We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring a Voice Recorder next time you ask question at front desk!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #19 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bring a Voice Recorder next time you ask question at front desk!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

As a loyal Hilton customer, I would like to express my dissatisfaction of my recent stay at the Athens, Greece location. My husband and I checked-in at the hotel on Friday afternoon on May, 8th 2009. As we headed out to dinner later on that evening, we checked with the hotel front desk to see whether breakfast will be included in our room rate. The shift leader (don’t remember his name) checked the computer and told us breakfast is included with our room reservation. He even pointed us to the Byzantine dining room, where the buffet breakfast will be served.

So, the next 3 mornings (May 9, 10 and 11), we went to Byzantine restaurant to have breakfast. My husband even checked the hotel bill, via the computer system in our room, several times during our stay to make sure there is no unexpected charge. And, we didn’t see anything. However, on our check-out day (May, 11th 2009), the waitress at the restaurant handed us a bill of $65 euro after our breakfast. We asked her why we were being charged. She showed us the roster which indicates breakfast is not included with our reservation. The waitress directed us to the front desk to resolve the issue. We spoke with Curtis, the shift supervisor on duty. He checked our reservation again and told us our room rate does not include breakfast. He tried to reach the supervisor whom we spoke with on Friday evening. But, he was not available at that time. Curtis agreed to keep our account open until they finish the investigation. He said he will e-mail us with result. It has been 4 days now; we still haven’t heard anything from the hotel. And the worst thing is, they went ahead and charged us breakfast for 3 consecutive days, a total of $195 euro.

Would you think this is a fair treatment to your loyal customer? We were told that breakfast is included by a shift supervisor and it turned out to be a “NO”. This incurred an unexpected $195 euro to our traveling expenses (just for breakfast!!). We would have made other breakfast arrangement if that’s the case.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alienccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,677
    1,141
    375
    135
    70
See reviews for
588
1,169
204
976
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

We stayed only one night at the Athens Hilton, and honestly I had only one complaint. Everything reeks of cigarette smoke. We originally did not have a non-smoking room, so I thought nothing of it. We then switched to to a non-smoking room/floor, but the room still reeked of smoke. It's hard to blame the hotel, since they cannot control everything, but the smell of smoke was obvious upon entering the room. The hotel itself was lovely, very modern (with somewhat uncomfortable, modern furnishings), but spacious and very clean. Great lobby area, several restaurants/bars (although the prices were outrageous). We ate dinner elsewhere. Full breakfast was included in our approx. $200 rate,making this a very good deal. The location is great - safe, yet with in walking distant to everything. Metro very near by.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nysatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed at the Athens Hilton in October 2008.

This is an absolutely superb hotel. I was lucky enough to meet the Renault Formula 1 team and see the car itself close up!

I would recommend Athens Hilton to anybody. The staff are excellent, the service is great and rooms are clean, spacious, also very nice. It doesn't cost the Earth like you may expect. Food is very good and the hotel is literally on the doorstep of the Acropolis and the Olympic sites.

The indoor pool is truly amazing with underwater jacuzzi and fitness bikes, but DO NOT go in the outdoor unless you want to freeze. It is horrendously cold! All I can say is the service and quality here are top notch and worth it.
Athens itself is an ok city but there's alot of poverty and people who might try selling you fake bags or jewel wear. Mind all the stray dogs!

If Hilton expenses tire you then there's a MacDonals and a big European restaurant around the corner which sells English meals. There's a bakery nearby to, try the Greek donuts!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank INGRF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

This Hotel is the perfect location to visit Athens. It is just a short walk along the road and you reach the main square with parliment buildings and lovely cafes. The Hotel itself is really wonderful, rooms are brilliant and if you are lucky enough to get a view towards the acropolis then it is truly spectacular. Service is second to none, the cleanliness of the Hotel was amazing. Food in the main resturant was wonderful and we were lucky enough to have an amazing waiter, his level of customr care was just perfect. We stayed on the executive floor and the service there was perfect too. I would really recommend this Hotel to even the most discerning traveller.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MAGHAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

We stayed here for a last minute escape from the British winter.
The hotel is located at the edge of the Embassy district, about 30-40 minutes walk from the Acropolis. It is about 700M from the Evangelismos metro station. The lobby is cool and white. The check in staff were efficient and charming. We got a room with Acropolis views, which I would recommend. The room was decorated in an elegant contemporary style, really great comfy beds, lovely rainfall shower and tub, tea and coffee making facilities. The room was really quiet and had a balcony, that meant we could relax in the evening with a glass of wine looking out over Athens and the Acropolis at sunset. Our rate included breakfast which was buffet style and excellent, with lots of fresh fruit and some Greek specialities.
The only gripe, which did cause inconvenience, was the extortionate internet charges. It was 39 Euro for 24 hours. I stay all over the world in hotels and this is the most expensive internet charge I have ever come across.
In short, we loved this hotel, but I felt angry at the rip off Internet. if you will be using your own computer you should avoid staying here. If you were here a week it would cost you 360 USD just for internet access. Hilton take note - this is shameful price gouging.

  • Liked — Location, room comfort, breakfast
  • Disliked — Internet access price is extortion - 39 Euro per day
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank skyfriendbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

Booked a long weekend stay at the hotel (Thu - Mon) with a friend just to escape from london's cold weather! Used Hilton's online site, and for once the price match guarantee worked and my claim generate $50 rebate! Worth at least attempting! So the rate (ex tax) was £135. This is quite low for this hotel, although if you book before end Jan 09 you can get the 50% weekend discounts offers to the end of Aug 09.

The location of the hotel is fine - not right in the city centre, but 20mins' walking distance, or one tube stop (which is over the road).

Being HH Diamond, we were u/graded to an Executive Plus room, so it had the views all over Athens and access to the lounge (also overlooking the whole city).

The rooms are great (at least on the Exec floor) - modern, glass bathrooms (see through to some extent!) and a nice sized balcony. Traditional Hilton add ons (bathrobe/ slippers etc), and the VIP welcome amenity of wine and fruit (if HHonors member).

The Exec lounge has fantastic views, and alcohol all day from 11am (beer) with wine and spirits from 6 to 11pm. Food is ok, but nothing special, and where you may just get by with dining on exec floor food for dinner elsewhere ,you couldn't do that here as it's really 'finger food'.

Would I pay extra for the exec lounge? Depends whether you plan to be in the hotel a lot.. the drinks in the hotel are stupidly priced, so if you like the thought of coming back, having a glass (or four) before retiring, then this would be worth it. And you get free continental breakfast, so just book the exec room-only option (unless you want a cooked breakast, in which case you need to pay for the full breakfast).

I would however seriously consider paying the supplement for the 'plus' rooms that have the Acropolis view (either standard or exec 'plus)- you could get your own wine from a supermarket and sit there at night time enjoying the view!

The spa area is lovely - sauna, steam room and a glass sided raised swimming pool with natural light streaming in. There's also a juice bar where you help yourself for free. This is free for HHonors silver and above, and all guests on the exec floor. Otherwise there's a charge. From May-September there's a large outdoor pool, too.

Didn't try the restaurants, or mini bar as I completely agree with other comments that this hotel is sooooo expensive....the Coke was 6.50 euros from the mini bar, and I dread to think of the restaurants.

The roof-top Galaxy bar was very trendy, but 16 euros for a cocktail. There are great views there, and you can wonder there in the day. They also serve food....but again the prices are sky high!

Athens is a great place to visit...with some cool neighbourhoods near the hotel, and a long beach you can reach by tram. It has the history of Rome, but less 'attitude' I felt. Note however that this the city can be very polluted and uncomfortable in July/ Aug.

Overall, a very trendy hotel, and one of the few Hiltons that seems to have retained its 'glamour' status - as most of them have become standard chain hotels. This one is, however, an Athens institution.

If you like standard 5* service in a more traditional surrounding (and more central), think about the Hotel Grande Bretange - this is Athens' top hotel but rather conservative in comparison.

Travel from the airport is easy - 30 - 35mins directly by subway as other guests have commented.

  • Liked — Stylish without the attitude.
  • Disliked — Prices are somewhat stratospheric!! Watch what you spend above the room rate!!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank eurotravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alora
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

An impressively cozy place. We spent three nights there, and it was so comfortable that we regretted stepping out of the room for dinner .This hotel was just what we were looking for : great food, excellent service, comfortable rooms and within walking distance to the metro station (Evangelismos ) and all the shops and sites to see(very near to Akropolis,plaka,and the national museum ). I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to feel a little like home, but still getting the Greek experience with exceptional design and service.I would love to go back.

  • Liked — location, food, cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank johncristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing