We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughtful, pleasant and clean!”
Review of Periscope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Periscope Hotel
Ranked #55 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We started our honeymoon trip in Athens and were so glad to have come across the Periscope Hotel in the upscale neighbourhood of Kolonaki. A mere 10-minute walk to the metro station (Evangelismos) and about a 20min walk to the bustling Syntagma Square, this hotel is located very strategically but also provides the peace and quiet you need to unwind after a tiring day out exploring Athens. There are plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants nearby, and the Lycabettus Hill is just up the road for a breath-taking view of the whole of Athens!
We were also very impressed with the service provided by all the staff at the hotel. The guys at reception were ever helpful and gave useful tips and advice about our travels. When they heard we had to check out at 6am to catch our ferry, they arranged for breakfast boxes for us to take along since we were going to miss our complimentary breakfast!

The room we stayed in was very clean with a very comfortable king sized bed and soft pillows! Bathroom was also quite spacious!

We cant seem to fault this place really. Considering the service, modern rooms, decent breakfast and location, the room rates are actually very reasonable. Highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rswizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Delightful personel and very nice hotel. Location is not ideal if interested in walking to Plaka, but the hotel is really nice. The air conditioning is superb and the room was very large with supberb bathroom. Breakfast was excellent (and included).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VBATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Periscope hotel for two nights during our honeymoon trip to Greece. We had a nice size room, with a king bed that faced the street. The hotel is centrally located to museums and restaurants and the night life. The free breakfast was very nice - buffet style side dishes and made to order egg entree's. The staff was very friendly and made us feel truly comfortable during our stay. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I was really surprised to find this gem among all the Athens hotels on Expedia as I didn't know about it at all and I come from Athens originally. I was looking to stay close to Syntagma Square and that's how I found it. It is really close too (10-15min walk). I was impressed by the photos on Expedia as they didn't look anything like a 2 star hotel (more like 4-star actually!) and by the fact they have Tempur mattresses (like I have at home! They actually use Tempur mattress toppers but they were still lovely and I've never had them in any hotel anywhere in Europe before!) and when I got there it still felt like a 4-star hotel even though it's hidden in a residential area on a quiet little street. Black marble everywhere, fully air-conditioned (so welcome as we had 38 degrees that week!), and there was this lovely fresh peppery smell everywhere. Fantastic minimalistic design and colours (dark / light grey), en-suite shower with bathrobes, flip-flops and toiletries, a hair-dryer and a safe. The only thing missing really which is probably why it's classed as a 2- rather than a 3-star hotel is a kettle. Opposite the hotel is an unfinished block of flats which made us worry a bit about building work and noise but we didn't hear a sound from there throughout the 8 days we stayed. On our 1st morning however there was a lot of drilling on the street as the Telecom was putting some cables in. My partner flipped and was screaming to the reception staff about the noise, but they handled it perfectly. They moved us to a room at the back of the hotel which was really quiet and there was no more drilling after all!

Room Tip: The hotel is hidden in a residential area of Kolonaki on a quiet little street, so even the rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Well-located, modern boutique hotel in Kolonaki. I was able to easily walk downtown for dinners and to the Acropolis and other museums for sightseeing. Nice modern rooms are a good value. The bathrooms could use a refresh (dingy tile in my room), but other than that modern decor and furnishings. (Also a bit of form over functionality in the rooms given that you cannot blow dry your hair and look in a mirror at the same time given outlet placement.) Pretty good included breakfast. Supposedly there is room service and a hotel restaurant, but given how small the hotel is I think best to go out and explore. Staff are friendly enough, but not particularly knowledgeable in order to advise guests on restaurants. You should do your own research.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaJT_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very nice staff and comfortable room. Located in a nice neighborhood and convenient to get around from hotel. Nice touch are the panoramic city wallpaper prints that remind you how sprawling the city is. Bonus.....Amazing water pressure in shower!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dp750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Good boutique hotel in a quite part of Kolonaki. Rooms are well appointed, although the operating of the shower is a little too futuristic to our liking - managed to operate, and eventually have a shower with the right balance of water and heat. Not sure why you just don't keep things simple and easy to use.

The panaromic view of Athens on the ceiling of rooms, is not boutique, looks outdated and really bad design error - not stylish. Leaving a simple coat of white paint would have made the room feel bigger and greater sense of height.

The reception staff were very helpful and attentive to all matters. The breakfast included in room price however needs a massive improvement, light on with servings and variety. This is Athens, food should be spilling over the edges, so much so that your eyes light up.

Room Tip: Make sure you room faces the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaashh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
#7 of 282 in Athens
304 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
St George Lycabettus Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 282 in Athens
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periscope Hotel

Address: 22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#34 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £112 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Periscope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periscope is the YES! Hotels antidote to the ordinary city hotel. Modern minimalism and award-winning architectural design create a Young, Energetic and Seductive urban haven, right at the heart of Kolonaki, the oldest and most exclusive neighborhood in Athens. The original mundane building, dating from the 1950s, is now a tribute to clean lines and uncluttered spaces, balancing ergonomic solutions with urban aesthetics. Form, color, and texture create a feeling of order and tranquility. A modern ‘home’ for the long weekend or for the short break, Periscope is a firm favorite among business and leisure travelers. Situated in the coveted Haritos Street, number 22, Periscope is just a 10 minutes’ walk from Syntagma square and a 5 minutes’ walk from Evangelismos Metro station. It is also a 30 minutes’ car drive both from Athens International Airport and the port of Piraeus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Periscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periscope Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing