were exiting the metro car. A hugely common Athens experience, I later learned.

Fortunately, our passports were safe, but we arrived penniless and without credit cards. The desk staff was understanding, and after a series of Skype calls to our card company we were able to arrange /coverage. The desk staff also helped us locate the police station and Western Union office where we filed a report and collected money wired to us by our credit card company.

The only negative: the waitstaff at breakfast acted as if they were doing us a favor by serving us. Not a pleasant way to conclude an unnerving stay.

Room Tip: "Acropolis view" is more expensive but not worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenMountains18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to post your comments regarding your stay here at the Hilton Athens!

It was rewarding to note that your general impression of your visit was positive and that you were satisfied with the hotel's location, services rendered, the friendly attitude of our Front Desk colleagues. Please rest assured that your kind input will be communicated to them.

On the other hand, we were concerned to read of the unfortunate incident you experienced in the metro.

Your point about our team assisting in breakfast service has been taken into consideration. Necessary corrective action will be taken. Thank you for having brought this to our attention.

Do look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

A modern five star hotel with generous proportions just 15 minutes walk from the centre.
A reasonable sized bedroom, well maintained and modern for a modest price even including an Acropolis view and breakfast. The swimming pool was a bonus providing a refreshing end to the day and the roof top restaurant a fantastic conclusion in cooler conditions with rapid and attentive service. I will return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CecilGgibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay here with us at the Hilton Athens.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and were satisfied with the services rendered. We will make sure to pass on your warm comments to our colleagues. Reviews such as yours motivate us to continue striving for the best service.

Do look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Athens!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The hotel location is convenient, with a metro stop across the street, two stops from the Acropolis. The rooms are standard. Good size pool, but often crowded. Service quality is inconsistent, but particularly poor at the front desk/concierge: one of them (Alexander) actually looked at guests waiting in line, then walked away to clean his desk! Galaxy bar on the roof has a great view, but service there is also slow. Best feature is actually Milo's restaurant. Everything did cost extra (Internet, indoor pool, etc). I would not likely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Travelhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

It was a concern to note that you were not quite satisfied with your visit. Please accept my apologies for this.

Your point about the inconsistent service has been reviewed with my team. Thank you for having brought this to our attention, appropriate action will be taken.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens and the Hilton Chain for your stay. Do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Maybe it was the rate I selected, but the overall experience of staying at this hotel but definitely diminished by extremely expensive (and not included) wifi, fitness center and breakfast.
The bar on the top has amazing views, but it's also too expensive when compared to the quality of what it offers (we tried desserts and drinks...).
I would not stay at this hotel again, even though the rooms are reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinnc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for having taken the time to post your comments regarding your stay here at the Hilton Athens.

We were sorry and concerned to read that your overall impression of your visit was not positive. Your comments have been taken into consideration and discussed with my team. In reference to our prices, kindly please rest assured that these are in line with other deluxe hotels in the city of Athens.

Obviously, we would like to have another opportunity to welcome you back and change your opinion of our hotel and the services rendered.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very basic room, noisy air con, had to move room due to black particles coming out of the taps into the bath. Distant view of the Acropolis. Good range of breakfast items (continental, sushi, cooked) although the quality of the scrambled egg, bacon and things that looked a bit like mini-hot dogs left a lot to be desired. Outdoor pool good. However, there was a 15 euro charge for use of the indoor pool and fitness equipment, which was not mentioned at time of booking and, in my view, is excessive. Although we did get a good upper arm workout trying to open and close the sliding patio doors.

Room Tip: Higher floors with even room numbers have better views of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GertyGitana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Madame,

Thank you for having taken the time and trouble to send us your comments regarding your stay here at the Hilton Athens.

I was sorry to read that you were somewhat dissatisfied with your visit. Please accept my sincere apologies.

All your valuable input has been taken into serious consideration and reviewed with my team. It is only through feedback received from our guests that we are able to improve the standards we always hope to give our customers.

Look forward to welcoming you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,243 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £149 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing