We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable, Very Expensive”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #17 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before departing for the islands.

The hotel is beautiful on the inside (outside could use some refreshing). The rooms are modern and well taken care of. Each room has a nice balcony.

The room was very clean, and daily service was nice. The bathroom amenities were not great quality, but they were ok. The beds were extremely hard, and frankly, the mattress felt old and in need of replacement. The linens were great and high quality.

I pre-paid for a breakfast plan for the room which was a godsend. The food and beverage is fantastically overpriced. Had I not purchased a breakfast option with the room, the hotel charges 40 Euros per person for the buffet. The first night we arrived, my guest and I each had a hamburger and a beer. The two burgers and two beer cost 83 Euros. A club sandwich is priced at 24 euros. Want room service? Add a 7 Euro charge per person. I have stayed at a Radisson Blu in Sydney and still felt it was a better value than the Hilton.

The best part of this Hotel is the location. There is a lot of things within walking distance and the metro station is in the part right across the street.

Overall, I would stay again... I just wouldn't eat there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RainnIceberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for being our guests and for posting your input.

We have noted your review and are pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay here with us, enjoying the majority of services offered. Your comments about our food & beverage pricing have been taken into serious consideration, although our prices are in line with other same category hotels in the city.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,839 - 1,845 of 3,834 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was excited to stay here and was hoping that this accommodation would live up to the excellent standard set up Hilton alas this was not the case. Bathroom was filthy with many broken tiles in addition to grime on everything. The fruit that was in my room when I arrived was old and seemed like it had been there for the last guest. The balcony was ok but the 'acropolis view' should state look at the roof of our crumbling hotel and over there in the distance is our national heritage. Lastly and this is the thing that really ruined my stay was the smell. The room just smelt, I cannot describe what but it was awful. Good things about this hotel is the pool and excellent day spa, treatments are expensive but well worth it however I will not be staying here ever again.

Room Tip: Do not bother with the 'acropolis view' not worth the extra cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Josstom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Hilton Athens for your recent stay.

With regret we noted that your visit did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for this, your comments and concerns have been discussed with my team. Necessary actions will be taken in order to correct any shortcomings immediately.

We are sorry to hear that you will not be staying here again. Hope you will reconsider and give us a second opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here on the first night of our trip to Greece. It is relatively centrally located and in one of the better neighborhoods from what we could tell. The room was modern, although the tv was tiny (we didn't watch at all, just saying). The bathroom was spacious enough with the usual Hilton toiletries. The highlight of this place is without a doubt the rooftop bar where you can see all of Athens including the Acropolis. It's beautiful up there, with great free bar snacks (seasoned dry pasta), an unobstructed views due to the low building heights in Athens.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SuzyQ502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay here, the room's amenities, the convenient location, the rooftop bar with the Acropolis and Athens breathtaking views.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Well appointed executive level hotel room. Lovely and helpful staff. The snacks in the lounge were hit and miss. Nice breakfast, the happy hour food was just OK -primarily one hot item and dry sandwiches and snacks were dry cake, cookies, a bit of cheese and nuts.

Surprised they did not have CNN. I guess I am spoiled when I travel overseas.

While not in the center of town, the metro is close to the hotel and you can be in the heart of everything in a meter of minutes.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for being our guest and for posting your comments.

We are glad to read that you were satisfied with the majority of services offered, your well-appointed room, our helpful staff, the convenient location.

It is good to hear that you would stay here again, look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was very happy there is an Early arrival service, because I arrive at 8am and my meetings started at 11am, which means I could take a shower, refresh myself for a couple of hours and be in good condition for the meetings. The other services are on a very top class level. Will come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ivan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for reviewing the Hilton Athens on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is important to us.

With pleasure we read your positive evaluation about our services, in particular regarding the early check in.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hilton Athens was a premier hotel in the city but of late the quality of service overall has fallen a few notches and isn't what it use to be. Still an OK hotel but for the price needs to recover to its former level of service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for being our guest.

Your valuable feedback has been well-noted and taken into consideration, in order to improve or correct any shortcomings related to the level of service offered to our guests/visitors.

Many thanks for having brought your concern and opinion to our attention.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Enjoyed my stay and would rate this hotel higher than any others I have stayed in while working in Athens. Good rooms, pool, excellent roof top bar/restaurant and friendly staff. if staying in central athens and if you nat good facilities and a great view of the Acropolis then this is a good place to stay. Easy to get taxis and services were excellent. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 64mels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for being our guest and for posting this positive review.

With great pleasure we read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced such a good time here. Your warm comments have been shared with my team.

Once again, thank you and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,941 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,435 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £156 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing