We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not 5*”
Review of Periscope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Periscope Hotel
Ranked #66 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights. We had a terrible job finding the hotel as it's tucked away in a side street. It was only with the help of Google maps that we actually reached it and we regularly got lost returning in the evenings. There are a lot of nice restaurants nearby and we felt quite safe wandering around after dark.
The room was of a good size for a city hotel with a large comfortable bed and a sizeable bathroom with a good shower and thick towels. The staff were helpful and pleasant. However the handle on the bathroom door was loose, and only attached to the door at the top and the wash basin had a thin crack in it. There wasn't a lot the hotel could do about this during our stay so we didn't bother to complain. However it wasn't something I would expect in a hotel of this calibre.
We were on a bed & breakfast basis and in other hotels we've stayed in, the continental breakfasts have been plentiful but all that was on offer at the self serve bar were 3 mini croissants, 3 mini pain au chocolate and three pieces of cheese, meat, salmon in addition to the usual youghurt and cereals. Eggs were also available. The food was regularly replenished but only 3 of each item were put out at a time so we didn't ever get a satisfactory breakfast. This isn't something I would expect in a hotel rated as 5*. We enjoyed our stay
but I think that it was overpriced for what we actually got for our money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Periscope Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a trip to Athens. I traveled by train from the airport (40 minutes) and It was a little difficult to find in the dark but I got there in the end. The hotel is a very small boutique hotel. The rooms are small but very functional. Good wifi connectivity throughout. Well sound proofed and is maintained to a very high standard. Breakfast is quite a small range but extremely good quality. The hot food cooked to order was delicious.

I had lunch here once and wasn't that impressed. They advertise a Michelin chef, the person who served me was the same as who cooked breakfast. I found the lunch portion to take too long to cook, it came undercooked(!), the portion was small and not particularly tasty. This is why I've rated the hotel as 4 stars instead of 5.

It's a 10-15 minute walk to the main shopping area and within a 5 minute walk is one of the tourist bus stops. I found it very easy to get around by foot.

I'd be quite happy to stay here again. The staff were all so friendly and accommodating and really made my stay very pleasurable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank po2tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Unfortunately, we only stayed one night at the hotel as it was excellent, we booked the penthouse suite which was brilliant, spacious, modern interior and great bubble bath with view at the rooftop. The staff is very helpfull and friendly, the rooms clean and breakfast was great. All in all a great place to stay and good value for money. It might not be in the top A location and doesn't have the view at the Akropolis but the hotel surely compensates for that and with the metro around the corner you can get to the Acropolis in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjalling L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A very nice boutique hotel in the heart of athens. Cozy, clear, very well designed and in the centre of everything. Kolonaki is one of the most expensive areas in athens and has everything just two steps from the hotel. Starbucks is around the corner, very nice italian restaurants and all the shops you want to visit. The rooms are great and the staff is friendly too. I highly recomend you staying here. You dont even need a car to move!!

Room Tip: Try the restaurant of the hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nef_papadakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The General Manager Mr.Theodore Katis is welcoming, warm and friendly guy. The receptionist Ms.Nelly is such a smiley woman, very helpful instant to your questions and ready to assist you. And breakfast is delicious. They have everything from omlette to fresh orange juice nothing as extra paid. P.Box is probably one of the best i have been in Athens. Strongly recommended. Prices are reasonable for that luxurius boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerattheSeyyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel was the very best.
Rooms spotless, friendly staff, great breakfasts and great location.
It was in a good neighborhood .

It was within easy walking distance to museums.
Also within walking distance to syntagma square.
Walking distance to shops and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed 3 nights at Periscope. The hotel's unique scent is noticed as one is walking towards the building - clean and fresh! Our room was extremely comfortable for a small hotel. The neighbourhood has plenty of restaurants to try and Kolonaki is only a short walk away. The staff is extremely attentive and wiling to assist. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavl_Ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
#7 of 282 in Athens
277 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#65 of 282 in Athens
2,110 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 282 in Athens
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,092 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periscope Hotel

Address: 22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#43 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £115 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Periscope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periscope is a minimal city hotel with an impressive urban architecture, located on a quiet street, minutes away from Kolonaki square. The hotel draws its name from its electric periscope, a fantastic way to visit Athens from a distance! In the Lounge Bar, guests can find a remote control for a periscope located on the roof of the hotel. With a 360 degree range, the periscope's views, which guests select, are shown real time on a big plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Periscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periscope Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing