We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Contemporary Hotel. Beware the Construction.”
Review of Periscope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Periscope Hotel
Ranked #73 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Contemporary Hotel. Beware the Construction.”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My partner and I spent five nights at this lovely contemporary hotel. The design work was very well done and included wood floors, which I much prefer to the dirty carpet we find in most hotels. The bathroom was particulary attractive and had just been renovated in all white tile and modern fixtures. The ceilings of the rooms were high and everything was well-finished. The rooms were decent sized and we had an upgrade to a superior room. The problem is that all of the superior rooms face the front of the hotel, as that is the better view. Unfortunately, there is a building being built directly across the street and the construction noise is very loud from about 8 a.m to 2:30 pm. If you are sightseeing and up early, this will be of no consequence to you. If, however, you want to sleep in, ask for a room in the back of the hotel. The noise from the construction is not noticeable there, though the rooms are smaller and have no view.

We only had one problem with the outlets not working in one of the rooms and the staff immediately moved us to another room.

Breakfast came with our room and it was nice and in the hotel's restaurant that is attached to the hotel lobby. You can eat as much as you want and the food is decent.

The hotel is very well located. You can walk to the metro and there are many places to eat that are easily walkable from the hotel. If you stay at this hotel, you must visit Despina Bakery. I'm a big bakery fan and this bakery is one of the best I've been to. It's a five minute walk from the hotel and the bakery items are varied, fresh, and really delicious.

Regarding the hotel staff, I have to say that they were extremely friendly and accomodating. They made our stay a pleasure. I'd highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeinla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Periscope Hotel during your last visit in Athens, as well as your kind words. Receiving such kind comments as yours encourages us to offer our outmost and increase our efforts. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make Periscope Hotel a “home- away from- home” experience
Please accept our apologies for any disturbance caused by the construction site. We are, though, happy to inform you that the “noisy” part is finished by next week.
Once again thank you for choosing Periscope Hotel and we will be more than happy to see you again, on your next visit in Athens.

Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    127
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
178
35
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at this hote a second time this year. Great large rooms and they are tastefully done. The hotel is located in Kolonaki area which is surrounded by great cafes, restaurants shopping museums and walking distance to All th main sights - Plaka, Syndagma, Acropolis areas.
Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Will be back for a 3rd stay when back in Athens .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words on Periscope Hotel YES group. Such positive words of appreciation are the best reward to keep us motivated. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff.
It will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The location of this hotel is ideal, the staff on the reception are extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast is fabulous. The room was small but fine, with a rather dispiriting view of a dirty grey air-shaft.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive such kind reviews. Our aim is to make our guests’ stay an unforgettable experience and your appreciating comments encourage us to increase our efforts in offering the outmost to our valuable guests.
We look very forward to welcoming you to Periscope Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed for two nights before heading off to Crete. I appreciated the Periscope's location: peaceful retreat from the day's busyness in the Plaka and within walking distance after a late night meal. The breakfasts were divine. Try the hand made orange cake with olive oil, scrumptious. Eggs cooked to order and lots of local, organic ingredients. The staff were calm and informative, and were really helpful, particularly with setting up my Greek mobile :-). The room was very clean and comfortable. I left refreshed.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ballaguya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed at Periscope for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon trip to Greece. The hotel offered great decor in an excellent location. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the restaurant but the breakfast was very nice. The hotel room was very spacious and decorated in simple black and white lines. We thought the bed was amazing and was by far the best bed we slept in during our two week stay in Greece (Kephalonia, Athens, Santorini and Crete).....The hotel is an upmarket part of town with great restaurants and bars located round the corner. It is also in walking distance to the Metro, which we used to travel to the Acropolis and the old quarter. Excellent hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafaJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at the Periscope Hotel during a quick stop over in Athens on our way to the Greek islands for our honeymoon. The hotel was nice and clean. The bathroom was surprisingly large as well as the shower. We enjoyed the black out blinds which helped block out the sunlight since we had just arrived from the US and were adjusting to the time difference. The front staff were polite and food at the restaurant was okay. There was construction going on across the street which gets to be a little loud. But we felt the location in the city was good safety-wise which was most important to us because we were going to be walking a lot. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

I have been in this hotel for the last 5 years on a monthly basis and have been never been disappointed. First of all I have to mention the absolutely friendly and helpful staff, especially the people at the reception. Whenever you have problems, questions they are there to help. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated in modern straight way. Although the restaurant has changed the owner several times, nowadays it hosts one of the most popular restaurants in Athens. If you can afford stay in room 401,402,501 or 502. They are spacy and have a huge balcony.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Visquarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Guest,
It is always a great pleasure to have you at Periscope as our guest. Such positive reviews are very encouraging and motivate us to keep improving! We will be delighted to accommodate you again in the near future!

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
258 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#70 of 326 in Athens
2,038 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 326 in Athens
2,044 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periscope Hotel

Property: Periscope Hotel
Address: 22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn)
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#46 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Periscope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periscope is a minimal city hotel with an impressive urban architecture, located on a quiet street, minutes away from Kolonaki square. The hotel draws its name from its electric periscope, a fantastic way to visit Athens from a distance! In the Lounge Bar, guests can find a remote control for a periscope located on the roof of the hotel. With a 360 degree range, the periscope's views, which guests select, are shown real time on a big plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Periscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periscope Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing