We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #19 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night prior to a cruise. Everything was perfect.

Very friendly and helpful staff. We emailed in advance to request a Acropolis view and this was acknowled and supplied.

Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scottie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments and share with us your experience in our property.

It is with pleasure to read your nice input and see that you were satisfied with the services provided, as well as our friendly team members.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,677
    1,141
    375
    135
    70
See reviews for
588
1,169
204
976
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

High quality services. Wonderful view to Acropolis. Continental breakfast. Friendly staff, always willing to help. Close to Acropolis (a taxi drive is recommended, and extremely cheap). Being for the first time in Athens, we chose this hotel due to its good name and we were happy of our choice. Definitely our first choice for our return to Athens.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments after your recent stay here at the Hilton Athens!

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and were satisfied with all the services provided. Will make sure to pass on your positive and wonderful comments to our team. Reviews such as yours motivate us to continue striving for only the very best service.

Look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Greece.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I have to pay €15 for the gym and swimming. Most if the 5stars hotel that I have visited is complementary. I can understand the u have to pay €22 for breakfast or €20 for wifi per day. But the Gym and Pool? No way...! The location is fantastic and service is really good. I got a prepaid Simcard €20 for 2GB and I can use it anywhere for the next 30days. So just get a data Sim here, no point paying so much for the wifi and it's really slow!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GladysCasati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback is important to us, it has been noted and taken into consideration. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied in particular with the cost for the use of indoor pool and gym facilities.

The positive impression created about the location and service provided has been shared with my team.

Hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here with my family for four days. Service was brutal, Wi-Fi was horrible and food was par. Would not recommend for American travelers. The front desk was as rude as they come. They do not know how to say service let alone spell it. Cringed every time I had to use them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are really sorry to read that you were not quite satisfied with your stay here and that additionally you would not recommend our property to American travelers.

Your feedback has been noted and reviewed with my team in order to take corrective actions, where needed.

Look forward to your next visit in the not distant future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located near a metro station and a stop for the airport bus (useful if the metro is on strike like it was when we arrived....)

We had a basic room as my Hilton Honours Gold status had reset to Blue a few weeks prior to checking in. The room had a lovely renovated bathroom, a balcony and a comfy bed along with the usual Hilton amenities.

All is good except that extras such as wifi and room service are very expensive. Eg 2 burgers with fries cost 60 euros as room service when the same thing across the road at "Goodys" restaurant costs around 10 euros.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank billichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to post your review of our hotel.

We can realise that you had a quite nice stay here with us. Regarding your main point of concern, the cost for the room service and WiFi, we would like to advise you that our prices are in line with other same category hotels of Athens. However, your points have been taken into serious consideration.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Going on a extended weekend trip to Athens I decided to book a room at Hilton Athens for points, I'm a HHonors Diamond member.
On arrival there was a large crowd of Americans that just arrived but the reception staff managed to expedite their checkins rather fast. There is a possibility for Gold/Diamond members to check-in at the reception on the executive floor, how you get there since you need a key to operate the elevator i do not know.
Check-in was good, we were upgraded to a room on the executive floor, unfortunately not facing the Akropolis. The king bed was a bit hard for my taste but that is individual. As other reviewers mention it had two very flat pillows wich I liked when going to sleep but not when reading or watching TV. I found one extra pillow in the closet but I would suggest that you put at least two in there.
The TV was probably the smallest I have seen in a hotel, I guess 20" instead of the these days normal 32"
Bathroom was OK, separate bathtub and shower, we had bathrobes and slippers provided.
We received a complementary 500ml bottle of red wine, a fruit plate with two apples, an orange, a plum and a kiwi but only one wine glass. There is no complementary water in the room, not even for Gold/Diamond members. Instead of buying the €7.50 bottle we took a stroll over to the convenience store across the street from Starbucks and bought a 1.5 liter bottle for €1.
There is a lot of trafic noice around the hotel and it's clearly hearable in the room on the 11th floor.
As a Diamond member I have free WIFI so I don't have to think about the €20/day WIFI, If I had to pay, I rather pay the €9/day fee my mobile operator charges for data. Here you need to wake up and smell the coffee, this make sense to no one... It seems like the wifi code is only valid for three devices, we had four but I didn't care to sort that out.
As a Diamond member I have complementary access to the Executive lounge, normally the lounges in Europe are really good and give a good value even if paying the extra cost for a room rate that include access, this is not the case in Athens! Breakfast in the lounge is good, it has an ok selection and is served 7 - 10.30 on weekdays and until 11 on weekends. The rest of the day there are some refreshments, soft drinks, water, coffee etc. The dissapointment is the evening food and drinks, in Athens they are served between 17.00 - 19.00, at all European Hiltons I have stayed at this is really good with a selection of typical warm and cold food together with a full complementary bar. Hilton Athens serves one warm and one cold item together with beer or wine. Normally there is a last call before removing the buffé, this is not done in Athens.
The gym was good but they had in my opinion squeezed a bit to many things in that room, The gym is placed inside the Spa so they can bill you for it but this is also complementary for Diamond members. The outdoor pool just opened when we were there, same thing here, you have to go to the Spa to get a towel.
Location is great, close to the subway giving you easy access to the entire city, we bought a €20 tourist ticket that gives you a returntrip to the Airport as well as unlimited fares for public transport for 72h.
My conclusion is that this is an OK hotel with a good location, the value is good if you are a HH Gold/Diamond member, if your not then bring your wallet because they will charge you an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for being our guest and for sending us your valuable feedback, which is appreciated.

All your comments have been taken into serious consideration and reviewed with my team in order to take corrective actions where needed. Thank you for having brought these to our attention and we apologise if some of the services offered were not to your satisfaction.

Hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Good hotel, but the breakfast on the executive floor could be better and it would be good if the snack room stayed open all night for those of us who arrive late. I arrived at 11:30 p.m. and the Executive Floor snack room was closed at 11 p.m. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Hilton Athens.

It is with pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service and majority of facilities up to your expectations.

Your point about the breakfast on the Executive Lounge has been noted, appropriate action to be taken.

Look forward to accommodating you again soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing