We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Periscope”
Review of Periscope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Periscope Hotel
Ranked #70 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Periscope”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We took the Penthouse and were delightfully surprised . The view from the top floor is simply amazing , overlooking the Acropolis and with own jacuzzi , with timber decking . The apartment is very spacious with great amenities , including a great hair dryer . The staff were extremely helpful and courteous and kept our excess bags while we went Island hopping for 10 days , Nothing was too much trouble . Breakfast was lovely with freshly squeezed orange juice . Definitely would recommend this hotel to friends .

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    127
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
177
35
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We took the Penthouse and were delightfully surprised . The view from the top floor is simply amazing , overlooking the Acropolis and with own jacuzzi , with timber decking . The apartment is very spacious with great amenities , including a great hair dryer . The staff were extremely helpful and courteous and kept our excess bags while we went Island hopping for 10 days , Nothing was too much trouble . Breakfast was lovely with freshly squeezed orange juice . Definitely would recommend this hotel to friends .

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at the Periscope as our first stop in Athens. It is a great hotel for that first nap after the long flight because it has automatic metal roll-down window shades that make the room pitch black even in the middle of the day. The street is narrow and quiet. The location is safe and within walking distance of most everything you would want to see. The staff is very helpful and speaks excellent English.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRTomw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELLICOTT CITY
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The staff at Periscope could not be any nicer. The location was great - we walked just about everywhere and the one time we decided to take the subway it was only a short walk away. Breakfast was good but I must agree with another reviewer on everything seemingly counted...the amount of (sliced) fruit left me wanting more. I did feel a little cramped throughout our original four night stay. The fact that there is no real lobby or sitting area other than the restaurant added to that. When we came back to Athens for our final night's stay our request for a larger room was met and it made a huge difference in the ambience. Go for the larger room and you'll have an enjoyable stay...next time we'll know.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DiFaSuMaHaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Overall, the Periscope hotel is a great place for staying in a very nice neighbourhood in Athens. At the same time, it might be slightly overpriced, in particular in view of the room size.

To be more precise:

Pros:
- situated in Kolonaki which is a very nice quarter in Athens; great restaurants and wine bars just around the corner (as well as an open air cinema!);
- very friendly concierge;
- room has a very good lightening/blind/shade system;
- bed is very comfortable

Cons:
- room is very small for the price; the bathroom on the other hand is quite big; maybe, a smaller bathroom in favour of a bigger room overall would have been better?
- breakfast was a bit odd insofar as that items on the buffet were practically counted by hand - there were always only five pieces of cheese, etc. on offer

Overall, however, the experience was a nice one and I can recommend staying in the Periscope hotel.

Room Tip: The bigger, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

After reading the reviews, we chose to stay at Periscope for 2 nights.

I was hesitant in booking a small boutique hotel, worried it may lack facilities for us, as we travelled with a 4 month old baby.
The hotel exceeded our expectations in all areas!
The service was exceptional, rooms were clean/modern (with mod cons), great value for money, inclusion of simple but tasty breakfast and we were even pleasantly surprised at a "turndown" service which we found a Valrohna chocolate on our pillows. Free WIFI was also a plus!
The staff we encountered were always friendly and willing to go out of their way to help.
The area, the hotel is located in is a real modern funky area with lots of local shops, Deli's and cool restaurants. There was also a mini market within 2 min walk away.

A trip to the Acropolis - we just caught the train from Evangelismos station (a short 3 min walk from hotel ) and it was just 2 stops. Easy. (Even with a 4 month old baby in tow!)

We would definately return if/when next in Athens in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyGlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My family of four stayed at the Periscope and found it to be very clean, modern and quiet. The staff were extremely helpful and the location was fabulous for restaurants, shopping and seeing the famous sights.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
#12 of 326 in Athens
247 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#68 of 326 in Athens
2,009 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 326 in Athens
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 326 in Athens
2,016 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periscope Hotel

Property: Periscope Hotel
Address: 22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn)
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#45 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Periscope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periscope is a minimal city hotel with an impressive urban architecture, located on a quiet street, minutes away from Kolonaki square. The hotel draws its name from its electric periscope, a fantastic way to visit Athens from a distance! In the Lounge Bar, guests can find a remote control for a periscope located on the roof of the hotel. With a 360 degree range, the periscope's views, which guests select, are shown real time on a big plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Periscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periscope Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing