We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charge for everything”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #20 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charge for everything”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I am staying in Hilton Athens and I am very surprise that on top of the room charges, they charge for everything else: 20Euros por wifi in the room and 15€ for access to the gym. I find this a complete robbery for a 5 star hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your input in relation to your stay at the Hilton Athens.

Your points about the in room WiFi as well as gym costs have been taken into serious consideration and discussed with my team.

Do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,787
    1,181
    383
    142
    79
See reviews for
621
1,217
212
1,032
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sibu, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

An Elegant Hilton hotel and I am impressed with the size and elegant interior of the main lobby. I received an upgrade to executive floor and the view from the room was just magnificent with the ancient Agropolis!

Location

The location is a bit out of downtown although it is located along the main thoroughfare Vassilissis Sofias Avenue. There are many world class museums as one walks towards the main city square such as wartime museum and Byzantime Museum. There are ample restaurants behind the hotel although other shops are closed early in the Evening. There is a Starbucks two streets away behind the hotel.

One should not missed the picture opportunity with Dromeas (“Runner” in English), a 12-meter-tall glass and iron sculpture created in 1994 by Athens artist Costas Varotsos located just on the traffic island in front of the hotel.


The Room

The room was great in tandem with Hilton standard. Wooden floor furnishing suits my taste instead of the carpets. The balcony is definitely a welcome feature as one is able to enjoy the city skyline of Athens. You are lucky if you are given a room facing the ancient Agropolis through the distance could be a bit too far on top of a mountain.

The Restaurant

The restaurant for breakfast offers a wide array of continental buffet. I love the range of bread and pastry they display. The range of yogurt is nice too. Greek yogurt is just so creamy and it is so nice to be mixed with honey and nuts.

The Executive Lounge

The lounge is elegantly designed located lengthwise facing the city skyline and the ancient Agropolis. The Agropolis is lit at night offering a magnificent view. You need a 400mm zoom to get a well-composed picture of it. The range of tea is the best that I have ever tasted - German tea Eilles Tea Bags. The lounge offers a smooth Greek Wine 'Fare'. It opens form 7am till 11pm.

The service

The staff are courteous and helpful and they speak perfect English.

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the Ancient Agropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CK_Den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Athens!

Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that you and the family enjoyed every aspect of your visit. Your positive and kind feedback has been communicated with pleasure to my team and has been truly appreciated!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens and extend once again the warm and well known Greek hospitality standards.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Some very good staff at the breakfast room,,,all in all a very good experience which meets the brand's standards. The breakfast variety is one of its strongest points...worth booking your room with breakfast

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yiotab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for taking the time to write and post your review of our hotel, which is appreciated!

With pleasure we read your positive evaluation of the hotel, the location and breakfast variety.

We very much hope to welcome you back again soon!

With kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

this hotel is so poor when it comes to customer service, you will have to pay for the air you are breathing, Food has no taste and is so expensive, Front Desk Persons are so rude and tough, Internet is too expensive

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for posting your comments after your recent stay at the Hilton Athens.

We were concerned and sorry to note that you were not quite satisfied with your visit. Your remarks have been reviewed with my team and corrective actions will be taken, where this is needed.

Hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at the Athens Hilton for a conference nearby. My original room was a standard room on the 8th floor overlooking the busy avenue below and the music hall (Megaron Moussikis). The room was excellent, and the well-isolated windows kept the traffic buzz out. Everything else around my stay was as flawless as one comes to expect from a Hilton. When I returned from the conference on my last night, I found a message from the reception. Calling back, I was told that a VIP was going to stay on that floor, and that the associate security measures might interfere with my access to the room. I was offered a room on a different floor, which turned out to be a junior suite on an executive floor. Changing rooms was not a big hardship for me because I had to pack anyway, I was well assisted in moving and could benefit from both the perks of the classier room and from a different view (on Acropolis hill). So all in all this was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for being our guest.

Your very kind and positive review has been communicated to my team. Although you had to change room, I am glad to hear that fortunately this did not cause to you much inconvenience. On the contrary, you were pleased with the unexpected room upgrade.

Do look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future and extend the warm Greek hospitality standards.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Liked the Hotel. Good central location. Free use of wi-fi in the bars, but not the lobby. Indoor and outdoor pools, although the outdoor pool had not opened for the season. The fitness centre facilities although small were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for your warm comments regarding your recent stay here at the Hilton Athens.

With pleasure we noted that you enjoyed your visit and were satisfied with the majority of the facilities and services rendered.

Do look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

great hotel with lovely views, superb bar and decent sized rooms - great venue for a conference or a holiday i am sure - probably the best Hilton I've stayed at . Nice selection of shops in the foyer and a decent showed, would only stay here if going to Athens in future, and an outstanding fish restaurant on site,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rothbury365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Hilton Athens on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important and I am grateful for the time taken to share your experience with us.

With pleasure I read your positive evaluation of the condition of the hotel, the facilities and service offered. Your kind comments have been communicated to the team.

Once again, thank you for your valuable time, look forward to welcoming you back during one of your future trips to Athens either for business or leisure.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
360 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#17 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing