We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything very good but very expensive restaurants”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #21 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Everything very good but very expensive restaurants”
Reviewed 13 March 2010

I've stayed twice at the Athens Hilton, both times after the renovation for the Olympic games. The hotel is in a good location a short walk from a metro station and if the weather is not hot a very pleasurable walk to many attractions in Athens.

Rooms are very nice and with modern decoration. Bathrooms are really beautiful and the arrangement of the room ideal for relaxation. The lobby is one of the best I've seen in city hotels (although some friends find it "cold") and generally the public spaces very well decorated. Staff is incredible (which I think is a norm in the Hilton group) and among the best I've experienced in Europe.

My big complain in the Athens Hilton is the extremely expensive restaurants. Yes it is a Hilton and the quality is very good but the prices are extremely high. Despite the high prices though, the Galaxy bar is one of the best and worths a visit even if you don't stay at Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip_Datum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations-HA, Guest Relations at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your good comments about the hotel services and facilities. It is a real pleasure to read that our guests find the services we provide satisfactory and up to their expectations!
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,711
    1,159
    377
    137
    75
See reviews for
594
1,187
208
994
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2010

A well placed hotel with an excellent roof-top bar.
From there you can admire the Acropolis
Nice rooms with a modern touch.

Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CiprianC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

This would not have been my choice... but the Company was paying for my stay... therefore, I cannot complain. The Room was perfectly clean and very well decorated. This is definitely one of those "nice Hilton" Hotels... The Skybar has a fantastic view over the Akropoli and the whole city...
The few things I did not like were:
You pay everything... all the amenities are coming with a big price:
Gym? 15 EUR
A cocktail at the skybar? 18 EUR
No complimentary water in the room and a bottle of water is 6 EU
Internet? 25 EUR a day or 11 EUR per hour...
To me this is a complete rip off..

The hotel it's extremely nice... but you pay for that!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAPO76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed at this hotel, just across from Evangelismos station and down the hill from the Kolonaki area. We booked a prepaid option which meant we received two good sized rooms, connecting, the second being priced at 50%, and we upgraded to the Executive suite. When comparing this to the other boutique hotels (i.e. like the number 1 rated Ava Hotel) this came in cheaper. And the hotel has a spa, pool and fitness centre, as well as breakfast, snacks and dinners served all day in the Executive Lounge. Really nice touch. Hotel service was outstanding, personalised, everything you expect from a top class brand like Hilton. It isn't boutique, but the staff were very friendly. The location is OK, a one stop ride from Syntagma. Outside of the centre and on a very busy street, but the triple glazed windows were soundproof making sleeping not an issue.

To avoid the issues many readers sem to have with pool and spa extras, upgrade to executive class rooms which end up being much cheaper if you prepay. And for those people complaining about the mini bar prices. HELLO!! Have you never stayed in a business class hotel before?? Welcome to the world. Hotel food prices are absurd. But that is once again consistent with 5 star hotels around the world.

The only ral negative is the pool area. They insist that you take off your shoes and socks, but the area around the pool is wood and is dangerously slippery. To avoid falling (which my daughter did, and right on her back), management could invest in a cheap rubber runner. This is an easy solution. Staff were somewhat rude when I refused to take off my shoes, but that's too bad, as it would be more expensive for them to pay a law suit if someone broke a leg!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael01UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations-HA, Guest Relations at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 10 March 2010
Dear guest

Thank you for your comments about your experience at the Hilton Athens.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the benefits of the Executive Floor.

With regards to your point about the pool area, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will take your suggestion into consideration. The staff attitude you experienced was definitely not the standard of service we normally offer and has already been addressed to the parties concerned.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Athens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Damn Hilton, what happened?
Internet for 23 euro/day?
Socks for regular laundry service: 5 euro/ pair?
Gym: 15 euro/ entrance
The kicker: 15 euro just to use a damn adapter!!!
Someone in your pricing department is going to hell. I don't think I'm staying ever again even if it's my company's money. It's the principal.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

I stayed at this hotel on a long weekend getaway. The hotel was near to the city centre (a-2 stations away) and was a large building with a decent exterior. The lobby was also huge and nicely furnished.

I stayed at a 'guest' room which was spacious, with a defined (but not separated) sleeping and sitting area. However, the working desk was small and a TV was put at one end of the working desk. I found it a bit puzzling as there were definitely spaces for a larger working desk and a separate place for TV. The bathroom was also huge and modernly furnished. They came with a large balcony which was superb.

One thing was that they installed an auto-counting system in the fridge, which meant that if you took a can of coke, for example, they'd put on bill automatically even if you put it back. That's an ugly practice as there was no empty space in fridge. They should not deny guests' needs to put some foodstuffs onto the fridge.

I ordered some room services and found that they charged an EUR8 tray fee. Tray fee was fine since there was no service charge was not attached to 'base charge', but I just felt EUR8 was a bit too steep esp when you only wanted to order a desert. I also ate in one of their restaurants. Quality of food was good and they came in big portion.

Check-in, check-out were speedy and smooth. Staff members at reception, room services and restaurants were all attentive and polite. Housekeeping - some were good and some seemed bothered about my request of an electic plug converter!

In general, I enjoyed my stay at this Hilton. I'd consider staying here on my next trip to Athens.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeepDiscovering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations-HA, Guest Relations at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 10 March 2010
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay at the Hilton Athens. Your comments are highly appreciated.

Thank you for your positive comments about your experience with the staff. The points you have raised about some staff members' attitude are taken into consideration and relevant training actions are already taking place.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Athens in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

the hotel was fuly renovated and service we had was amazing. I strongly recommend galaxy roof bar, very cozy place.

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gulsahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,914 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing