We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little treasure in the city center”
Review of Periscope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Periscope Hotel
Ranked #72 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little treasure in the city center”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We visited Periscope Hotel after having read some of the reviews in TripAdvisor. The hotel is ideally located in Kolonaki, one of the most upscaled neighborhoods of the city, with very nice bars, restaurants and shops whithin 5min. walk from the hotel. Although in the city center the street where the hotel is located s very quite and only 5-7min walk from the metro station. The rooms were not very big but were functional and clean, with fully renovated bathrooms. Staff was very polite and updated, offering different proposals for restaurants and events around town.
Breakfast includes freshly squeezed orange juice as well as all hot items (eggs, bacon etc) cooked a la carte!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments on Periscope Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed both our hotel services and location as well as our staff's efficiency. Our aim is to meet and even exceed our valuable guests' expectations and such encouraging words keep as motivated. We will share your comments with the rest of our team and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    123
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
170
34
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Great location right by Lycabettuss for awesome views. Easy into town and good selection of local restaraunts. Safe neighbourhood.
Fab breakfast, great service too. As the hotel wasn't full was allowed to keep my room until 4pm foc. Modern style, small and friendly with cool rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind review as well as your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality as well as our services and location. On behalf of our staff and myself I would like to thank you for your kind comments and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The hotel is located right in kolonnaky area, the best in town. The hotel is pretty but very little. Personnel is very kind and professional. Breakfast is not really abodant but overall quite good. It seems that the restaurant is quite good, but unfortunately I've never see customers there

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review on Periscope Hotel. We always value our guests' opinion since we believe they are a great tool to be used towards improvement. We shall share your comments with the rest of our staff and we look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

A comfortable and clean hotel in the center of Athens. Very centrally located for shopping and siteseeing. Helpful and polite staff. Good breakfast. Modern rooms with many amenities ( bathrobe and slippers). Well stocked minibar. I particularly liked the wooden floors and the ceiling with the bird's eye view of part of the city.

Room Tip: For two people a superior room is recommended instead of a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_eu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that Periscope Hotel met your expectations regarding both service and location. We will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Kind regrds,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

After two weeks of "roughing it" in simple pensiones on Crete, I looked forward to a clean, modern room. I was welcomed warmly despite my 8AM arrival, given a lovely room with nice amenities and treated graciously by a helpful, positive and friendly staff. When my a/c malfunctioned, they quickly offered an extra room. When I wanted reservations at a local, non touristy restaurant, they ca
Led on my behalf. The location is an easy metro ride to the center city and the area hasan upscale buzz with much to eat and shop in the area. Oh, and after two weeks of scratchy towels and linens, I showered long and a
Slept hard!

Room Tip: Ask for a Rommel on the street side. Construction behind involves a dumpster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and we are glad that we passed on this to you during your stay. We will share your kind comments with the rest of our staff and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

only spent one night here, employees are very helpful, great recommendations on things to do and see. Room is quiet clean and brand new. Internet is strong and fast, cafe is great for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zo_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review. It is always a great pleasure to receive such kind comments for both our staff and accommodation. We are very happy to know that Periscope Hotel was up to your standards and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

They have a very clean hotel, friendly staff, nice service....

In our small room, it was very cold/cool, but the ventaliation was not great, we couldn't really sleep, it felt like there was no fresh air.

If you stay, try to get a room where a window can open too, that way you get fresh air.

Room Tip: take the penthouse probably worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Periscope Hotel during your last visit in Athens, as well as taking the time to share your review.
Please allow me to inform you, all of our rooms have individually controlled A/C units, so that our guests can adjust their room temperature according to their comfort.
With regards to the windows, we would like to mention that, except for the bathroom window, a key for the bedroom window is available for all rooms at the Front Desk. Please accept our apologies for not being informed on your check in.
Also, Periscope Hotel has recently installed a new ventilation system for all rooms to have adequate fresh air even when windows are closed (i.e. winter time). We would like to thank you for your comment on that matter and please rest assured that our Engineering department will take all necessary action to ameliorate its results.
Once again thank you for choosing Periscope Hotel and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#65 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
No photo provided
Foivos Hotel Athens
#229 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#53 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periscope Hotel

Property: Periscope Hotel
Address: 22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn)
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#43 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Periscope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periscope is a minimal city hotel with an impressive urban architecture, located on a quiet street, minutes away from Kolonaki square. The hotel draws its name from its electric periscope, a fantastic way to visit Athens from a distance! In the Lounge Bar, guests can find a remote control for a periscope located on the roof of the hotel. With a 360 degree range, the periscope's views, which guests select, are shown real time on a big plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Periscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periscope Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing