We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, good location, but service is unlike Hilton, very unprofessional”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #17 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We stayed in this hotel because of it being a Hilton property, however, if you are used to
the typical Hilton service and guest treatment, don't expect to find it in the Athens property. It is clean and the rooms are quite pretty and modern, yet customer service and satisfaction are really not a priority here.We had trouble with our phone lines and nothing was done about it, which was quite frustrating. Also, If you take the executive plan that includes breakfast,light appetizers and beverages, be careful of the room you are given. These types of rooms for this program are located directly underneath the nightclub that sometimes has fireworks and closes at around 4am. We stayed on a Saturday night and did not sleep at all.The room service was absolutely terrible. We arrived late at night so we decided to take advantage of the room service...Inedible food that was burned and brought to us after 1 hour of ordering and to rectify this, they gave us 2 chocolate chip mini muffins. This hotel is not cheap in its prices, so service was quite disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations-HA, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Athens.
Your comments are valuable and welcomed, as they underline instances where the experience was less than positive.
It is rather concerning to read that you were dissatisfied with the service received from our staff and the Executive Floor experience. Our Executive Floors are located on the top of the building in order to provide the best view to our guests. The incident with the noise from the bar must have been an isolated incident and an alternative room could have been offered if you had brought this to our attention.
With regards to your comments about the room service, thank you for bringing this to our attention, it will be addressed to the relevant director.
We are acting upon your comments to see where we can improve the services we provide to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,819 - 2,825 of 3,834 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2010

Room was modern & nice sized - very comfortable. Loved the bathroom with separate shower & tub. Overall - rate room highly. Location is ok - I like to walk & was able to walk to all major sites. Area surrounding the Hilton is not as appealing as some other neighborhoods - but I didn't spend any time in the neighborhood area so was fine. Metro is close-by and was very easy to take to & from airport & just a short walk to hotel. I enjoyed the executive lounge - food & drink was very good & plentiful. Only complaint was that my room faced a nightclub & although supposedly sound-proofed & I had windows shut, from about midnight to 4am loud & kept me awake on both Friday & Saturday nights.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SF94597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations-HA, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive comments about the Hilton Athens!
It is with great pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the room facilities and the services of the Executive Lounge.
With regards to the noise from the bars across the street, we will be investigating the incident with the relevant parties.
We look forward in welcoming you back at the Hilton Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We had booked and prepaid this hotel at a wonderful price back in Jan. so we were very pleasantly surprised to get a free upgrade to the executive floor upon our arrival. Our room was large, spotless and very nicely appointed with a palatial marble bath that had both whirlpool tub and separate shower. There was also a nice little balcony with table and chairs where we could enjoy our complimentary welcome bottle of wine and fruit plate.
Being on the executive floor allowed access to the lounge which provided a huge complimentary hot and cold breakfast buffet as well as hot and cold snacks from 6-8PM and complimentary beverages until 11PM. These could all be enjoyed on the balcony with a lovely view of the Acropolis.
Altho it was a 15-20 minute walk to Syntagma and the Plaka, the walk was pleasant as it went past the various embassies and the national gardens. We also appreciated the fact that we were not in the middle of the demonstrations that were taking place at Syntagma nor did we have to deal with the drug addicts and hookers in the Omenia Square area.
The staff here is magnificent and staying here also qualified us for an additional 10% discount on our rental car. The only thing I didn't like about it was the design of the outside of the building but that had no bearing on our experience there.
We had also stayed at the Atheneum Intercontinental but although it is a lovely and gracious hotel, it seemed a bit stuffy and one even had to call room service just to get ice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nytwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I cannot fault this hotel: Decor is (re)fresh(ed) and modern, room was clean, marble bathroom proportions are big. All rooms have a small terrace. Rooms facing away from the Parthenon instead have the benefit of early morning sunshine. and just go to the roof terrace instead for all the views you could wish for. There's not much within immediate walking distance of the hotel but all city attractions are a short (< 5 Euro) taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awayweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

The hotel is in a great location and close to transportation and you can walk anywhere, The rooms are nice and you have a balcony where you can take good pics of the city. Only issue is that internet is expensive. Huge pool and staff is nice. The bed was comfortable and the water pressure was nice, marble tub was a plus, I would stay here again, check it out for yourself

Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
Thank jexclusive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I booked this hotel to celebrate my Birthday with my friends and my partner. I prepaid the Executive Room featuring the special floor, although I was not yet aware of the special check-in and the executive lounge. We had paid for the Acropolis view, so no issues with this. Check-in was swift and warm enough. Disappointingly that's where the charm ended though.The room was OK. But the floor looked already "tired". For a fully renovated hotel, that got ready for the Athens 2004 Olympics, the material used looked not time and wear resistant.
In the evening we went to the Galaxy bar. This bar is expensive by international standards too. The view to Athens and the Acropolis is terrific, but you pay mostly for that. I think that the "cold service" virus is spread all over the staff, bar and restaurants of this hotel.
The big disappointment was the breakfast. Executive guests get their breakfast at the executive lounge where the choice was worse than some airport business lounges! The staff did not bother to serve us tee or coffee, was unsmiling and looked to be rather annoyed by our presence. The same "cold" feeling was felt at check-out. For an almost 400 Euro room and a 500 Euro birthday party, I think the customer deserves more! It is true that money cannot buy everything, but this should not be proven at a hotel like the Athens Hilton!
The Greek staff should really understand the meaning of "service" and "hospitality" they claim as "trademark". Being Greek myself I feel at least awkward about their performance. As this is my second unpleasant experience at a Hilton (the other one was the Brussels Hilton), now my motto is: "Take me NOT to the Hilton"!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations-HA, Guest Relations at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens for celebrating your birthday in March.

Your comments about your experience are welcome and appreciated, especially as they isolate instances where the experience in the Executive Lounge and the bar was less than positive. This is undoubtedly not the standard of service we usually offer to our guests as our main goal is that our guests leave the property satisfied and looking forward to returning soon.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Proper actions will take place to make sure that our guests stay is memorable and they receive the personalised service they expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Nice business hotel but be cautious and check your bill. I pre-paid the hotel costs in full for two nights when I had booked on line. When checking out the person on the desk insisted that I had only paid for one night and would not hear otherwise, despite my showing him the hotel voucher. The manager was called and all in all this was both stressful and time consuming as I had to leave promptly for the airport. It took them quite a while to determine the correct bill. They also tried to charge me additional taxes that had been enforced after I had paid and made the booking. Plus for a business hotel, there was no free internet, 5mins cost 5 Euros!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations-HA, Guest Relations at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens for your recent stay in the city and for taking the time to bring the issue with your bill to our attention.

As you probably understand, issues that have to do with billing, payments and especially prepayments are very sensitive, as personal data are used (such as credit card details) and need to be solved very carefully and after thorough investigation. We understand the inconvenience that a delay upon check out may cause, however there are certain steps that we are obliged to follow in order to avoid further inconveniences.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens; we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,941 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,435 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £156 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing