We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still far from where it should be”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #19 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Still far from where it should be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The Hilton Athens was an institution. The area is named after it after all. I like the architecture and the furniture. The room has been fitted with a new tv since the last time i stayed here (11 months ago). Service varies but the staff seems altogether happier than last year. Today was the first time the porter ever greeted me hello. Although usually you never see the porter present especially when you arrive and take your bags out of the car.

Still same old fuss about trying to squeeze every penny out of it's customers. It makes this institution look desperate which is a pity. Internet is 20eu a day with no package rates, but I must say that the speed is now decent compared to last year's sluggishness. Water in your room is 7.50eu a bottle but you can call room service and demand (this can take several times to convince) the free sparkling water. I don't even pay for these extras personally but I must say that it is very irritating even if a company will pick up that bill.

I was going to put 1 star but I've put 3 because of the little improvements. Starting to head towards where it should be. But it's still far from a great hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Miorta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

We appreciate your comments as these give us valuable feedback on how to improve our services and provide our guests with exceptional experiences.

We have noted your remark on our prices, please rest assured that the majority of these are in line with other deluxe properties in Athens. Regarding the internet, this is offered complimentary in all public areas of the hotel as well as to HHonors Gold and Diamond members.

Once again, thank you for choosing our property, hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,677
    1,139
    375
    135
    70
See reviews for
586
1,169
204
976
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

I've stayed at this hotel twice in the past 8 months, going again in November. There is so much to like when one stays here. The rooms are a great size, probably bigger than any other standard room in the city. The bathrooms are perfect. A soaker tub, separate rain-shower, marble everywhere. Bathroom toiletries are high quality. We had connecting rooms that were perfect for us parents and our children. The breakfast on offer downstairs is probably the best in Greece (maybe the Costa Navarino comes close), so make sure you get a rate that includes breakfast. I've heard the breakfast costs something like EUR 30.00 per person if you don't have it included in the price of your room rate. You can order any coffee style and it's included in your meal. The hotel's swimming pool is incredible. Easily the best of all the hotels pools in downtown Athens. There really are 2 issues that stop me from giving the hotel 5 stars: Internet connectivity and access to the workout facilities. It is unconscionable that a 5 star hotel nowadays charges EUR 20.00 per day to access the internet. I'm sure this is a huge cash cow for the hotel but they will never get enough 5 star reviews and the respect of business travelers if they continue to charge this exhorbitant amount on a daily basis. Also, unless one is staying on the Club Floors, access to the fitness facilities is chargeable at EUR 15.00 per day. Again, this is a large amount to pay for what practically all 5 star hotels in the world provide on a complementary basis to their guests. I love this hotel, as its location is ideal for my business and personal needs when visiting this incredible city. I am even happy to overlook the soul-swallowing prices charged at the Rooftop Bar that offers incredible views of the Acropolis and the city. (20 plus Euros per cocktail. No joke). I love the rooms, location, breakfast and service. It's still enought to keep my coming back, even though the hotel needs to change its policy on internet and fitness facility usage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasPanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Hilton Athens on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important to us and I am grateful for the time taken to share your experience.

It is very rewarding to know that your expectations were met and we had the opportunity to contribute to a memorable stay in terms of comfort and quality of service provided.

Your points about our pricing policy on internet and fitness facility usage have been taken into serious consideration.

Many thanks for the loyalty you show to our property. Look forward to continuing welcoming you and your family here and extending the warm Greek hospitality standards .

Best regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We recently stayed for four nights at the Athens Hilton using our Hilton Honors points. We could not have had a better experience. We were treated as if we were special, we were greeted with courtesy, and we were provided excellent facilities and service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank judicialflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for having chosen our property as your place of residence.

We are so delighted to learn that your experience here was an excellent one. Your kind comments have been passed on to my colleagues.

Look forward to welcoming and accommodate you back when you are next in the city of Athens.

With best regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

This Hilton Hotel was clean, rooftop bar was very nice with good views of Parthenon. It is close to metro station and the staff is friendly. Only negatives would be the 20 euro charge for internet and the fact that it is a long walk/taxi ride to the major sites you want to see.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank coco928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting your review.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a pleasant one.

Regarding the internet service prices, this is offered complimentary in all public areas, lounge, bars & restaurants of the hotel, as well as to our HHonors Gold and Diamond members.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic stay here. We were on our honeymoon, and had wine and fruit waiting for us in our room upon arrival. The hotel itself is in walking distance to the Acropolis which we took advantage of. The restaurant on the top level with the outdoor seating and view of the Acropolis is also fantastic. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Kelly P

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens for your honeymoon and for sharing with us your valuable review.

We are very happy you enjoyed the Galaxy restaurant with the breathtaking views of the Acropolis, and you were pleasantly surprised by our wedding amenity in your room!

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With Best Regards
Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Paled in comparison to the competition. The rooftop bar was its only saving grace. The room was dated and in disrepair, despite it being an exec room on a Hilton Honors Gold card, it was laid out only to cater for one individual rather than a married couple, the service was poor and the exec lounge was unbelievably unwelcoming and tight fisted. The cabaret act on out final night was memorable (the kitchen porter set himself and the bar on fire three feet away from me - the smell of burning flesh put me off my dinner the rest of the evening)... I could go on... Do not recommend. Extremely disappointed. Does not reflect the Hilton brand I know and once loved.

Room Tip: We booked an executive room on out Hilton gold card, of which there were no upgrades available. Goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiesty-Fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property and provide us with your valuable feedback.

We have noted and taken into consideration your points about the room and the Exec. Lounge service. We apologize for the incident in the restaurant and we regret any inconvenience caused.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

With Best Regards
Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Staying at the Hilton in Athens is a treat. To have a luxurious hotel with a pool in the center of Athens is amazing. The beds are so comfortable - you get all the amenities of a top hotel with a view of the Acropolis-breath taking- from the Galaxy Bar. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stamatina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Stamatina M

We appreciate you choosing the Hilton Athens for your stay and we thank you for posting your review.

It is with great pleasure to read that you enjoyed mostly our luxurious hotel.

We thank you for considering us your primary choice for your stay in the city!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With Best Regards
Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing