We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect a lot of extra charges”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #17 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hilton athens is one of those older hotels, built in a time when architecture was in losing the battle to efficiency. The hotel appears dated, and while the cost is reasonable, expect to pay very high prices for anything extra. 15 euro ($20) to use the gym. 8 euro ($11) for a small water in the room. 8eur ($11) delivery fee for any in room dining. 20 euro per day for internet access, with a slow router.

The gym itself is quite nice and the sauna was comfortable. The showers were not that clean, so I didn't use them. The room itself was fine, pretty much standard corporate hotel design, except for an ancient TV.

The location was ok, About a 25 minute walk to major attractions.

Room Tip: ask for one that faces the acropolis.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biztraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review of our hotel, which is appreciated.

We are sorry to learn that the hotel's amenities and services were not to your satisfaction. All your comments have been noted and reviewed with my team. Thank you for having brought your concerns to our attention.

Do hope we will have another opportunity in future to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,708)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Athens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,912 - 1,918 of 3,708 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

I was in Athens last month for a workshop, which was held in Hilton.
The location of the hotel is quite good, just two stops from downtown. The next metro station to the hotel is Evangelismos and if you take Line 3, in minutes you will in Monastraki.
The breakfast was good, the staff was friendly and the service in general was excellent. But for sure the room, I stayed was not a 5* one. It was clean but worn out a lot and needs an urgent renovation. The mini-bar prices and the drinks in the roof bar were one of the most expensive ones among 5* and deluxe hotels, I have stayed worlwide.
I hope, they plan a renovation in near future and correct the mini-bar and drink prices in the roof bar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Athens on your last month's visit to the city.

We were pleased to note that you were satisfied with the service provided and our team. Your positive input has been communicated to them.

Your points regarding a future renovation of the hotel as well as our mini bar and roof drinks prices have been taken into serious consideration and reviewed with my team. Please be advised that we are in a constant process of upgrading the main key areas of our hotel, including the rooms. As for our bar/drink prices, although our pricing policy is in line with other deluxe hotels of Athens, your concern has been noted, thank you for having brought this to our attention.

We really hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The room was very nice and clean however the bed was very firm. The room rate was acceptable as we got it on special offer but normal room rates are far too expensive. The Club upgrade was worth it however the light snacks early evening were not much to rave about. A few dips, rolls, little squares of quiche,etc a bit poor for this standard of hotel. Dress code was also a bit too casual at times.

It is a shame as from the 1st November the pool was closed as the weather was really hot and it would have been nice to have a dip. Wifi cost expensive at €20 per day but nothing tops the mini bar prices in the room - Pringles at €13.50, water at €7.50, etc. etc. Why ??

My biggest disappointment were the reception staff in "club" were not over friendly. Hardly a smile and sometimes a bit abrupt. A friendly smile to people who have paid substantial amounts to be there would go a long way. Would I vist again ......... there are other places to try !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to post your comments.

Your input has been reviewed with my team, as it was a concern to note that you were not quite satisfied with some specific services provided. Your point about our Club facilities as well as the attitude of our Club team members has been noted. Please be advised that corrective action will be taken.

Once again, thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay. Look forward to welcoming you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

> Stayed for athens marathon. > Good location for buses / metro > Too many people smoking in hotel bars so it spoils view - therefore you cannot take advantage of it. > I dont expect to pay extra for a pool in the hotel when i'm getting up at 5am to start the race i want it quiet at 10pm, this was not the case you could hear traffic and disco noses. After a long journy to the hotel i dont expect to pay for bottle of water in the room and not 7 euro - either.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank jamesthebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Hilton Athens.

All your comments have been noted and discussed with my team in order to correct any shortcomings, where needed.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. Do hope we will have more opportunities in future to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I would definately stay here again. Beautiful rooms, comfortable large bed, Fabulous pool, friendly staff!! WiFi perfect, ATM at reception,breakfast lovely and plenty to choose from!! I felt safe here, being from Australia and a single Girl. I liked the security

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Madame,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our property last month.

Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed every moment of your visit and most importantly that you felt safe. In addition, we are glad to hear that you would come back and stay here again!

Do look forward to welcoming you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years!

With kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

stayed 4 days on executive floor. rooms very comfortable and clean. Bathroom has a light under sink that does not turn off. probably good for safety but not if you like it really dark. Some rooms very nosy from music from upstairs bar. staff very helpful and breakfast was very good. only complaint is the excessive charge for WIFI access. 20E for 24 hours. Unacceptable given that even if you buy it it is extremely slow. THere are other alternatives in Athens that also have a gym, comparable facilities and free wifi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amalaPrinceton_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our property.

It is a pleasure to see that you had a nice stay here and were satisfied with the majority of services.

In reference to the WiFi internet service, this is provided on complimentary basis in all our outlets/bars and restaurants. Your point of concern about the in room WiFi cost, has been noted and discussed with my team.

Do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Possibly the best hotel in Athens, but it is very expensive, especially for restaurants and bars. Rooms with balconies are nice, beds tend to be hard. Bathrooms clean and functional. Distant views of the Acropolis, but looks nice when the sun shines. Spa was an additional charge, disappointing. Food excellent, breakfast buffet fantastic. Get a B+B rate, and then eat out for €10. Roof top bar impressive, but drinks horrifically expensive

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for being our guest and for considering our hotel to be possibly the best in Athens. That is truly appreciated by all of us!

In reference to our prices, we assure you that these are in line with other similar category Athenian hotels. As for our Spa, there is indeed a daily entrance fee for its use, our guests can use this as many times they wish during the day.

Look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £153 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing