We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A View of the Akropolis”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #21 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A View of the Akropolis”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Fantastic view of the Akropolis from our room. The room and furniture were well used and needed updating. The room had a good size. Loved the bar on the top floor. The view of the Akropolis at night is amazing. When visiting Athens a drink at the bar is a must and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Madame,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Athens as your place of residence.

It is rewarding to know that your expectations were met and that we had the opportunity to contribute to a pleasant stay.

Do look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,788
    1,183
    383
    142
    80
See reviews for
622
1,219
212
1,033
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent two nights here - as someone said, Hilton Hotels can and do vary considerably. Check-in was smooth and efficient, rooms were more than comfortable with lovely modern bathrooms. Breakfast was very good, even when we arrived very late one morning. The location was about a block walk from Evangelisimos station on the metro. Although we did not have an Acropolis view (our room was arranged through Azamara Club Cruises) it was sufficient. The Concierge was the BEST!. We wanted to go to the restaurant on the top of the hill by the Church of St. George. He told us about the cable car, costs and how to get a taxi. The concierge called his friend at the restaurant and got us a window seat (before 5:30 so we could use the concept menu). The view was breathtaking. Location was ideal for the Acropolis.. Would recommend. I was disappointed that the indoor pool was only available for a price. The rooftop bar is well worth the elevator ride at night, even if you don't drink or like loud music. It is also conveniently around the corner from Goody's, a fast food restaurant, and an ATM down the street from there. Also, the free chocolate samples in the chocolate shop in the lobby were amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for an Acropolis View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PegasusGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for being our guests and for posting your valuable review.

With great pleasure we noted that you enjoyed every moment of your visit and that you were in particular satisfied with the service provided by our Concierge team. Your input is much appreciated and has been shared with them.

Do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and extend the Greek hospitality standards. Once again, thank you for having chosen our property.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel even though it is very old (about 30 years) it is constantly and very well renovated.Very close to Syntagma square and the metro.The hotel has a terrific view over Athens (Likavitos,Acropolis etc).It offers underground parking.

The service was excellent and the food was also great (the best hotel breakfast buffet in Athens) and the restaurant was very nice also (byzantino) were we sat for dinner.

It is the best hotel in downtown Athens.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your impressions with us.

First and foremost, we are glad to learn that you consider our hotel, the Hilton Athens, to be the best hotel in downtown. Your positive review about the great views, the excellent service provided in our restaurants, the convenient location all these have been appreciated and brought to the attention of my team.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The Hilton Athens definitely had some things going for it:
- great location
- nice rooftop bar with a view
- great swimming pool

However, the experience was ruined by the numerous things they did not get right. This has been my worst Hilton experience so far:
- inconsistent service: it took 30mins to deliver our bags to the room, took a few hours to deliver an extra towel, forgot to change the towels and multiple other counts

- poor wifi access in the rooms: the wifi was unreliable in the rooms and would fluctuate in speed. A 20mins phone call with tech support only led to the unfulfilled promise that someone on-site would get back to us to help with the problem

- (some) very rude staff: when we checked out, there was apparently a mistake in the billing, an extra night was charged. When we tried to explain the mistake, our receptionist (Gabi) went on to accuse us of trying to deceive hotel, waved the checkin form at our faces, told us "do you want me to check you out quickly or do you want me to get your complaints", tried to avoid giving us her full name and was generally quite rude

In all fairness, I would have rated the hotel 3 stars were it not for the poor check out experience

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Haikal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention your review regarding your recent stay here at the Hilton Athens.

We have noted with concern that you were not satisfied with some specific things that caused inconvenience to you. All your points have been taken into serious consideration and discussed with my team. In particular, in reference to the experience you had due to the poor service rendered upon check out, corrective action will be taken in order to avoid similar incidents from recurring. Please rest assured that what you experienced was only an isolated incident.

Hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We are a well traveled family of 5 and connecting rooms in Athens, Greece are scarce, if not the most difficult rooms to find. We were in room 1201 and 1203 on one of the Executive floors. The connecting rooms are all on the side of the hotel that do not face the Acropolis...the view was a sacrifice we were okay with in order to keep our family together.

The Hilton Athens not only fit the bill but went over and beyond all hotels we stayed at on our vacation in Greece this year.

Check in at the Executive Counter on the 11th floor went smoothly and the daily spread and view from the Executive Lounge was worth the upgrade. Roomy rooms, balcony, comfy beds and linens (though the pillows were too soft for us, there were other types of pillows available from housekeeping), nice amenities like coffee pots, mini bars, flat screen tvs helped make our short stay a pleasant one. Hotel breakfast offered a nice selection of American, Asian, Continental breakfast items as well as a omelet station and a small gluten free section. Pool is Athens' largest and was a blessing for our kids after a hot day of taking in the sights. Poolside dining was also quite tasty and offered nice selections.

Located an easy block from the Metro plus a huge taxi line waits for fares outside the hotel....super convenient location...would definitely stay here again when in Athens.

Room Tip: Higher floors are worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mama_of_3Boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens as your place of residence.

It is a pleasure to read that you and the family had an enjoyable stay, being satisfied with the hotel's facilities and service provided.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were warmly greeted, our room was spacious and had a great view of the Acropolis, the facilities were great particularly the swimming pool and gymnasium. The level of service was very good. We would love to return

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a club room with Acropolis view it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for being our guests.

We were very pleased to see that your stay with us was an extremely enjoyable one and that your high expectations were met on a variety of services and amenities that were available to you.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Athens in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Ky.
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked this Hilton on our recent stay in Athens Greece as a reward using our Hilton points (we are also Diamond). The service we received through out the resort was great. Our room was excellent with a balcony and a view of the Acropolis. We were able to use the executive lounge and the food (including breakfast) was excellent. We ate at the Galaxy Restaurant/Bar on the rooftop and the food was delicious ( had US Angus Beef Filet, salad, veggies and shared a dessert) and the service impeccable. We also had lunch at the pool restaurant, hotdogs and fries, very good!
The only problem we encountered was at the indoor pool. Apparently a group of local folks use this pool and I think they resent outsiders coming in. An older lady was yelling at a young guy who was swimming laps (she was speaking Greek and he nor us could understand what she was saying but it was clear she was not happy and it was directed at the young guy, my husband and myself). Another lady came over and tried to tell us (the young guy and my husband and I ) that we couldn't swim in that area. I think she just didn't want us in the pool. It made us uncomfortable enough that we left.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review of our hotel, which is appreciated!

Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that you and your husband enjoyed the service rendered, the comfort of your room, the food and beverage selection.

The issue you encountered while visiting our indoor pool has been noted with concern. Please rest assured that necessary actions will be taken in order to prevent something similar from recurring. Many thanks for having brought this to our attention.

Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
364 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#17 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing