We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel & Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #17 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel & Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I arrived in Athens on April 14th and departed on April 19 after a wonderful stay at the Hilton Athens. We must complement the Athens team for making our stay so memorable with special thanks to Vassilis, Katerina, Eveita, Efi and Anastasia in the Executive Lounge for their personal attention and friendleness. Next, we spend many hours visiting with Yiannis in the Byzantine Restraunt who took time to explain many things about Athens to us. Additionally, we were greeted every day and evening by Marious and Stavros at the front door.

The room was superb with the view of Acropolis and the management at the front desk ensured every detail was covered during our visit. We have noting but wonderful things to say about everything in and about the hotel, We look forward to our future visit. Thank all of you at the Hilton Athens for making our return to Athens after a number of years so memorable.

Frank & Terry

Room Tip: Always ask for the Acropolis view and select breakfast with your room reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FNHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for being our guests and for having chosen the Hilton Athens as your place of residence while visiting our city.

It was a pleasure to note that you enjoyed all facilities and services rendered, and that you were in particular satisfied with the hotel's team being friendly and showing personal attention to your needs. Your feedback has been shared with them and has been truly appreciated!

Once again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to contribute to a memorable stay. Look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,645
    1,128
    367
    133
    70
See reviews for
574
1,156
198
957
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pottsville, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have a fabulous view of the Acropolis and can see the sea on a clear day. The room is very nice and the staff have been very helpful. Wi-Fi is not free which is too bad. There is a very nice breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view of Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent to write your observations on Hilton Athens and share with us your experience.

Your comments are highly appreciated and we are pleased to note that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit, in particular the beautiful Acropolis and sea views as well as the comfort of your room. WiFi is not complimentary in the room, however it is free in all the outlets, restaurants and bars of the hotel.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athene, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I've had a nice night in this hotel. They managed to give me the optimal rest and service during a short night before an important meeting. The crew was very helpfull and friendly. well worth the money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kurt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for your feedback, this is valuable to us!

We really appreciate your positive remarks on the quality of services offered and our team being helpful and friendly.

We very much hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

For context we booked an executive room with Acropolis view and were upgraded to a jr. suite with the same view for one night.
There was a separate check-in for the executive floor, that was rapid, efficient and pleasant.
The view was excellent, although a little more distant that some of the "downtown" hotels but the floor was high enough to give a view all the way to Piraeus.
The rooms were more American than European in size, with more than enough room but with the more spartan European décor.
The sitting room had a half bath and excellent closet space.
There was a "full" bath with the sleeping room - full meaning tub plus separate shower but no bidet. The marble shower was roomy and had a steam bath option which we did not test. The water control was a marvel of simple design but not so simpler operation. Toiletries were of appropriate quality and quantity and the towels were large enough and plush enough. There was only one robe and we did not request another. There were slippers.
The executive lounge was a highlight. There was a variety of beverages and snacks when we checked in around noon including both cashews and pistachios and this was available until late in the evening. The breakfast the next morning was excellent with a wide selection of hot and cold items. The pastries were superior, appropriately crusty and flavorful instead of the typical soggy hotel fare.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for having chosen Hilton Athens for your stay in the city.

We are delighted to see that you found everything in its place, as you mention, referring to the comfort of your room, the exceptional service provided at our Executive Lounge, the friendliness of the team members.

Hope to have more opportunities in future to host you again!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,415 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

It used to be one of my preferred places but as of this stay it goes on a blacklist: do not get mistaken, great venue, beautiful swimming pool, comfortable although a bit oldish rooms but dishonest management, implementing cheap tricks you wouldn't expect from chain such as Hilton. No problem, there are many other hotels such as Grand Bretagne, King George or Interconti to chose from.

"New policy" communicated at check out is to charge a 1% for any payment with credit card. I do not know about you but I do not carry cash to settle hotel bills, especially not forewarned. the problem is not 1% but the cheap way it is implemented rather than increasing room prices - but then it shows on all web sites.
disgrace !

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to post your feedback.

We are sorry to note your dissatisfaction caused due to the 1% charge applied to credit card payments. However, kindly please note that this is being clearly communicated via our website and our reservations department.

Do hope you will reconsider your decision and visit our property again in future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The in ability to look at issues and address them appropriately and accurately from the day time staff was a big issue with my stay at this Hilton. The overall rooms where decent. The breakfast was a great buffet with lots to choose from. Having to deal with rate issues of more than double the price from a conference price really put a down side on the stay at the hotel. The night time staff was great to deal with and were very informative of the area as well as helpful. It seemed the less senior a staff member the more willing to work with the guest they were.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We were pleased to note that the general impression of your visit was positive. However, have read with concern your points about the service provided by some of our team members. The issue has been discussed with the heads of the respective departments and necessary corrective action will be taken.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a nice big hotel with a pretty central location but they had pathetic internet and couldn't get it working better. I generally like Hiltons - but this one wasn't up to their standards for the price they charged.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank lesshaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, which is indeed appreciated!

It is pleasing to read that you were happy with the facilities offered in the hotel, your room and the location.

However, we are sorry to note your comment about the quality of internet service. Your point has been taken into serious consideration.

Hope we will have more opportunities in future to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing