We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Periscope is OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Periscope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Periscope Hotel
Ranked #73 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Periscope is OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

Periscope is in a great area: cafes, museums, shopping galore! Breakfast every morning is tasty! Most attractions are a good walk; for me, that's what I like. Take sidestreets and explore Athens on your way to wherever you're going!! Downside is the shower floods the bathroom (we found that at the Santorini hotel as well), it seems overpriced, especially with the dollar so weak.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank idahoflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    121
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
166
34
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

let me start with the good points... clean rooms, lovely Korres toiletries, minimalistic, free dvd rental, UNBEATABLE location.

bad points... tiny room considering we had been upgraded to a superior room (dont even want to think what the size of a standard room is like), very basic common areas.

ask for a room facing Haritos str, the rooms that overlook the back are very dark, and also ask for a room on a high floor as it can get quite noisy on the street below...

breakfast was included in the price and can be enjoyed in your room which was a very nice touch!

would i stay here again? probably but only because of its top location and reasonable prices! this is a basic modern hotel, if you are looking for luxury, stay at the Grande Bretagne.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aaaNicosia_Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2008

This is a contemporary, minimalist boutique hotel. The decor is elegant but rather monochromatic, nice use of black and white photographs on ceiling of rooms and elsewhere. The front desk staff are excellent, and the hotel is well located in a upmarket part of Athens. Rooms are well designed with one significant exception: the slope of the shower floor is inadequate for drainage and the bathrooms tend to flood (we tried 3 rooms and they all had various degrees of this problem). Other reviewers have commented on this issue, which is an annoying defect in such a sophisticated and expensive hotel. Recommended.

  • Liked — Sophisticated, well-located
  • Disliked — Shower flooding
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Architectmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Penthouse Suite of Periscope Hotel for the first two nights of our honeymoon. We really enjoyed our stay there. I can't speak for the rest of the rooms/suites because I didn't see them, but the Penthouse Suite is pretty amazing. The interior of the suite is spacious, modern, and comfortable - you can get a good feel for what the room is like in the pictures I've posted here, or in the pictures on Periscope Hotel's website. There is one thing though that you might not be able to see in the pictures: the room has a couple of unusual technological aspects that my husband and I got a kick out of . There is an LCD TV on a motorized track, so with the push of a button it can be moved up or down, left or right. This is useful if you want to watch TV from different parts of the (long) room, like from the bed at one end of the room or from the wraparound couch at the other. There are also motorized wooden shutters on the outside of the three balcony doors, and the motorized shades on the inside - the shutters/shades combo did a good job at keeping light out in the early morning, plus it was nice to be able to control them from bed.

The balcony is also pretty cool - it runs the length of the suite and has a lot of seating (two tables, four chairs, four stools). The view from the balcony isn't anything to write home about (just neighboring buildings) but the balcony itself is still very nice. The best part of the suite is probably the rooftop hot tub - it is accessed by a flight of stairs at one end of the balcony, and up on the roof is a private hot tub with two chaise lounges. The view from up there is better than the view from the balcony - you can see all the way to the Acropolis. This was especially cool at night due to the lights at the Acropolis.

I'm not sure if this is because we were on our honeymoon or if it's standard procedure, but when we first arrived in our room, there was a bottle of wine, platter of fruit, and two packages of chocolate-covered sunflower seeds. There is also a mini bar in the room which has a varied selecion of drinks/snacks but is just as expensive as you'd expect from a mini bar. We splurged on mini-bar items on the first day... until my husband found a small market right by the hotel where we could get the exact same items for a fraction of the price. :)

We didn't spend much time in the public areas of the hotel, other than when we checked in/out and when we waited for a taxi. The lobby/bar area seemed nice, although a little smoky. The hotel staff that we interacted with were great - we received excellent service and the front desk staff was good about giving restaurant recommendations, etc. Something I thought was noteable: on our first day we arrived from the airport about an hour prior to the offical check-in time, and when we walked into the hotel we were welcomed and told to have a seat while our room was prepared for us. We sat for a few minutes before I realized that we hadn't given them our name, so how could they know which room we were staying in? My husband got up to clarify the situation, and the man at the front desk addressed him by name before my husband even got a word out! When I booked the room I had provided the hotel with the time our flight was to arrive - we assume that's how they figured out who we were without us having to say a word. Just some of the charms of staying in a small hotel. :)

The hotel is also in a great area. It's a short, safe walk to the restaurants and shops of Kolonaki Square. Both nights that we were there we walked to Kolonaki Square and ate dinner in outdoor cafes. They were simple but had really good food (with a side of people-watching). The hotel is also a short cab ride to the Acropolis and La Plaka, which were the highlights of our two days in Athens.

All in all, our two days spent at Periscope Hotel were a nearly perfect kick-off to our nearly perfect honeymoon! The penthouse suite was a splurge for us, but we felt it was worth it... on our honeymoon. When we go back in a few years we may check out one of the less expensive rooms. :)

  • Liked — The private rooftop hot tub
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chief22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2008

Everything about Periscope is 'OK' - neat, clean, equipped - and yet disappointing. There is no wow factor and some design points miss the mark. The compact rooms are a bit halls of residence-y with amateur photos on the walls. The periscope gimmick, a source of entertainment for a few minutes, does not compare with a rooftop bar, pool or restaurant that you would find in a similarly priced hotel in Athens. The staff wear sloppy pale blue t-shirts that remind me of the cleaners in my building at home - the cleaners, however, wear fetching stripy overalls. Points should be given for the free DVDs that can be borrowed from reception and the aerial photo of Athens on the room ceiling. extra point for location, Kolonaki is heaven of bars, restaurants and of course shopping. Overall, a decent hotel, but you can do better for the same price.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — better hotels nearby that offer nmore for same price
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I-AM-ON-HOLIDAYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#66 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
No photo provided
Foivos Hotel Athens
#227 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#53 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periscope Hotel

Property: Periscope Hotel
Address: 22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn)
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#45 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Periscope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periscope is a minimal city hotel with an impressive urban architecture, located on a quiet street, minutes away from Kolonaki square. The hotel draws its name from its electric periscope, a fantastic way to visit Athens from a distance! In the Lounge Bar, guests can find a remote control for a periscope located on the roof of the hotel. With a 360 degree range, the periscope's views, which guests select, are shown real time on a big plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Periscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periscope Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing