We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #17 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Had a very comfortable stay in this hotel. Room was bright and well equipped. Lobby is very attractive. Compared to other Hiltons, however, this hotel seems unnecessarily expensive - charging €7.50 for half a litre of water seems not just pricey, but made me feel a little exploited.
We paid less for two of us to eat and drink dinner in a local restaurant than we paid for 2 drinks in the hotel.
Also - no alcohol in the Executive lounge (at least when we were there, which was about 4pm) - just made us feel like to hotel was too mean to even put some beers in the fridge.
Shame, I'm a Hilton Diamond member, and I am loyal to the brand, but felt a little cheated here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfatandtired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing your comments after your recent visit here.

It was a pleasure to read that you had a generally comfortable stay. However, we were concerned to note your input about some of our prices being high. Regarding this issue, please note that our rates are in line with other deluxe properties in Athens. In addition, in reference to the availability of alcohol in the Executive Lounge, this is being served daily from 18.00 until 20.30hrs.

Do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,645
    1,128
    367
    133
    70
See reviews for
574
1,156
198
957
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Was here during a business trip. The location of the HIlton itself isn't that beautiful, anyway it is very well connected to Acropolis by subway, to the excellent restaurant Parko (see my review for that) and it has a wonderful pool (nice when in Athens during summer. Not to forget the toproof bar "Galalxy" which is a stunner, even the prices are "toproof" as well, a must even you don't stay at the Hilton itself!

Room Tip: If feasible have a room to the front with Acropolis view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glencheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Hilton Athens for your recent stay in the city and for sharing your comments.

We are delighted to read your kind input regarding your visit here, our outdoor pool, the rooftop Galaxy bar & restaurant.

Once again, many thanks for your time, hope we will another opportunity to host you again in the not distant future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

stayed as a family at the athens hilton. We were upgraded as requested to the Exec. level but not told until we waited about 20 mins. to check in. Check in was very inefficient with 4 people at desk. however 3 were not apparently really doing too much. Room was excellent and requested third bed was in place. Bed comfortable and bathroom clean. Fitness center is adequate with a few ellipticals, treadmills, bikes, some weight machines and a gorgeous indoor pool. open 6 - 11 on weekdays although no one was around to check me in at 6:30 AM. Exec. lounge food hours not posted so missed drinks in afternoon. breakfast was good. Check ut also a bit trying as clerk was again busy with another guest for over 20 mins. and she was the only person available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank amalaPrinceton_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

It was a pleasure having you and the family as our guests here at the Hilton Athens! Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

All your feedback is very valued to us. We are delighted to note that generally you had a nice, relaxing stay. Your points regarding the check in/check out service have been taken into serious consideration and reviewed with my team, appropriate corrective action will be taken. Thank you for having brought this issue to our attention.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

The Athens Hilton is an very nice Hilton. 50 years young, recently updated. Great staff, kind and accommodating. Clean and comfortable. Request room facing the Acropolis. Lovely pool, huge and very clean. The Executive Level offered a great breakfast buffet. Room service was excellent.
A good place to begin your trip in Greece. A quick cab ride to Plaka and the Parthenon. Offering free internet would be nice. Join Hilton Honors Club and internet is free.

Room Tip: 7th floor facing Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Athens as your place of residence while visiting Athens.

It is rewarding to know that your expectations were met and that we had the opportunity to contribute to a memorable stay. Your positive feedback will be passed on to my team!

Hope to welcome you back on your next stay in Athens.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
519 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is a 50 year old hotel that has been brought up to date. For convention facilities, it is outstanding, and the pool is magnificent. While the bathrooms and the rooms are modernized, the closets are small, and the bed is not very comfortable. Maid service is so-so.

There is an extensive buffet breakfast, but it is only worth a B+. Prices in the same dining room are outlandish. The charge for the internet is inexcusable - equally outandish.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larryderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Your feedback, regarding the quality of some of our services, such as the maid service, the comfort of the bed, the closet's size, is very valued to us, we will take this into serious consideration and assure you that corrective action will be taken where needed.

In reference to our prices, please note that these are in line with other deluxe hotels in Athens.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Most hotels nowdays offer free WIFI access to their guest. Hilton Athens chose to take advantage of the vast use of WIFI and charge it's guests with Euro 22.00 (Approx $ 29.00) per day and per device. This means that if you want to use WIFI on your cell phone , Ipad and computer - you will end up paying Euro 66.00 per day. If this is not to be considered a "Rip Off" , what is ? Be also prepared to pay Euro 15.00 per day , per person ,if you want to use the Gym and the indoor swimming pool.
I expect from a 5 star hotel like Hilton to give it's guests the feeling that the service they get justifies the rate they pay. This should include free access to Internet and free access to the Fitness and swimming pool.
Pro: Room , bathroom , bed (good quality sleep) , balcony , breakfast.
More cons: Food for Lunch and Dinner. The lunch and dinner buffet offer same for both. Food quality when compared to other good restaurants in the city for same amount of spending - Average.
Conclusion: I rate Hilton Athenes as Average because of it"s WIFI and Fitness pay policy. I suggest to my fellow travellers to avoid the Hilton Athens till it's managemen will change these policies.

Room Tip: Room tip: Ask for the Acropolis view. WIFI tip: you may use free wifi in the restaurant area by cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Athens.

We appreciate your comments as these give us valuable feedback on how to improve our services and provide our guests with exceptional experiences.

Regarding the prices of Wifi access, please note that Wifi internet is offered complimentary in all the Restaurants, Bar and Lounge facilities of the hotel, as well as to the HHonors Gold and Diamond members. The same applies regarding the access to the Hiltonia Spa, which is offered complimentary to HHonors Silver, Gold and Diamond members and to all guests staying in Executive rooms and Suites.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The prices are very high, you need to pay for internet even if you choose acropolis king (~270EUR/night). The receptionists want you to pay for minibar although I didn't even know the place of the minibar in my room... The restaurant is outstanding however.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

In reference to your comment about our prices, please note that these are in line with other deluxe properties locally and abroad. In addition, Wifi access is offered complimentary to the elite HHonors tiers and in all our Restaurants, Bar and Lounge facilities.

We were pleased to read that you found our restaurant being outstanding and enjoyed the service provided there.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing