We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, excellent location.”
Review of Periscope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Periscope Hotel
Ranked #62 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Stayed at the Periscope one night mid-September and one night early October on our way to and from the Greek islands. The hotel is located in Kolonaki and is conveniently situated within walking distance to almost anywhere you would want to go in Athens. However, the hotel itself appears to be (temporarily) in the middle of a construction zone including across the street and on both sides. The lounge/restaurant has been apparently temporarily closed for some time and breakfast is served in what appears to be a meeting room in the basement. Basement or not the breakfast was delicious and plentiful.The lounge / restaurant did appear to be getting closer to being ready to open on our second visit though. The rooms were quite satisfactory and very clean, though as other reviews have alluded to the shower is not really separated at floor level from the rest of the bathroom, and if you are not very careful you may "flood' out the rest of the bathroom. The staff was great with one exception, though he may have simply been having a bad afternoon. They provided very good recommendations for restaurants and directions, especially to the cable car to the top of Mt Lycaebettus. (sp?) All in all good value, no complaints, great neighbourhood character.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottawa0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Periscope Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed at Periscope after a trip to Mykonos and Santorini so that we could see the Acropolis. When we arrived, they hotel did not have our reservations in their system, even though we had a confirmation thru tablet hotels. Luckily they had a room that night and would straighten it out by morning. Unfortunately, the room they gave us was a very small standard room that had no windows, just some kind of view of the brick elevator shaft (or something like that). They admitted that they never give that room to customers, but they had no choice in this case since they did not have our reservation and did not have standard rooms open. The room was clean, very modern, nice bathroom, but had a funny smell - a sweet/incense type of smell. We tried to figure out if they were pumping in this 'perfume' thru the air vents. We could not locate the source. Finally we found some candles that the hotel had put out that were 1/2 used and had this sickeningly sweet smell. We were very unhappy and started to search on the internet for another place to stay. (To transfer the next day, not that night). Oh, forgot to mention that the bar/restaurant in the lobby is under construction and so they were serving the complimentary breakfast on the floor below the lobby. (I never went down there so I have no idea what that was like.)
When we told the hotel desk clerk that we were planning on moving the next day, she FINALLY mentioned to us that even though standard rooms were not available, that they did in fact have junior suites available for an extra 50 euros a night. Well, why was that not mentioned in the first place! The junior suite was perfect. It had a living room/sitting area, a very large balcony. It was modern/sleek, and had a great bathroom. To me, it seemed like an enormous difference for just 50 euros more a night. So, in the end, I do think the Periscope is an excellent hotel if you get the Junior suite (or perhaps a 'normal' standard room?). It is located in the Kolonaki section, which has lots of shopping and cafes. Very easy to get to the Acropolis by subway, or walking. (We did both).

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent~ nothing else I can describe this hotel. We didn't try the rooftop bar, but everything else was just excellent. Small but modern, we love it! A lovely change from all the European old fashion hotel! Friendly and knowledgeable staff! Will stay with them again!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenHuntingtonBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Such a modern, smart hotel, which is a brilliant change from all the tired hotels in Europe. Kolonaki is a great area, little places to eat at the end of the street if you're exhausted or a base for exploring further afield. The lovliest, most helpful staff we encountered in 5 weeks and the best included breakfast. Fruit! Real fruit! Not just pastry! Lovely design features that make you feel thought of and a comfy bed with nice linen. The hotel also has the all important somewhere to sit (and read, check your email, whatever), so you can return from a tough day and not be confined to sitting on your bed. Excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melwiese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Our family of six spent four nights at the Periscope during the first part of our trip and returned there for our final night in Greece. Our satisfaction with this hotel might be best explained by saying how wonderful it was to return to the Periscope before coming home.

The people working there are marvelous and truly made our stay more pleasant because of their warmth and hospitality.

The Periscope's location is quiet and somewhat off the beaten path, yet within walking distance of Syntagma Square, the Plaka ... and even within a manageable hiking distance to the Acropolis. For those wanting less foot travel, a metro station and bus stops are within 800 meters. Shops and tavernas are nearby.

The rooms are immaculate, quiet and comfortably furnished.

The lounge near the lobby turned out to be a nice place for our family to hang out. We chatted, snacked and enjoyed frappe's at our leisure. The available breakfast included breads, meat, fruit, eggs, cheese, olives, juice and coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dacamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

This was our first and last stop on our honeymoon. We stayed here the first night before we headed to the islands and the last night back from the islands. The hotel is on Charitos Street which is really "Haritos" on the map, just an FYI. It's small but very modern. There are tons of shops and restaurants nearby, although we didn't really shop during our stay.

Everyone was very nice and helpful, especially the manager and the young man with glasses who gave us suggestions on where to go on the islands. Personally, I don't think we even needed to stay in Athens for two days. Next time, we will probably just go straight to the islands since we saw what we wanted to see. It took us about 20 minutes to walk to the Acropolis. You can also take the metro, which by the way, is VERY clean and nice! Nothing at all like the dirty, smelly, hot and rat infested NY subway.

We stayed in the Penthouse suite which is awesome! We were supposed to stay in a different hotel our last night but we liked this hotel so much we canceled the other hotel and booked Periscope. It's not as big as I would have liked it to be but the rooftop jacuzzi area made up for this. It's very cozy and modern. The complimentary breakfast isn't bad. It's buffet style and they offer bread, croissants, meats, cheeses, yogurt, coffee and juice. As a nice honeymoon surprise, they had a bottle of wine and fruit waiting for us. All of the hotels we stayed in did this for us, which was awesome. Our Amex travel agent really did a wonderful job hooking this up for us.

The only complaint I have is about the shower. Others have mentioned this as well but there's nothing separating the shower from the toilet so water gets everywhere. We had to put a towel on the floor to keep the water from leaking out. There's a huge wall size mirror as you walk out of the bathroom and I ran into it every single night, so be careful.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank bbglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We stayed here on the beginning of our 3 week vacation, and we loved every minute of it.
The location of this hotel is AMAZING you are right in the posh area of Athens and so close to many sites and great shopping. The three days we spent in Athens was much to short, we wished we could have stayed longer.
The hotel is clean, and simple, not overdone which is nice.
The breakfast was delicious
The staff was FANTASTIC, the gentlemen who first greeted us was fantastic and he was there everyday and I wish I had his name to give him a shout out... but he knows who he is and he made our first trip to Athens wonderful, offering advice and direction around the city.
When we get a chance to visit again we will definitely be staying at Periscope, we loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesignDiva24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
#7 of 282 in Athens
277 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#64 of 282 in Athens
2,107 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 282 in Athens
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,092 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periscope Hotel

Address: 22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#39 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £116 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Periscope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periscope is a minimal city hotel with an impressive urban architecture, located on a quiet street, minutes away from Kolonaki square. The hotel draws its name from its electric periscope, a fantastic way to visit Athens from a distance! In the Lounge Bar, guests can find a remote control for a periscope located on the roof of the hotel. With a 360 degree range, the periscope's views, which guests select, are shown real time on a big plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Periscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periscope Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing