We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great stay!”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #18 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We moved here after ditching another hotel when we arrived in Athens after an overnight flight. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were really comfortable, among the best of our Greek vacation. To us a good night sleep and a nice shower when recovering from jet lag or sightseeing is important. I agree that the outside of the hotel is not as impressive as the inside. Food was very good and we loved the rooftop restaurant. We were upgraded to the Executive floor which was great, again nice food and drinks available in the afternoon/evening with a great view of the city and Acropolis. The location is not "walking distance" to the Plaka although we ended up walking from there because of the strike so it can be done in flip-flops. The area has some good restaurants and all the sightseeing and shopping is a short cab ride away. Oh, also the pool is amazing, plenty of space and seating both in sun and shade. The only downside at the pool was the traffic noise but that really didn't bother us (I managed to still fall asleep). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needtogetaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,734 - 2,740 of 3,748 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2010

The outside of the Hilton did not look too promising - the building looks old and is located on a largish intersection. The rooms, however, were first class and have obviously been recently renovated. We were upgraded to the Executive Floor and the rooms were large, well furnished and the bathrooms were very modern. Service was good, as is usual with Hiltons. There is a row of restaurants and cafes opposite, which was a nice alternative to the hotel restaurants. There is some racket until late from nearby bars, but the overall experience was pretty good. At EUR 130 per night, it was also pretty good value for this part of the world.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations-HA, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2010

Thank you for your kind remarks on our property.
As our main goal is to offer to our guests high quality facilities and services, it is great to read that you were satisfied with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stopped here for a 3 night stay on the way back to the US from Turkey. Went back and forth with alot of hotels and eventually went with a brand that we knew.

First, the hotel is not in the Plaka or Acropolis area, so you will either need to walk or use the Metro to get to these areas. We didn't do a ton of walking around the hotel but didn't seem like much in this area.

That said I liked the area it was in. It was right outside a Metro stop I can't pronounce or spell. So it was very easy to get there from the airport. We bought a 3 day tourist Metro card for 15 euro. Worked out great. The area was quieter than the two areas mentioned above and for a light sleeper like myself it was good. Plus the room was sound proof.

Checking in on a Friday you could tell the hotel was big and busy (I didn't notice any bigger hotels in our tour of Athens). The lobby was bustling. Check-in, however, was fast and effective. The room was small but very clean. Hallways were a bit dirtier but with the amount of activity the hotel seems to have I expected that. Bathroom was very nice. Room appeared to have a balcony but either I am a moron and couldn't open the door properly or you can't use it. We had a nice assortment of fruit, sesame bars and little Greek wine waiting for us which was a very nice touch.

Our rate included breakfast which was buffet like your typical American chain hotel. Eggs, bacon, omlettes, pastries, etc. We enjoyed it. We had a drink at the Galaxy bar one night. Views are fantastic but wow is it expensive. 28 euro for a local beer and a rum/coke. Staff was pleasant and knowledgeable about the area. We did not see or use the pool. Like all Hiltons the internet was pay per use, so obscene rate like 25 euro a day.

Overall I thought the hotel was a good deal with our rate and the fact it included breakfast. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Generator515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed in Athen for two nights before going on a cruise and chose the Hilton because their web site had a half-price offer on earlier in the year.

The Metro was on strike the day we arrived, so we had a long, hot journey into the city. The welcome at the Hilton was warm; the 'leave your bags, go in, don't worry about anything' from the doorman was just what we needed to hear and was echoed throughout our stay. Because of the good price we had chosen the Executive Floor. The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom with its separate shower really excellent and the noise from the busy streets below totally blocked out unless we opened the balcony windows.

Although not as near to the Acropolis and Plaka as some hotels, we used the Metro (when not on strike!) to get about and taxis, which seemed to be very reasonable in price.

Our package allowed us to eat breakfast in the main, ground floor restaurant, so we ate there instead of the Executive Lounge. However, the food on offer at tea time and evening in the Executive lounge was very sub-standard, some of it quite horrid, and because of this we decided not to have dinner at the Hilton. The Executive Lounge service was patchy, too and the seats uncomfortable; altogether not a place to linger. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again, but hope that some attention can be paid to the Lounge.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations-HA, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2010

Thank you for your comments about your stay. It is a valuable feedback.
With regards to the Executive Lounge, please note that we are working upon your points as we wish that our guests feel like home and enjoy the use of the Lounge.
Your feedback is much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I guess the title says it all - it's a hotel worth staying in! Spacious rooms, interesting design, private balcony (a bit noisy though when sitting outside) and friendly staff. The only con I would say are the prices - 12 EUR for a 0.2l beer in a hotel bar sounds a bit steep... though I start to think that whole Athens are too expensive for what you get.
Anyway, if you look for a comfortable and good place to stay in Athens plus you have some money to spend ;) - this is the Hotel for you

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I recently travelled to athens to spend 5 days holiday with my partner. Being a Hilton Employee based at the Brighton branch, I took advantage of a great rate i was given to come here. I felt as I was paying less, I would be treated accordingly -how wrong i was! We were treated very well, almost like VIPs in certain areas, and couldnt get over how amazing our stay was. we were very sad to leave, but were very grateful to all the staff who had made our stay such a pleasant one. We are now looking to spend a week there in 2011!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomGreet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations-HA, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2010

Dear Guest, thank you for your nice review. Indeed, we value all our guests and treat each one as a VIP! Your comments will be shared with the team, as this kind of feedback is a strong motive to continue working hard towards the satisfaction of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back in 2011!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed at the Hilton only one night but have to say that it is a really good value. The check in staff was very helpful and accommodating. The pool is very large and popular even with locals from Athens. The breakfast was very large and good. Having said that in room movies were overpriced at €20 and also the internet was very expensive at €15. The hilton was what we expected: A clean place in central location with good rooms and good service.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,199 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £144 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing