We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but far from main attractions”
Review of Novotel Athenes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Athenes
Ranked #56 of 285 Hotels in Athens
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Overall the hotel is great - helpful staff, wonderful rooms, super elaborate breakfast buffet, chic ambiance, the only drawback is the location of the hotel. Infact, the rooftop pool with the bar offers some stunning views of the city especially at night.
The metro station is at a walking distance from the hotel and taxis are almost always readily available. The location of novotel is actually good to explore the gazi area of athens which is famous for its eating and partying joints.
For exploring the touristy side of Athens, it requires a fair bit of commute from Novotel which is fine in the day time but at night, the area around the hotel gets a bit eerie especially while walking back from the metro station.
Perfect hotel for business travelers. For tourists, you might want to stay closer to the main attractions of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akanksha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for your preference at the Novotel Athens hotel.
We were pleased to read your positive review and we're delighted to learn you enjoyed the hotel's services, since our personnel strive to provide an unforgettable stay to guests.
We look forward welcoming you again during your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 2,401 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank RamoonMar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The location is not the best, but safe enough. I have experienced the local lifestyle with souflaki of its best, for a very reasonable price. We walked a lot and used the public transportation to the city center. It was very annoying that something above our room was hammering loudly at early morning. Taxi driver did not find the hotel, did not speak english at all. AC worked excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Hotel Guest,
We thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback in Tripadvisor further your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel.
We consider your remarks since we always improve our services to offer the best of us to our clients.
We look forward welcoming you again at the Novotel Athens hotel in the future.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This modern hotel is cosy and very pleasant. The staff at the reception are helpful and very friendly. The room I had was large, well equipped, had a sofa and provided a view (from 6F) to the Acropolis. I only found the bed a bit hard.
The buffet breakfast was excellent. I really appreciated having a fresh orange juice, being in a country with so many oranges. The dining area is very pleasant and even offers outdoor sitting. The bar list was good - except for its high prices. But they did provide a few dishes as well at a more reasonable price.
The gym is on the 7F and is really tiny, so I did not use it. The swimming pool is on the rooftop. In the runner there is an open bar and lounge area there. The view on Athens is worth seeing.
It is quite a pity that this hotel is not in a very secure area at night (not in the daytime). It is located at a walking distance to the Archaeological Museum and Omonia Square where there is a metro station.

Room Tip: Some aisle room offer a view on the Acropolis and are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Hotel Guest,
We thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback in Tripadvisor further your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel.
We were delighted to learn you enjoyed the hotel's services and we thank you for your positive message.
We look forward welcoming you again at the Novotel Athens hotel in the future.
SAincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

overall a very nice hotel and friendly staff cant fault the hotel.only downside for me was its location.but great view from the rooftop at night of the acropilis.
drinks in the bar could of been cheaper.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Leo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for having shared your review on Tripadvisor.
You enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel and you appreciated the view from our roof top terrace.
We thank you once more for your message and we look forward welcoming you again at the Novotel Athens hotel.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Wioletta W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A lot of reviews have focused on the poor location of this hotel. It is in a run-down area; but this is the second time we have stayed here, and I have to say we have had no problems, even at night. However, it is a bit out of the way if you're visiting for the tourist attractions; a good 10-15 minute walk from the north side of the central area, and probably 30 minutes from Syntagma. It's a 5 minute walk down to the Larissa Metro and overground stations.

The hotel itself is decent quality; comfortable rooms; and pretty quiet - especially if you get a room facing away from the road. There's a pleasant bar area and restaurant, although the menu is a bit limited.

Overall, if you don't need to be in this part of town there are probably better options; but I would certainly stay at the Novotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yorkshrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvsor.
All your comments were taken into great consideration and of course we would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Athens hotel for your next stay in the city since with this way we feel rewarded.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 285 in Athens
2,194 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#29 of 285 in Athens
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrotel Hotel
#20 of 285 in Athens
1,217 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#39 of 285 in Athens
775 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#85 of 285 in Athens
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Athenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Athenes

Address: Michail Voda 4, Athens 104 39, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Athens
#26 Family Hotel in Athens
#38 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#46 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#50 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £69 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Athenes 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a family holiday or a business trip, the Novotel Athens is designed for natural living. This 4 star hotel in the centre of Athens is close to Omonia Square, Larissis station and the National Museum and features spacious, ergonomic rooms for your comfort and well being. Get down to business with internet access and meeting rooms. Relax in our modern, open plan bar and restaurant with well balanced Mediterranean cuisine or at the rooftop bar and restaurant beside the pool. Free onsite parking. FREE wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Athenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Athenes Hotel Athens
Novotel Hotel Athens
Novotel Hotel Athenes
Novotel Athens
Athens Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing