We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athens Diamond Plus
Ranked #96 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Just checked out having spent 2 nights in a standard double- the last they had left. Very pleased with the helpful and friendly staff, from check in to breakfast and then checkout. Great location! The only thing missing was a little bar but there are so many around it didn't really matter. They supplied bottled water as a complimentary service which was very welcome in the heat! Some people on tripadvisor mentioned it was noisy. I have to say we were never disturbed and the hotel was full. Really reasonably priced and would absolutely go back again. Thank you for a lovely 2 days hosting us!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0mab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

First let me get the 800-pound gorilla out of the room first - there's absolutely no view from this hotel or its sister property, Athens Diamond Hotel. This was because the 2 hotels faces each other in close proximity across a narrow street and so what you see from your room would be the rooms of the other hotel and as the street's kind of narrow and not a scenic nor particularly interesting street at that, there's really nothing much to see.

Now that that's out of the way, everything else about the hotel, from location to comfort to cleanliness was really good. And the cleanliness really deserve a mentioning because I had never seen such ultra enthusiastic housekeeping ever! Each time I pass the corridor or something I would see the very efficient, housekeeping cleaning something and she seemed to really really enjoyed doing the cleaning (with a smile, humming a tune, etc...). And the fact that she managed to keep the whole Athens Diamond Plus property so white after all these years was really a testament to her skills. Bravo to that!

The hotel's setup was small but the great service really shines through. The buffet breakfast spread was also reasonably good and its location near Syntagma Square made getting around Athens a breeze.

If there's any complain, it would be that the drainage in the shower should be better - due to a lack of incline to channel the waste water to the drainage system, the shower areas got a little flooded each time I took a shower.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Having never been to Athens, I was a little nervous about where to book, and after much research found the Diamond Plus online. We were not disappointed.

Location wise, it is excellent, with easy acces to Syntagma Square and Plaka so everything was pretty much within walking distance.

The welcome was very friendly, and the rooms kept immaculately. Everything was white and spotless - even the mirrors in the lift had no smears/smudges - and the on cue lighting and music in it which started up on entry was great.

It was also one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in. The room was large and airy and we wanted for nothing. Given the relatively cheap price, this was excellent value for money.

Would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We've stayed in Athens a few times and though we love every part of it we must say that the diamond plus had the greatest vantage point to all the areas we wanted to hit. The white rooms were spacious and clean with a balcony. The plus in the Diamond goes to Yiannis on the front desk. Your quick wit and shiny personality always made the information you gave priceless. He is one of the reasons we will be back. Shout out to Stephano the bell hop for looking after our things and the ladies at breakfast for your morning smiles. We hope this information falls into the right hands. Travel well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FZ94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel was perfect for our 1 night stay in Athens. The location is central. The rooms are spacious but could be cleaner. The all white is very nice. The reception and breakfast room is across the road at the Diamond hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr and Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed only for a night.
Check in was efficient and we were sent to the building opposite with the porter.
Room was of a decent size and so was the bathroom. However, the disappointment of the stay was the shower in the bathroom. The water drained very slowly from the shower and hence the bathroom got very wet when opening the shower door whilst trying to get out. Also, we also spotted a dead cockroach near our room door in the afternoon / evening though this was cleaned off in the morning.
Breakfast was across the road and had a good selection - even with some freshly squeezed orange juice.
We left our luggage with the hotel as we checked out before heading to the acropolis and were not given luggage tags - it is a good thing that our luggage was still there when we got back in the evening. We just informed them we were taking it and rolled it out of the hotel.
However, hotel location is close to Syntagma Square and you are able to take the metro from the airport and then just walk over to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Since we had never been to Athens before it was really hard to pick a hotel and know whether it was located in a good or bad neighborhood. Especially in the current times of turmoil.

Well this hotel was great. The price was reasonable and it was clean. It is very impressive how they can keep everything look so clean and perfectly white.

The hotel is located within a short walk to many attractions and areas like Plaka, Acropolis, and other museums.
The hotel itself located just a few blocks away from the Parlament building, so if you time it right you can watch the Changing of the guard ceremony. Right next to it is a beautiful spacious Public Garden.

Most of the restaurants located in Plaka area.

Athens Diamond Hotel( aka Black) is located right across from the White. That's the building where the registration desk is and this is the building where you will go to eat breakfast, if breakfast is included in your booking.

Don't be thrown off by all the graffiti on the walls and buildings, that does not mean you are in a bad neighborhood. You will know when you are.

Also keep in mind If you are out to get dinner or lunch, Athenians are not dining out until after 3 or 10 p.m. That's when the restaurants get packed.

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radmila26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#59 of 282 in Athens
649 reviews
Holiday Suites
#69 of 282 in Athens
171 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#23 of 282 in Athens
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 282 in Athens
999 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Periscope Hotel
Periscope Hotel
#60 of 282 in Athens
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Diamond Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Diamond Plus

Address: 23 Voulis & Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £61 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Athens Diamond Plus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athens Diamond Plus is a stylistic boutique hotel in Plaka, the old town of Athens that opened its doors in May 2011. The theme of Athens Diamond Plus is white opulence with bold golden strokes. The style is eclectic and neo-romantic with details inspired by ancient Greece. Athens Diamond Hotel is designed to offer to its guests a unique experience of relaxation and reverie in an inspiring environment of beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Diamond Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Diamond Plus Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing