We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Saint George Lycabettus
Ranked #67 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

St George Lycabettus is a very nice hotel situated up on the slope of Lycabettus Hill in the fashionable Kolonaki neighborhood. The views of the Acropolis are stunning, although I think some artistic license has been used in regard to the pictures they use on the website. We paid extra for an Acropolis view and we did have one... if we went outside on our balcony. Our friends, who paid for the same room, got a few view of it from their room and windows, so be sure and ask which room you will get when you book.

The little bar/restaurant down across the street associated with the hotel (Frame) was quite good. The staff was professional and courteous if not a little snooty. The staff at the restaurant up on the top of the hotel were a little more snooty. We did not eat there, but we did have a drink or two and yes, they are expensive, but the view is worth it.

A few small complaints, the beds are hard (although this seems to be the case all over Greece) and the wifi situation is ridiculous. It is free in the lobby (slow) but if you pay 20 euros and up then you can use the fast wifi. Why luxury five-star hotels are chintzy with the wifi in this day and age is beyond me. It is quite annoying to be nickled and euroed to death for something that should be included in the room like my hair dryer.

All in all, the St George Lycabettus was a very nice hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quimbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    658
    344
    187
    82
See reviews for
229
770
151
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
GREECE&CYPRUS
Level Contributor
1,523 reviews
314 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,908 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Starting with the location of the Hotel which is in one of the most trendy and elegant districts in Athens, it offers the best of Athens just in walking distance, right in the luxury areas of Kolonaki centre, -a place of celebrities and shopping.

The hotel has a long history behind it with the 4th generation overtaking the business the last 10 years and this is another reason that makes it so special and a gem in the city of Athens. It is a wholly Greek family business with no trace of fatigue.

During our 2 days stay I did feel the luxury class services offered to guests, -the fundamental motive of the staff and management here. There was a taxi strike and we were given a reminder leaflet upon arrival which proved very helpful since we had forgotten all about it. It is a hotel where guests are treated like VIP guests no matter the kind of booking they have made. Professionalism is at its highest point, and the management seems to be doing an excellent job providing an ambience that guests will surely want to return. It is indeed a home of luxury and privilege and over the years has established and proved that it is one of the finest hotels in Athens.

Our spotless charming room was not very big but it was stylish, comfortable and cosy. The bed was huge with an up and over bed head canopy which provided a creative and sophisticate centrepiece,-only wished I had more time to relax here.
We had a surprise indulgence an hour after we arrived of some ouzo. Our little balcony was facing the Acropolis and it is magic sitting out here after sunset when the lights are on. What breathtaking views we had!
I can admit that our bathroom was not very big either, but for our comfortable stay we had all amenities needed which were included in a kit, and there were ample of toiletries with the name of the hotel on, besides the 3 huge bottles of shampoo and bath gel above the bath tab. Towels were bright white, and bathroom robes and slippers were provided as well.
The coffee and tea making facilities were also appreciated.

The American buffet was more than adequate with a great variety of cereals, omelette, sausages, salmon and mushrooms, cakes, jams, fresh orange juice, ham and cheese, bacon and anything one would dream of. Kyriakos the Cypriot supervisor of the restaurant has been working at this hotel for more than 25 years and he was telling me that the majority of people working here are dedicated to this hotel. I believe having people working in the same business for so many years, surely makes the difference and this is where professionalism and the success of the business comes!

The one and only day I spent here was actually not enough to visit the Sensia spa and when I asked to visit it I was told that it opens at 1:00 pm which was too late for me. I spent an hour up the terrace by the outdoor swimming pool enjoying a refreshing drink where I talked a lot with Nico, whom I found exceptional. He is responsible for the bar and the area on the terrace, with higher studies. I noticed how people greeted him with a smile that showed that he is doing a good job out there.

Le Grand Balcon on the 6th floor, -popular in all Athens and not only, is transformed to magic as it gets dark with the most beautiful panoramic views of the Acropolis and the Lycabettus hill which is in short distance. In reality, a multifunctional spot operating as a Sophisticated Gourmet restaurant with exceptional dishes, a Dancing hall and occasionally a Conference centre.

If you appreciate fine art you will find a great collection of inspiring and breathtaking works of art and paintings all over the premises. I was so amazed and absorbed by the beautiful collection having a feeling that I was walking through an art gallery until I came across the S G Art Gallery found at the mezzanine of the hotel.

In an attempt to find something negative I am obliged to mention that more businessmen would choose this hotel if it had a free internet connection. Of course there is a free wifi connection in the lobby but it is extremely slow. I had my own laptop and my own connection here since I live in Greece, but for foreigners this is a problem. At the basement of the hotel there is a parking lot but guests have to pay because it operates as a different business.

In all, our stay was exceptional, I would certainly love to return and I highly recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Pick a room to overlook the Acropolis in the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I think that this hotel gets poor reviews because it is compared to hotels in other cities. For Athens, it's a good value and not bad. Service was always good (I've stayed twice in the last month). The rate I paid (140 E) was competitive, though I agree with other posters that about 20 E a day for Wifi is not warranted, especially since I found the Wifi spotty. I loved the location as you can go to restaurants not teeming with tourists, as Kolonaki is the upscale part of Athens (think Bev Hills/River Oaks/Upper East Side/The Rocks/Highland Park). It's also walking distance (if you like to walk) to the Plaka, Acropolis, and Syntagma).

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HoustonBaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The breakfast was excellent and the view (to the Akropolis) couldn't have been better. The same applies to the swimming pool at the roof. The hotel also offered first rate service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Etienne-de-Baigorry, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

After having stayed at a couple of 'cheap hotels' in Athens (between 50 and 60 euros per night) we wanted to stay at a so called '5 stars hotel'. We liked the location of the St George (Kolonaki) and having seen a billed offer of 95 euros per night we went for it expecting something more. Well, here's what we got:
- the room was ok in terms of size but the bathroom was average. Unfortunately the room was next to a working construction site which was noisy and dusty (drilling started at 7am in the morning, we kept the balcony door closed at all times)
- No free wifi (access starts at 20 euros)
- No parking for non-residents around this seclusive upscale area (unless you pay 25 euros/night to access the hotel parking)
- Breakfast starts at 20 euros per person
- No complimentary bottled of water in the room. The mini bar is super expensive (ie one cereal bar is priced 7 euros!!)
- the swimming pool, area on the top floor which was one of the amenities that attracted us in the first place, is very small and can only accommodate 4 couples on deck.
- Housekeeping came after 2pm during siesta time when we had returned from our morning city tours.

Out of the 5 stars rating for this hotel in the end you are left only with the costs and hiked charges incurred during your stay and no sense of satisfaction. We had a much better stay in 3 star hotels around the Acropolis with complimentary wifi, stunning city views and free breakfast. We will not be coming back to St George again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfugaz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Dear User elfugaz L

With great respect we read your comments about our hotel.
Our hotel is always happy to receive objective & constructive comments and feedback from our guests.
Regarding the size of the swimming pool please note that the area is big enough respectively to our hotel capacity.
The hotel offers free Wi-Fi internet access at its Public areas, but not the premium service of 24Mbps (download speed) which starts from 6 Euros charge. We also have many discount packages with respect to the Internet usage that offer many discounted options which are used in conjunction with the room rate and are available for booking over the Internet.
Your reservation was made with one of our lowest rates available, which can some times mislead the guest in terms of value but you must know that the charge for Breakfast and/or the Mini Bar reflects the service and the quality of our products.
Our hotel is distinguished among other local Hotels for its premium view to Acropolis and Athens even from inside the rooms which makes the stay unique in one of our superior rooms.
We would be glad to accommodate you once more in order to prove our hospitality and concern for the wellbeing of our guests.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I spent two nights at the Lycabettus paying both nights via bank wire transfer. I paid for a room with a full achropolis view but they tried to give me one with no view at all. What is worse is that despite I told them twice that the room was already paid for (I had receipt and everything) they still charged me one night. I tried to argue then and they treated me like I was this annoying paranoid guest who wouldn't trust that they were just running the credit card for a "preauthorization". When I realized that they did charge me, I had to call 4 times before they agreed to reimbourse me. The service is pretty bad. The hotel in fine but not worth 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Dear User Michele Z,

All our guests’ comments and feedback are welcome and gladly accepted in our continuous effort to improve and maximise the quality of our services.
The hotel wishes to apologize for this unfortunate incident that left you displeased with your experience here.
Regarding the preauthorization however please note that this a standard procedure for all our guests upon arrival.
The hotel will be happy to accommodate you again in order to show you our true standards of service & hospitality.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Pros: The staff was great. The view was awesome. The food was terrific. It's in a very safe neighborhood, so I felt comfy walking around at night

Cons: It's high on a hill, so it can be a very tiring walk. The double room is somewhat small.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor_Jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,835 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#50 of 326 in Athens
1,200 reviews
Royal Olympic Hotel
#61 of 326 in Athens
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 326 in Athens
1,419 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint George Lycabettus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George Lycabettus

Property: Saint George Lycabettus
Address: 2 Kleomenous, Athens 106 75, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Athens
#40 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Family Hotel in Athens
#61 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Saint George Lycabettus 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint George Lycabettus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Lycabettus Hotel Athens
Saint George Lycabettus Athens
Hotel Saint George Lycabettus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing