We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Say No”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #17 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

There are a few things to like about this property, and many to despise. My recommendation is to stay somewhere else. But I will try to be objective. First, the good news. It's a Hilton property. So it's not going to be bad. It's clean and bright. The rooms are comfortable. The breakfast buffet is good. The property can host a small convention (which is why I was there). Okay, for the not so good stuff. Athens is not my favorite city. If you want to see the real Greece, which rocks by the way, go to the islands. Or at least the smaller cities on the mainland. Athens is a big city, crowded and noisy, over priced, with a ton of graffiti. Very few airlines fly direct to Athens, so you'll most likely have two flights to get here. I changed in Istanbul. Many of our group got stranded in Abu Dhabi. Next, this property in particular over charges. The rooms are expensive. The gym is not included. No airport shuttle, 35 euros each way. Paper in the business center costs extra. I had a pair of pants and one shirt laundered - $29. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling off. You can't walk to anything other than the Megaron (the large convention center) so you'll be paying for taxi every time you want to see something. Wi-fi is complimentary, but the poor bandwidth prevents you from actually using the internet. And it only works in your room. If you want wi-fi in the lobby, you'll have to pay extra for that too. A bottle of water costs 7.50 euros, the same thing sells in the islands for 0.70 euros. I would recommend this property for business (it has a professional appearance) or if you're staying on HHonors points. Otherwise, just say no.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor away from Athen's noisy streets. But be prepared for long wait tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is with great concern to read that your experience with us was not a positive one and we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.

All your remarks have been taken into consideration and reviewed with my team in order to correct any shortcomings.

We would appreciate you giving us another chance to welcome you back and prove how much we value you as a guest and that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,880 - 1,886 of 3,844 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

WIFI is not available in rooms. A charge is levied for usage of fitness centre. This does not happen in other 5 star hotels. There is no complimentary water in the room . A bottle of water is kept in the room and priced at euro 7. A bottle of water outside is euro0.50

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank 833sarathp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention your feedback about your recent stay here.

We have noted and discussed with my team all your comments. In particular regarding the WiFi service, this is provided at a cost in the rooms, however complimentary in all the outlets bars and restaurants. In relation to the Spa/Gym daily entrance fee, this allows our guests to visit these facilities as many times in the day they wish.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My son and I spent two nights at the Hilton Athens before joining a coach tour. This hotel is fantastic. It is worth the little bit extra you pay for the executive floor (separate check in and concierge). The executive lounge is well stocked and offers great views of the city and especially the Parthenon and Acropolis. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in the embassy district and near an upscale shopping and dining district called Kolonaki. There are interesting sites well within walking distance and the concierge was great with suggestions. Not far from the hotel you will find the war museum and the Byzantium museum. Just beyond them you can see the excavation of Aristotle's Lyceum. Just across from the hotel is a modern glass shard sculpture of The Runner. The work out facility in the gym is really quite good. It is stocked with cardio equipment and both universals and free weights. This is a great hotel with an excellent staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JamesII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for being our guests!

We are extremely pleased to note that you and your son enjoyed your stay here and were satisfied with the hotel's facilities and services.

Once again, thank you for selecting our property and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Can't get any bette as a business hotel. Such a great view. Great food and swimming pool with hottest people. It was always understaffed, so it always took time to reach waiting staff. Front desk was quite busy as well. Amenities and toiletries are NOT good enough. Little odd location but only 2 mins away from tube station. From airport to the doorstep, it took only 30 mins by tube. It takes 25-30 minutes to take a walk to the city centre in hot weather, but quite enjoyable in beautiful buildings. There seem many cozy designer hotels at half price in tourist areas, but this hotel offers little bit of everything quite perfectly. Definitely come back and stay but I heard it has got much more expensive after financial crisis.

Room Tip: Higher floor. Pantheon views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is a pleasure to note that you were satisfied with your stay and you consider our hotel to be the best business hotel in Athens, which is an honor to us.

Your comments regarding our staff have been taken into serious consideration and discussed with my team.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent hotel but the room design is male oriented. Women have no outlets or convenient mirrors for doing hair/makeup. Restaurant on 10th floor, while expensive, is very interesting and good food and ambiance. The executive lounge staff is most helpful. The staff speaks good English.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Richard F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to post your input.

We were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here and were satisfied with the general ambience, the food selection and our team members. However, it is a bit of surprise to see that you consider the room design to be male oriented. Your point of concern has been noted.

Do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

High quality, comfortable and well serviced hotel with friendly and helpful staff but pricing in restaurant and bars and for additional services at rip off levels. Eg Eur6.50 for a coke in the lobby cafeteria!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to post your feedback.

Your comments are highly appreciated and we are pleased to note that you were satisfied with the majority of facilities as well as our friendly staff.

Your point about our restaurant and bars pricing has been noted, we are sorry if this caused inconvenience to you.

Look forward to welcoming you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having just stayed at this hotel for the second time in the past six months, I can report an all around pleasant experience. The lobby and conference facilities are nicely decorated and efficiently arranged, there are two nice restaurants off the lobby, and a large, inviting pool area. There is a rooftop bar and restaurant with a fabulous view of the Acropolis (a great place to take in the sunset and nightfall). The hotel is also in a comfortable area of Athens just over a mile from the Acropolis and the Plaka. There are lots of off property places to eat and a metro stop in the park diagonally across the street. The rooms are the standard business class accommodations you would expect in any better business class hotel. The only complain I found was in both rooms I had on my two visits, the shower drains were slow. Other than that, a first rate experience.

Room Tip: If available, try to get a room on the side with views of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay.

We are extremely satisfied to read that you consider the Hilton Athens to be a first rate business class hotel and that you had a pleasant experience here. We are truly honored to hear this.

Your point about the shower drains has been noted and reviewed with my team. Thank you for having brought this to our attention.

Look forward to your next stay here!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,944 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £159 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing