We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poached eggs, location”
Review of Periscope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Periscope Hotel
Ranked #55 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

As many others have written, the location is very nice for wandering around Kolonaki by foot but also quick if meeting people other places in central Athens.

The room was comfortable and decor pleasant, as expected.

As of December 2013, some construction happening in building directly across street (which I would guess will continue for some months) but at least when I was there the noise wasn't too bad.

Two things about the breakfast were memorable: very nice smoked salmon, and probably about the best poached eggs I have ever had.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chettari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

We've been coming here for several years. Mostly on short stops on the way to & from Mykonos. Sometimes staying up to a week visiting Athens during winter. What I notice is that the hotel is super well maintained and cleaned. The last time I was there, they had renovated the bathrooms even though they seemed fine to me b4 the renovation, but I guess the management are perfectionists and that is a great thing. The Periscope staff really deliver Boutique Service. The receptionist was so kind last time I was there. He spent a good 45 Minutes of his time trying to find the cheapest flight booking for me on the net. There were these greek websites and I needed help with the translation. Also, I wanted to buy Opera CD's and needed a specialized store, which he recommended. It was the "Metropolis"store from the hotel and it really was a highly specialized store. I ended up finding 40 top quality Opera CD's, which were on sale (See Photo). Last but not least, the included breakfast here is fabulous. It features an artisanal Smoked Salmon ... which I'm craving right now, as well as olive & tomato cakes ( a savory version of breakfast muffins).

Room Tip: The upper level rooms would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uberfluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed for a weekend at Periscope. Breakfast is really nice (choice of eggs, bread, fresh orange juice,etc...) the room itself is nothing special. it is clean, quite large (we had a superior room) but shows a bit its age (the bathroom door didn't close anymore) we stayed on the second floor and it is definitely worth asking to say on the higher floors as the room is quite dark. Staff is polite and helpful.
Definitely a good place to stay if you want to enjoy Kolonaki and its endless choice of bars, restaurants and cafés.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misstidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel had an excellent small breakfast--the staff will cook you eggs and bacon, so just ask!
We had the jacuzzi suite on top, and (while expensive) it was amazing! We had views of all Athens, including the Parthenon at a distance.
The rooms were very luxurious with a moveable television and blinds, a huge bathroom with a nice shower, and a big ole comfy bed!
A pleasant perk was their agreement with a local gym, that was excellently outfitted and included an interior 20m pool.
The location was very convenient--both for getting around town and out to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Periscope Hotel in Kolonaki was a wonderful experience! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The daily breakfast was superb, as was the staff (thanks Katarina) in the restaurant! My only wish is that the menus for lunch and dinner would be improved, as I would have loved to dine there for these meals as well. However, given the limited menu, the restaurant is unfortunately empty except at breakfast. Cleaning staff did a fantastic job. One other minor thing to note, the electronics in the room need updating or at least to have all the remotes in working order with fresh batteries. Overall, fantastic experience and I would return in a second if ever back in Athens!

Room Tip: The breakfast is excellent, so if you can get a good rate including breakfast, then make sure to boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a small, good value, hip hotel in a gorgeous area. It was clean, with nice linen, great shower pressure and a great breakfast. What we liked the most though were the friendly staff. The concierge could not have been more welcoming and sorted us out a fantastic day poolside at a sister hotel. Really recommend Kolonaki as a base to explore the city. Surrounded by cool neighbourhood bars and restaurants, the guard changing at the parliament and Ermou shopping street is just 5 mins away, and the Acropolis an easy walk.

Room Tip: ones at the back of the hotel are probably a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate-Adie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Periscope is hidden in a small one way alley easily overlook. There are car parked illegally along the alley resulting any car other than smart car will have to drive over the banks of the road onto the pedestrian path so be careful if you are driving there especially on weekdays. If going by cab, please make sure you have the street name right as my taxi driver cannot locate the hotel via the hotel name using his GPS.

Front Office staffs are helpful and friendly but not so for some of the restaurant staffs. I guess she was working very long hours as she got furious when we help ourselves in getting plates when we fed up waiting for her as she was clearing other unseated tables or maybe she was racist, hopefully not.

Room and bathrooms are tiny but is functional. Just functional do not expect more.

It was noisy during our stay because of the construction in progress opposite the hotel. I was surprised that the hotel did not warn us about this.

No swimming pool and fitness center in the hotel.

Pros:
1) Walking distance to Mt. Lycabettus and many good restaurants, bars, delis, fruits stalls and groceries stores.

2) Very good quality breakfast although the selection is small. Nice coffee and i cannot get enough of their sashimi grade smoked salmon.

3) Nice and clean bed with nice mattress and free wifi. You will consider this real luxuries when you cannot get complimentary drinking water in room..

Cons:
1) No water boiler for making coffee or tea. No complimentary bottled water, not even one. The one in the mini fridge is selling at 2 euro each which i can get for 50 cents at downstairs kioks. Paid almost 300 euros for the room per night and they still have to do this trick.


2)There is only stairs to the entrance. Try to travel light to this hotel or get the taxi driver to carry it in for you.

3) Curtains is not user-friendly. It is electronic and unpredictable. We closed it once and can never open it again..Unnecessary headache due to poor maintenance. We just glad it was closed rather than opened during our 3 nights of stay.

4) Bathroom is very small. Toilet is just next to the door and our door cannot be fully closed. Embarrassing to use when you have sick stomach.

5) Bathroom is not really cleaned. Dead mosquito smashed by someone/something onto the wall with its blood staining the wall tiles. The toiletries were opened and almost emptyl, which i think were used by the previous guest. Nasty.

Overall, i would not recommend this to people looking for quality accommodation. Pay a few bucks more and stay near Sytagma Square which you will get much more in return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YiYi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
#7 of 282 in Athens
304 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
St George Lycabettus Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 282 in Athens
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periscope Hotel

Address: 22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#34 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £112 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Periscope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periscope is the YES! Hotels antidote to the ordinary city hotel. Modern minimalism and award-winning architectural design create a Young, Energetic and Seductive urban haven, right at the heart of Kolonaki, the oldest and most exclusive neighborhood in Athens. The original mundane building, dating from the 1950s, is now a tribute to clean lines and uncluttered spaces, balancing ergonomic solutions with urban aesthetics. Form, color, and texture create a feeling of order and tranquility. A modern ‘home’ for the long weekend or for the short break, Periscope is a firm favorite among business and leisure travelers. Situated in the coveted Haritos Street, number 22, Periscope is just a 10 minutes’ walk from Syntagma square and a 5 minutes’ walk from Evangelismos Metro station. It is also a 30 minutes’ car drive both from Athens International Airport and the port of Piraeus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Periscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periscope Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing