We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel in Kolonaki”
Review of Periscope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Periscope Hotel
Ranked #62 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our tour agent, TrueGreece, booked this hotel for our last night in Athens when our previous hotel in Syntagma Square was unavailable. They know what they're doing. The hotel struck us as an small, upscale business hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was nice but certainly not the best of the 4 hotels we stayed at on our trip. Staff seemed to be mostly absent, but we were only there night, with an early departure. The location near Lycabettus Hill and "locals" restaurants was perfect. We would have missed out on a spectacular sunset view of Athens had we stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 505SheilaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

A lot of reviews already, I just really wanted to add that it is in an amazing location. It is within walking distance of Lycabettus Hill (which you should either walk up or take the cable car, beautiful view from it and you can sit in a cafe) within one of the most in neighbourhoods of Athens, just one metro stop away from Syntagma Square. A lot of small cafes and restaurants about, some museums.

The penthouse suite also has a rooftop jacuzzi from which you can see a lot of the city so there is that, too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely boutique hotel in great location. Short walk to the cable-car for sunset views and within easy reach of all the major attractions. The penthouse suite is well worth the upgrade - huge room with private jacuzzi and roof terrace.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RC1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were greeted at the front desk by Panos, and he set the tone for a wonderful stay. Each of his suggestions, whether for a restaurant or attraction, was thoughtful and great. Trust him--he knows his town! We loved the location, and for someone visiting Athens, I couldn't think of a better place. The area is "neighborhoody," it just happens to be a very nice neighborhood with good shops and restaurants, and it's central to virtually everything. The room was spacious enough, and while not exactly "warm" from a decor perspective, it was clean and exactly what was promised--no surprises, so no complaint. If you like modern and minimalist, you won't be disappointed. It's also nice the way the restaurant opens up to the street. And on top of that, it was a great value. We'd definitely stay there again, and we hope to.

Room Tip: The street is narrow, so if you have a street-facing room, just know you'll be looking out onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDB_NYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Small hotel at superb location in Athens. Room service somewhat amateur, but lovely. No parking, if you come with car. Restaurant: Standard menu, slow service, everything needs reminding and care. Intendedly industrial, modern design.

Room Tip: Take a roof suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great small Hotel in the middle of Athens but without the noise of the shopping sector area. The Hotel is in a great neiborhood with great small restaurants and boutiques, but only 10 minutes walk to Sintagmatcs square and 15 to the buzzing area of town. Staff very friendly and helpfull make the Periscope a great choice in Athens.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank serulea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you like a well designed room, good service, friendly sttaff and a excellent breakfast , you should choose the Periscope. Kolonaki is a very nice neighbourhood too. We enjoyed dinner nearby. Our rate was a special last-minute rate, you could not beat it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHFAMZh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
#7 of 282 in Athens
304 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
St George Lycabettus Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 282 in Athens
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periscope Hotel

Address: 22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#39 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £111 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Periscope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periscope is the YES! Hotels antidote to the ordinary city hotel. Modern minimalism and award-winning architectural design create a Young, Energetic and Seductive urban haven, right at the heart of Kolonaki, the oldest and most exclusive neighborhood in Athens. The original mundane building, dating from the 1950s, is now a tribute to clean lines and uncluttered spaces, balancing ergonomic solutions with urban aesthetics. Form, color, and texture create a feeling of order and tranquility. A modern ‘home’ for the long weekend or for the short break, Periscope is a firm favorite among business and leisure travelers. Situated in the coveted Haritos Street, number 22, Periscope is just a 10 minutes’ walk from Syntagma square and a 5 minutes’ walk from Evangelismos Metro station. It is also a 30 minutes’ car drive both from Athens International Airport and the port of Piraeus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Periscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periscope Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing