We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depends on which building you're in” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athens Diamond Plus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Athens Diamond Plus
Ranked #105 of 325 Hotels in Athens
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Depends on which building you're in”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

The location is fab, just down the street from Syntagma square.

Not a bad place if you're in the black building (same one as the reception) or the white building (across the road). I was in the white building, my colleague was in the black building. The black building room was spacious and had a great balcony, with no complaints. The white place, on the other hand was well below par - the room couldn't get dark at night due to the loose fit of the door and the light coming in from the corridor; there was lots of elegant but impractical furniture - no desk wide enough to put a laptop on or a chair suitable for hanging a suit jacket over; and a cleanser smell which pervaded the whole white building. It was also one of those hotel rooms with too much inappropriate technology - the shower was too complex; i tried to phone reception to ask how to turn the water on but couldn't figure out how to dial (there were no directions on how to phone reception) and I didn't fancy crossing the road in my pyjamas to ask. I had a good laugh with another colleague of mine who was also in the white building as he found himself in an identical situation!

The breakfast was OK (in the black building on the top floor) but it was a shame that in such a wonderful climate they couldn't find some outdoor space for it - after the first day I had my breakfast in a cafe around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ho6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    83
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
107
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Four of us (two couples) stayed here for two nights. I was in a wheelchair ( the accident occurred after the hotel booking had been made) and was glad that the place had a (small) elevator and no steps into the bathroom, plus there was plenty of space in the room to move about in the chair. There was a large balcony but I didn't venture out onto it as it was too hot and there was no shade. The staff kindly provided a plastic chair to use in the walk-in shower, which was spacious. A staff member carried our bags to the rooms and gave us a few ideas about where to eat and what time and when the shops and attractions were open.
The all white room (on the third floor) with gold flourishes and large mirror was, on first impression quite glamorous, but on closer inspection, it was apparent that it was a bit tired and worn at the edges. When it comes to white, there is nowhere for the imperfections to hide, so any stain or scratch is going to show. The place was cleaned well and the cleaner was actually still in the room when we checked in (early) so I have no complaints there.
We slept well and the bed was large and comfortable, with four big soft pillows. The curtains were voluminous but were not quite thick enough or hung wide enough to block out all the light and there was a bit of noise from the hotel bar across the road. Our friends couldn't sleep due to the amount of light coming into their room and moved into another in the main building opposite.
I was not able to have breakfast in the 6th floor dining room in the opposite building as access to the elevator was up about 8 steps. However, my husband was able to bring a tray back to our room.
We were only a street away from a main shopping street and Syntagma Square and there were plenty of restaurants and coffee shops in close proximity. We especially enjoyed a restaurant in Monastiraki Square, close up to the church which served terrific gyros and other great food. We only ordered a gyros each for lunch but they also brought out a plate of delicious meat and tomato stew and fantastic yogurt with honey - at no extra cost! As a consequence, we came back for dinner and got the same treatment - all delicious.
Athens was not the easiest place to get around in a wheelchair - some cobbled streets, high kerbs, blocked footpaths (but much easier than Istanbul) but we saw a great deal from the Hop On Hop Off bus tour which had a ramp and a place for wheelchairs. The Acropolis New Museum was a great visit ( good wheelchair access) but I was advised against even attempting the Acropolis site.
The Diamond Plus is a nice hotel in a good area. I have not stayed anywhere else in Athens so can't comment on how it compares to other places. Although I have no complaints about the hotel I would probably check out other options if I ever return to the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBLBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Location of hotel central and convenient. Unfortunately there were 3 major diappointments during our stay - 1) rooms do not have heavy curtains over windows so the street lighting & daylight stream in making sleep difficult; 2) we were moved to an alternate room for the above problem however the shower was a handheld device over the bath with no shower curtain or similar to stop water going across the bathroom; 3) when we went for breakfast on the 2nd morning at 0810 many of the items had run out - we were told 10 mins but waited 20 mins with no improvement. Just as we were leaving a staff member arrived with shopping bags of food. The quality and range of breakfast on the 1st morning was limited - tinned but not fresh fruit, hot foods including scrambled eggs etc were cold. As we were checking out the reception attendant challenged our feedback, but did process the small discount that had been offered by the previous day's staff member.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney,aus
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed here at the end June /July for 6 nights and liked it so much that I booked 2 nights at the end of my trip just before i went home at the end of July.
The rooms are very unique in their decor and that makes you feel very special. The service is great at this small boutique hotel as they get to know your movements and dont disturb you.
The breakfast was very good even though you have to go across the road and take the lift to the rooftop but its no trouble at all.
Also the position is the best as your are within minutes by foot to everything Athens has to offer, including shopping at your doorstep.
A great place to stay when in Athens, I certainly will be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoSydney_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Diamond Plus is a nice hotel very centrally located in Plaka. It is a very easy walk to the Acropolis, the Acropolis museum, Syntagma Square, and many, many restaurants. The room itself was nice. The included breakfast each morning was very good, complete with pastries, ham and cheese wraps, fruit, yogurt station, coffee station, etc. My only complaint would be that we had to roll up several towels in front of the shower door to prevent a giant flood in the bathroom. Once we figured out how to contain it, it was not big deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We had a great time in this nice hotel. A really great place, amazing location in a quiet street in Plaka. The hotel has two biuldings one in front of the other (black and white decoration) and both look really great. We stayed here for 3 nights and had a really nice time in Athens. Good value, great location, helpful staff. They also have a good buffet breakfast, even everyday is the same food you, have a little choice. The room is really clean and with great light, little balconies, the wifi connection was ok. And they are really close to the bus stop that takes you to the airport. We love it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chunguis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The location is perfect. Right in the center but still on a quiet street, Plaka just round the corner as well as Ermou. Hotel and room were very neat and nicely decorated. Nice staff as well. Good breakfast across the street. Quiet rooms and PERFECT bed. For the money it's pretty unbeatable,if this hotel was in Paris you would be paying over 200 euro per night.Love this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 802IOANNIS_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#63 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#65 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Plaka
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
#46 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Omiros Hotel
Omiros Hotel
#103 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Syntagma
Arethusa Hotel
Arethusa Hotel
#89 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#28 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Diamond Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Diamond Plus

Property: Athens Diamond Plus
Address: 23 Voulis & Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Athens Diamond Plus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athens Diamond Plus is a stylistic boutique hotel in Plaka, the old town of Athens that opened its doors in May 2011. The theme of Athens Diamond Plus is white opulence with bold golden strokes. The style is eclectic and neo-romantic with details inspired by ancient Greece. Athens Diamond Hotel is designed to offer to its guests a unique experience of relaxation and reverie in an inspiring environment of beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Athens Diamond Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Diamond Plus Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing