We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Athens with children!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #17 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Athens with children!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed for 5 nights- Oct 7-12, so the timing was bad in terms of strike. The executive level is really worth the difference and we very much enjoyed the great view- the Acropolis view was amazing! We didn't spend long in our room, but it was great to open the curtains in the morning & enjoy.

Executive level lounge had excellent breakfast and a light supper in the evenings- the food was great and our children enjoyed it too. Indoor pool is also free with executive level.

Hilton did a great job with security during the strike (Oct 9) and considering a German delegation were at the hotel it was a big job! We did Oct 9 as a hotel day so we very much took advantage of the great pools they have- both indoor one and outdoor! Thankfully I picked a hotel that did have lots to keep us busy on a day that you really wouldn't have wanted to be out in the downtown area with children- heck tourists of any age! Also Hilton staff did not participate in the strike and were all there and friendly that we saw. Even with all the public transportation shut down from 12-5 pm on the 9th there was no drop in service or quality.

We were back in Athens Oct 30th and it had a much more friendly feel with less riot police around and barricades off to the side.

We took the X95 from the airport (down to the far right when you exit the terminal close in to the building- you don't cross the street)- just 5 euros each and it was easy, but you may not see the sign for the Hilton Athens so just ask the bus driver and they are great to help. We wanted to be able to look out at the city rather than take the subway.

It is a 15-20 minute walk to the Acropolis museum and other sites in the downtown area. There are several museums closer to the hotel though!

The Hilton is away from the area where the protests occur- HUGE plus! People who had booked into hotels in the Plaka area left and came to the Hilton- they really didn't feel safe with being so close to the protests. When you book a hotel you really can't tell what will be happening when you are there.

Our room was nice & clean and bright. All hotels rooms in Europe are more compact than similarly priced North American rooms. But the bathroom has separate tub & shower & isn't cramped.

We loved it and want to go back!

Room Tip: The executive level is a must! The acropolis view is great from the lounge area so having a acropol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for taking the time to share with us your impressions on your stay.

It is a pleasure to note that you and your family enjoyed all aspects of your visit and that you will be back in future! Comments such as yours, encourage us and make us try harder in order to provide high level of service and hospitality standards at all times. It is also important to learn that your children enjoyed it too!

Look forward to welcoming you back here on your next visit to Athens!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    1,129
    367
    133
    70
See reviews for
575
1,157
198
958
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Fantastic location, wonderful staff, clean and comfortable rooms. The views were great, and everyone in the hotel was absolutely charming. Breakfast plentiful.. all the restaurants good
Lobby delightful..
Near the metro, nice safe area with a nice square behind with little cafes and shops..
Have no hesitation in recommending for a short or medium break.. pool and spa beautiful with lots of nice treatments,
Not as "chic" as the Grande Bretagne but the location is calmer (and the shops are a very reasonable taxi ride away)
Hope to get back some day soon

Room Tip: ask for a high floor - views of the acropolis (or try to get an upgrade to the executive floor!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Madame,

Many thanks for posting your experience here at our property.

With great pleasure we noted your positive feedback regarding the hotel's location, our wonderful team members, comfortable rooms, the overall service provided.

We really hope you will get back here in the near future!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

I had a very nice room, very clean and comfortable with a nice view as well. All the days that I was in Hilton Athens hotel I was greeting by every single staff with smiles and willing of support. Every single time I was meeting a porter in the lift he was engaging a conversation with me, asking how is my stay with them and how is my day, of course the smile was there all the time. Although they were busy taking some luggage up to a room they made the time for a small talk.

Overall the service and the atmosphere in Hilton Athens it is warm and supportive. I will definitely recommended to anyone who wants to have a nice and quality time in Athens.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiviuCernaianu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

With pleasure I read that you enjoyed your visit , the overall service offered and the generic atmosphere. Your kind and positive input will be passed on to my team. And please rest assured this will be much appreciated by them.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great time in Athens. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in the end of August. The hotel has a roof top bar with a lovely view of the city and the Acropolis, it was a little pricey, but it was really nice to spend some time there. Breakfast was also great, you should try the Greek yogurt with honey!
The room was big and comfortable, really nice bed. Everything was perfect in our room.
We took the taxi everywhere because it was cheap and easier.
We really enjoyed our time in Athens and the hotel was very good. I would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romeriboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Madame,

Many thanks for posting your comments about your experience here at the Hilton Athens.

We are delighted to read that you and your husband had an enjoyable stay and that you were satisfied with the service provided, your room, the lovely views of the city and the Acropolis.

Look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Take the metro from airport and alight at Evangalismos and you can see the hotel on leaving the metro station. Got a great Acropolis view from 6th floor bedroom - good rates in 50% off Hilton sale . You shouldn't need anything else after excellent breakfast until dinner. Staff very friendly . The outdoor pool , which was a few days from closing was a little chilly in October , but was free - a little disappointing that the indoor pool and spa was 15 euro per day. Easy walk down street containing many of the good museums to Syntagma Sq. ( Don't bother with the National Gardens as they have seen better days ) Just at the back of the hotel was a nice little square with some very reasonable restaurants.
You must take the funicular up Lykavittos Hill for the most spectacular view of the city and thern obviously you need a good part of a whole day to wander about the Acropolis which despite all the scaffolding is still awesome

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here you must request an Acropolis view and a high floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property and also for the recommendations you make to other potential visitors of Athens.

We are delighted to read that the impression of your stay was positive. Your feedback will be communicated to my colleagues, with pleasure.

Do look forward to more opportunities of welcoming you back in the not distant future!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

An excellent place to stay to meet up with the family before embarking on our holidays in Greece. The hotel is very central and within easy walking distance to reach the tourist hot spots. The reception staff were very friendly, the rooms very good size and extremely good value. The pool was a great bonus for the family, as was the under ground car parking. The restuarants are very good, a little expensive but its the Hilton. Would certainly recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your comments and impression of your visit with us.

We are pleased to note that you and your family enjoyed all aspects of your stay here in the hotel and the city of Athens. We do appreciate the fact that you would recommend our property to others and that you would stay again.

Look forward to welcoming you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
299 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

In a tourist hotel, in a tourist city, I expect to pay tourist prices. However, when paying tourist prices, I expect tourist service.
We dined at the buffet restaurant on November 3. The service was fair - not overly effusive, and not all that attentive. But, seated at a table directly next to ours was a family with three rambunctious kids (we are parents, and love kids - but these kids were simply out of control). They were climbing on the table, bouncing around bothering the other diners, screaming (they were about 3,4 and 5) without any correction from the parents.
We paid 100EUR for our dinner - and we couldn't enjoy a moment of it.
We hurried through the meal and left; I commented on the situation to the maitre'd, he was mildly apologetic, and well-aware of what was going on ... but not willing to confront the parents of the offending children. So, one family ruined dinner for all other diners. This left me feeling angry and ripped-off.
Other than that event, there was a convention of cardiologists at the hotel, which gave it a very formal feel, and often we felt underdressed.
The staff apparently needs assertiveness training - but otherwise are an affable group.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your input regarding your recent stay here.

It is with regret to hear of the incident you experienced and for the inconvenience caused while dining at our buffet restaurant. The Maitre 'D does remember the case and the conversation he had with you. Please allow me to advise you that he had proactively approached the family with the three kids and had asked them to keep the children in order, however without any result. Once again, we are sorry.

We hope to be given the chance to welcome you back on a future trip of yours to Athens.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing