We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Olympic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Olympic Hotel
Ranked #58 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Gerrards Cross
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed twice in 2013, impressive hotel lobby but signs of faded grandeur elsewhere and probably not a true 5 star by international standards.
Rooms are impressive in a grand style (heavy curtains etc) but bathrooms are end of life dated. Rooms facing internally over the pool, whilst not enjoying the city view will pay you back for respite from the traffic on the road side of the hotel where the bus stops and traffic lights create noise from buses and motor bikes (lots of those!) stopping and starting.
I was not able to sample the pool due to late opening and early closing so tried the gym, which is actually accessed by walking outside, round the corner and through an anonymous steel door. As I was the only user I was given the key, the equipment is state of the ark and there are obvious security and other risks, so this was a one off.
The location is fabulous and breakfast with views to the Acropolis, standing against a clear blue sky take a lot of beating anywhere in the world. A five minute walk takes you into the Plaka area and if you arrive by air, 8 euros on the metro delivers you at Acropolis station, only 2 minutes from the hotel.
Overall bankable with great views

Room Tip: Avoid those overlooking the front road - too much traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    1,020
    517
    201
    133
See reviews for
481
1,403
108
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Ok, so just arrived. Lobby area very smart. However if you are in wrong area of accom, room is worse than average: tired, poorly appointed, little surface space to place anything, bed lacks decent bedding, and room not warm. Absence of iron and ironing board is the final straw for me, and I certainly won't be paying the hefty price here to get my clothes pressed by staff. Use your money wisely. If you want the location then this hotel might do. However, I recommend that you try elsewhere......the rating's 5 stars seem to fall away beyond the lobby, and I certainly will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aln547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Royal Olympic, is one of the best Athens’ hotels, ideally located by the Temple of Olympian Zeus. By the time I entered the lobby, I was able to realize the level of the hotel. All decorated in shades of green, it provided a luxurious ambiance while the statue in the middle holding an olive branch reminded my being in Athens. From the library area, the views of the Temple across the street were astonishing. Service in the lobby area was particularly efficient but the bar was on the pricey side.

Conference facilities of the hotel were simply excellent, including silent air-conditioning units, wireless microphones and headphones which, together with the efficiency of the hotel’s staff, ensured the excellence during the event I assisted, which took place in Olympia Hall.

In general, I really enjoyed my time at the RO and it would certainly be amongst my first choices in case I need a hotel in Athens in the future. Next time, I will also probably try the Roof Garden dining options.

Room Tip: Those facing the ancient ruins; at the front of the hotel are the best. If you can't afford them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sto_char
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The staff are wonderful - helpful, friendly and charming. The hotel very clean, well laid out, the public areas grand and luxurious. The ground floor and restaurant bars are well staffed and lovely places to spend time. The location is quite central, everywhere easily walkable and stunning views from the restaurant and some of the bedrooms. However, despite being kept fully informed of the difficulties we were experiencing (through no fault of our own) in out travels they did give our room away. Being given, as an alternative, what was called 'the presidential siute' was no comfort since it was next to an elevator shaft that kept us awake all night. Finally in our original room we appreciated the remarkable views of the Temple of Zeus and the Acropolis. I have to say that throughout these difficulties all staff were unfailingly courteous and solicitous, friendly and helpful.I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a Panorama Room if you can. They are light, bright, with great views, quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The Allennz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was a wonderful hotel. Very clean and extremely helpful staff. I can't imagine a better location. Acropolis, Olympic stadium and Temple of Zeus all within very easy walking distance. The room is not quite as luxerious as the lobby but is certainly what you should expect of a higher end European room- ie it's cozy. Food in the restaurant was quite good but the view is not to be beaten!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
182 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

we had only one night to spend in Athens so . we booked this hotel and we were happy to come to a welcome doorman from Canada speaking English and really into his guests you know the type. the looby was grand and the classy front desk girl was dressed to empress with up due hair that made me feel as if i am her maid..smiling
spoken English wonderfully and helped us with local info.
the room was ok. not grand . it was just your normal crown plaza size with tiny balcony but the view was amazing.
the roof top cafe for breakfast was sheer delight with great service and great food.
we will come back to this hotel. the service was top style in my book and i am picky..smiling again
go around to the plaka have a real mouska and enjoy the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank navawritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Great location - easy walking distance to several locations and the metro. The rooftop bar is VERY expensive but there is a stunning view. We had no problems with the room and all the staff that we encountered were great. Breakfast seemed average for Greece, no issues at all.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the top floor if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tryingtoseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#13 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Property: Royal Olympic Hotel
Address: 28-34 Diakou Athanassiou, Athens 117 43, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#43 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing