We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Athens”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #17 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Hilton was fully refurbished for 2004 Olympics and I starts to feel a bit old but remains one of the nicest hotels in Athens: central location and an outstanding swimming pool (which is a small problem during t e summer time as the hotel has a strange policy of allowing non guests to use it, against payment, which results sometimes in quite crowded space). Rooms are OK but would deserve repainting... By the way: always ask for the room in front (pair) to enjoy Acropolis view.
While the main restaurant is pretty plain, the one below, Milos, is among the best in Athens; you can also grab a drink at Galaxy bar in the evening and enjoy beautiful view.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton during your recent visit to Athens.

We are so glad to read that you had a pleasant stay here. All your suggestions regarding some maintenance works that need to be made have been noted, many thanks for this.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,322 - 2,328 of 3,844 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

We spent 2 amazing nights at the Hilton on a business trip a couple of days ago. I have stayed here twice in the past, but I have dined here or came for seminars several times with colleagues. Three months ago I stayed at the Hilton in Doha and last month I spent 3 more nights at the Cyprus Hilton in Nicosia. Each hotel is very different I can tell but all three enjoy the solid Hilton quality. The name itself stands for excellence and somebody coming here expects consistency in quality and service and literally this is what he gets.

Location: It is only 25 minutes away by direct subway from Athens International Airport. There is also a bus stop for the X95 bus from the airport just outside the hotel entrance, thus guests can just as easily pick the bus from the airport and get straight to the hotel and backwards with very little, avoiding taxis and extra charges!
Situated in one of the city’s most fashionable avenues it is conveniently located near the metro station (Evangelismos) which provides quick and easy access to the most popular sights in Athens. It is a 10 minute walk to Syntagma Square, and another 5 minute walk to Plaka. This makes it a wonderful base for short or long stay in the city of Athens. The shopping and cultural district is in short proximity so this makes it the perfect location.

Staff: I found the majority very friendly with an exception of one or two persons at the reception desk that should try at least to smile. If you talk to them however they are friendly and they will go out of their way to help you but still guests expect happy faces at the front desk, the first impression plays a significant role! In all, I can say they are a bunch of professionals especially the younger generation and the ladies of the management. Every employee I came across had the same helpful attitude that makes guests feel welcome. Indeed they shape experiences in which every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

Public Spaces: It has a contemporary look with glittering surface and pleasant atmosphere.

Here on Business: It is more of a hotel for business travel so if you need to schedule any business meetings why not do them here. The hotel is unique…probably the best!
Choose from the 22 modern meeting rooms with capacity for 2 to 1.300 people, supported by state-of-the-art facilities and professional team. I know this well from previous visits and the Hilton offers a wide range of versatile venues to suit all needs. The rooms are flooded with natural daylight and supported by the latest equipment, while the professional Team Members of the Hilton are always handy to ensure that everything runs smoothly.

Room: We had room #944, a Standard room this time but honestly I did not find a single difference to the one we had a year back when we stayed at the executive wing one floor above. It was exactly the same size with the same facilities. The difference of course is the extra amenities that are provided and by all means I am not referring to the Suites!
The room has a style and sophistication, featuring contemporary décor with an abundance of natural daylight, with distinct emphasis on comfort and tasteful elegance. What more would one want!
As a person who loves photography I was able to get some beautiful photos of the sunset over the Acropolis.
The double-glazed windows kept traffic noise and the drilling work from the outdoor swimming pool away. It was spacious and spotless with the double bed in a dominant position, crisp linens and several pillows for an extra comfort. The heavy curtains prevented the morning light so we could sleep longer. The sound proofing on the door/walls and ceiling was perfect. The room had a wooden panel floor and I prefer it to the ones with carpets because the room can be cleaned better. The sliding cupboard had a light and was functional and there was an iron and board in there. There is of course a work desk, a flat-screen TV, safe, coffee/tea facilities….highly appreciated, a sofa and a small round table.

The complimentary treat came as a surprise to us, and it was a small bowl of seasonal fruit and a bottle of some fine red wine from a well known winery in Messinia (Fare).

Tips: Remember to have the chain behind the door just in case somebody accidentally comes in. Sometimes you might not hear the knock and the staff thinks that nobody is in and they gate-crash inside. It happened to us twice but there was no knocking at all. Staff should learn to knock on before entering!

The downside is with the price of a small bottle of Evian which is at 7.50 Euro. It could be a bottle of Greek Mountain water instead which is just as good, especially with the economic crisis, to highlight Greek products. I know this is difficult because the Hilton is a chain-hotel and there are rules behind, but this is only a thought.

I cannot comment negatively like most other guests about the price of products in the mini-bar because this is something that it is normal and it is expected. Mini-bars are always expensive and guests should comprehend this. We, guests have the alternative to buy water, chocolates, or anything from the neighbouring kiosks or market. I honestly cannot understand all this fuss about it. I truly compassionate the management having to justify all the time the same understandable things.
Guests should also have in mind that there is a camera inside the mini-bar so the moment something is taken out even for a second, or to make room for what the guest wants to store, the credit card is automatically billed on the guest’s account.

Bathroom: A good size marble bathroom with both a bath tub which was a delight and a walk-in Rainforest Shower system which I loved! This kind of shower truly adds value and I can tell that I have come across several through my extended stays in different hotels as a Travel Guide Writer, but the one out here honestly stands out. I consider it the highlight of the room. The feeling is similar to a SPA experience as well as providing a practical solution for two people to shower at the same time. What a treat!
Of course I need to mention the new toiletries which are by far better than the ones the Hilton had for years. They are the Peter Thomas Roth from the Mega-rich collection. I found them simply amazing and they smell like fresh tangerines! The body wash gel contains green and yellow micro beads with vitamins. This is the other treat for the guest!

Tip: Only 1 shower gel for two persons is provided -this is not enough but you can easily ask for one or two more in case you need them instead of complaining about lack of toiletries when back home. The ladies at the house-keeping will be more than happy to help you.

Breakfast: The first meal of the day at the Byzantino restaurant is sumptuous and there is everything for everyone enough to fill you up till dinner –a paradise of cereals and dry fruit -a choice of home-made bread/cakes/rolls/croissant/muffing. It is indeed extensive including Japanese and vegetarian, Western Europe and American items both hot and cold. The quality is great. Try the Greek rice pudding presented in small clay bowls, the Greek feta and amazing Greek honey and have some fresh orange juice. Coffee is strong and really hot…just amazing.

Bizantino: This restaurant combines a touch of glamour with modern design and it is a point of reference among Athenians. It is a timeless institution patronized by politicians and celebrities alike. Don’t be surprised to come across one or two while you are there!
In an elegant, open, curved room that lends movement and imagination to its sleek steel, glass and wood interior. Be sure not to miss the Sunday brunch if you are at the hotel that day. It is considered one of the best in the city. I have had it with friends once and I can assure you of that. The cuisine offers an exquisite selection of Mediterranean dishes.

Galaxy Bar and Restaurant: The Bar is on the rooftop and it is the favourite hangout of celebrities. The setting is inspiring and at the same time contemporary chic. It serves a tempting array of finger foods, light snacks and sushi. Have in mind that prices are a bit high but it is an experience to be cherished.
Check my extended review with the latest dining experience under the name of the Restaurant. The view is stunning and after dark the Hilton rooftop transforms into a singular setting under a spectacular display of stars enhanced by a magnificent view of the Acropolis.

Milos Restaurant: It seems like a restaurant of the Hilton but it is not. It is totally another business. We dined here one of the days we were at the Hilton –check my review under the name of the restaurant. Loved every dish, and the restaurant prides for its fresh ingredients, Mediterranean dishes which are mainly Seafood.

Outdoor Pool: It was under construction with several drilling work on both outside and inside and the ladies at the SPA told me that these works take place each year so the pool gets cleaned and very soon it will open again to welcome its guests.

Hiltonia SPA: With a fee of 15 euros a day, guests can use the indoor pool, the steam room and sauna. I cannot comment on this because I did not use it this time. Guests who can afford these extras can spoil themselves with a full spa day, designed to beautify and pamper.

Aethrion Lounge: It is located in the lobby and it is the meeting place of high-profile Athenians. Guests can relax in a soothing sophisticated setting enhanced by snug couches, wooden floors, diffused lighting and LCD screens. It is the ideal spot to relax, read your paper, enjoy an aperitif, have a light snack of Japanese delicacies, or simply enjoy your cup of tea or coffee.

Internet Price: Internet connection costs 20.00 euros/ 24 hours.
Public Areas: 20.00 euros/ per 24 hours. F&B outlets: free.

Sight-seeing: Guests priority has to be a visit to the Acropolis Museum and the Parthenon, visit the Plaka district, walk or take the funicular to the top of the Lycabettus hill, visit the Benaki Museum, take the tram and get as far as Glyfada and Vouliagmeni, probably if they have time do some island popping. Ermou street and Kolonaki are famous for shopping. Use the metro and get as far as Piraeus to Marina Zeas Pasalimani or have a 2 day trip to the beautiful island of Aegina which will amaze you.

Tips: Guests who stay at the Hilton for a week for example and want to try one or two nice restaurants where they won’t be ripped off, I recommend a few I know well. Try the Vezene Italian restaurant which is on the side of the Hilton, and for authentic Greek cuisine and warm hospitality check for Dimitris & Grigoris restaurant –cheap with fine Cretan ingredients. If you are vegetarian try the Avocado. Take a taxi for less than 8 euros, or the metro and get to Trykiklo for traditional Greek cuisine. Panayiotis and Maria are amazing hosts and if you are lucky you can find live guitar playing and singing. (Good value for money)

There is also a local grocery store near the Hilton -ask info from the reception, or get to the central fruit market and get some local flavour, buy anything you wish for very little!

In all everything was just as it should be for a hotel of this class with functional amenities for demanding guests! We enjoyed our stay and long to get back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your opinion and impressions.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay, which exceeded your expectations. I am sure that all your suggestions and detailed review will help and encourage other guests to visit us and enjoy even more their stay here.

All your points, thoughts and suggestions have been taken into consideration and reviewed with my team.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Rooms are better than comfortable; staff is efficient and helpful; food is good; nothing to dislike!
This is a large hotel and I stayed midweek when it seemed relatively quiet. It's in a good location, especially if you want to squeeze in a quick visit to the Acropolis site and original Olympic stadium (you can even run a lap). Breakfast provides a mighty selection of anything you could wish for - fruit, cereals, meat (hot and cold), cheeses, breads, yogurts, cooked items, traditional Greek foods and new-world specialities. Business rooms are good and dealing with staff on set-ups, connections etc. was easy. It is a pity that this hotel charges quite a lot for WIFI access - surely hotels should now be offering this free as standard!!

The hotel is about 20 minutes (not rush hour) from the airport. If you have a spare hour or two, get a taxi to the Acropolis site, spend 45 - 60 mins there and then walk down the hill towards the new Acropolis museum (you'll love his if you like walking on glass floors). After leaving the museum walk back towards the Hilton (don't worry it's an easy walk) and you will pass by the stadium where the first modern Olympic games were held in 1896. This is certainly worth a visit and well worth the 3 Euro fee. The Hilton hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the stadium.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dublinfiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your comments after your recent stay here at the Hilton Athens.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and will make sure to pass on your positive feedback to our colleagues. Reviews such as yours motivate us to continue striving for only the very best service.

Do hope to welcome you back on your next visit in Athens!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Friendly, ever-helpful and concerned for the quality of our part business/part holiday stay, the Athens Hilton may just have become my favourite hotel.
With a balcony view of the Acropolis, this hotel is worth every single penny, Euro or dollar.
Recommended without hesitation - an absolute gem.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.

We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Many thanks indeed for recommending us to other future guests/visitors.

Look forward to welcoming you back real soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I liked it because: The Hilton Athens is conveniently located near a metro station which provides quick and easy access to most of the sights in Athens. For when the metro is not operating (strikes) things are still within a reasonable walking distance. Relatively good value (by European standards). Great food at the Galaxy Bar/Lounge (and great view of the Acropolis as the restaurant is on top floor level). Staff (bell staff, front desk) is very friendly and helpful. Comfortable room and bed. Good size bathroom. Standard Hilton amenities. Complimentary Wi-Fi (Diamond member) was easy to setup and overall speed was good. The executive lounge offers nice views and is big enough to accommodate the morning crowd (I came in too late to experience the evening service). Staff in the executive lounge very friendly and were great at offering a few suggestions of things to do in the city with your free time! Complimentary welcome snack and half-bottle of red wine (most likely as a result of being a Diamond member or having been upgraded to Exec. Floor)

What could be improved: Nothing was really missing but I was a bit disappointed in the food offering(restaurant and snack). The food quality is top notch, but it did lack that local influence. Let's just say that you knew you where in a "US-based hotel chain". The executive lounge breakfast offered the standard variety of hot and cold items. Again, quality was top notch but the diversity of the offering was average.

Other information: The hotel offers a fixed rate pick-up/drop off service to/from the airport. although slightly more expensive than the standard metered or fixed rate from the airport, I would recommend getting the services of a reputable driver endorsed by the Hilton. If it is obvious that you are not from Greece, some of the drivers that I had to deal with were being less than honest (not enough change, attempting to overcharge...). Good (standard) treatment for Diamond members (upgrade to Executive floor, complimentary wifi)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ottwatrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hilton hotel during your recent visit to Athens.

I am happy to learn that you had a really nice stay here and you were particularly satisfied with our friendly and helpful staff, the food quality, the convenient location.

We will take into consideration your comments about the local influence in food that you missed. Thank you for having brought this to our attention.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I recently stayed here on a business trip.

On arrival Check-In left a lot to be desired. I arrived on a coach with 30 other people and the hotel only had 3 people serving on the front desk. Took 35 mins to get checked in. Staff seemed really annoyed to have to deal with guests - a theme that carried on throughout the week.

I was very happy with my room, which was of a nice size; it had a wooden panel floor, double bed, small sofa, bathroom with bath, shower and w/c, sliding cupboard, work desk and tv, safe, kettle & coffee sachets. But the view from my room was of the main road out the front. The only downside was that the mirror in the bathroom is edged with lights that don't turn off with the rest of the other bathroom lights. The apparent solution is to pull a curtain across to block the light from the bathroom!

Also, my safe door wouldn't lock. When I asked reception about this, I was told to go to my room and report it by phone.

The in-room mini-bar prices were unbelievable e.g. tube of Pringles (Euro 13.50), 35g tube of Smarties (Euro 7.00). It was far cheaper to go outside and find one of the little street kiosks for drinks and snacks e.g. 7.50 Euro for small bottle of Evian that you could buy outside for under a Euro.

Breakfast was held in the Byzantino restaurant, a large open plan area set in a rotunda. Food on offer was very extensive and included Japanese and vegetarian, as well as both western European and American items, both hot and cold. The quality of all the dishes was very good.

The Galaxy rooftop bar is a really nice place to go for a drink (with a view of the Acropolis), but it is rather expensive!

There are great restaurants within walking distance, so you are not stuck with the expensive Hilton restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nozza_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Athens for your stay and for taking the time to review your experience with us.

We have noted that you were satisfied with your room and its amenities. In reference to the bathroom mirror lights, you may had not noticed that there is a switch in order to turn on/off the mirror's lights.

Regarding the service provided by our Reception team, your valuable points have been taken into consideration. Please rest assured that the relevant actions will be taken in order to make sure that the Front Desk service corresponds with the Hilton standards. As for some of our prices that you found high, these are in line with other deluxe hotels in Athens.

Hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the not distant future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here on a 3 night city break. We had a room on the executive floor, which was spacious, clean and bright, with its own balcony and a great view of the Acropolis. The bed was really comfy, and there were spare pillows in the room. The facilities in the exec lounge were fantastic, and the staff were all really helpful and friendly. The hotel is about a 15 min easy walk from Acropolis Hill, and there are plenty of nice places to eat and drink within walking ditance. The Hilton's Galaxy rooftop bar is a really nice place to go for a drink, but it is rather expensive!

Room Tip: Go for an exec room if you can, or ask for a higher floor on the Acropolis side. Make sure you reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monty-Hawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and were satisfied with our staff, services and facilities.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,944 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £159 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing