We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Olympic Hotel
Ranked #60 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Prior to travelling to Greece, friends had recounted there own stories, and I had investigaed safety in Athens which raised concerns. The Royal Olympic Hotel was a beautiful hotel, with great decor and an excellent location to the major Athens attractions. It is directly across the road from Zeus and a 10 minute walk to the Acropolis, with cafe's in between the Acropolis and the hotel.

The room in the hotel was ok, with dated decor, however for the price it was excellent value.

The highlight of this hotel was definitely the rooftop area. The open rooftop bar overlooks the temple of Zeus, and the restaurant area provides views of the Acropolis. The food was really nice in the restaurant and was an overall great experience. If staying in Athens i would highly recommend this hotel for the location and value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,165)
There are newer reviews for Royal Olympic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,729 - 1,735 of 3,165 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

A few minutes walk from Acropolis and Plaka area. Great views of Acropolis and Temple of Zeus from the roof top restaurant and bar.
Lobby was plush and luxurious. Our room was Ok, overloooking the central courtyard and swimming pool - better than the car park/bins/blank wall that we usually seem to end up with! The bathroom was a little tired - chrome wearing off taps etc but not bad enough to spoil our stay.
Staff were polite and helpful.
Good choice of food for breakfast - nice bread and pastries in particular. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but walked out to one of the many local tavernas so can't comment on the restaurant apart from breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This hotel was in the perfect location in Athens! Directly across from the Temple of Zeus and a 5 minute walk to the old part of athens (Plaka) you definitely do not want to miss out on this experience. Loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hotel is so central to all main areas of Athens, the Plaka, changing of the greek guards, good food and all major attractions. Hotel is very clean lots of areas where you can relax and a business center with quite a few computers, which were free and breakfast on the balcony overlooking the beautiful acropolis especially lit up at night. And the Parthenon was a great site from the balcony as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for just one night prior to a cruise. Our room was on the first floor (in Europe that is the 2nd floor). Upon opening the draperies, we were greeted with a fabulous view of the acropolis and other ruins. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was gorgeous and very spacious. Also, there was a walk-in closet. We didn't use the pool but it was very pretty. There is a wonderful restaurant on the roof of the hotel with amazing views. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked our room facing the front street for the views. We didn't hear any traffic noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cogan122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a 3 day stay to see Athens by foot booked Royal Olympic based on location. Royal Olympic was a very comfortable home base with good staff from the front door to the rooftop bar. As the Greek God now sports logo Nike says, go for it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowyerOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

There was a general strike in Athens two days prior to our arrival and had emailed the hotel to arrange for a pick-up service at the Piraeus port (as we were arriving around midnight and were slightly concerned about the safety in the city). The hotel never replied our emails about the pick-up and the pick-up service was only arranged when we called them (which was inconvenient for us as our mobiles were on roaming), and of course, at an extremely overpriced rate.

On arrival, we were given a sub-par double room (with two single beds pushed together to form a "double"), and the toilet was not cleaned properly. The next night we went up to the rooftop bar for a drink and whilst the view was very good, the drinks were probably the worst and most overpriced we've had in a very long time. We tried their "signature cocktails" and they tasted like what we would've gotten at a cheap local pub for all you can drink prices, except they cost like 20 euros here for one glass. Food at the restaurant, however, was much better, but still only what you would expect given the price you pay. The wifi only worked in the lobby and not in the room, when asked about it we were told that no one else has this problem so it must be our problem (great service).

The only good thing is the location, indeed very close to all major tourist sites, but there are many other hotels in the area which have just as good a location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,842 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,147 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#66 of 282 in Athens
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,330 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Address: 28-34 Diakou Athanassiou, Athens 117 43, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#38 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £96 - £546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing