We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Olympic Hotel
Ranked #65 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Pros: Amazing views of Temple of Zeus especially if you upgrade to the top floor, as we did. But you also get this amazing view from breakfast terrace/bar.
Grand lobby
Centrally located
More extensive breakfast than usually found in Europe

Cons:
No concierge as such - asked reception staff to call and book theatre tickets for us which they found very confusing. Had to almost force them to do this.
Need to invest in a bit of room updating to make it match the grand lobby below.

The views and location really make the hotel though!

Room Tip: If you can get the top floor rooms for views of the Temple of Zeus, you will get a totally different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fdollx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,460 of 3,310 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

3 nights in executive room with double bed over looking Zeus temple. The view was amazing room very comfortable, pool area very nice and refreshing after a day of exploring. Marred by two incidents awoken 0430 by next-door having a party very loud music and shouting reception notified but were unable to get a response, so noise continued till 0600. Whilst awake I went to make myself a cup of tea with my travel jug only to find that house-keeping had thrown the cups out. Tried to explain my problem to reception but lost in translation, but overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank diannehobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Just maybe One of the 5 best hôtels of Athens ! No error choosing this hôtel if you want to spend nice holidays !
The hotel itself is just so beautifull with its pool and its amazing view !

Moreover, it´s just located nearneverything you need.
Important to know :
Airport to Athens center anywhere 35€ (fixed price)
Plaka to pireus port : 20€

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Francois F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We had a executive room with double bed. View across the city but not directed to Acropolis or the Zeus tempel. Room was ok, nice bed, nice curtains, good sound isolation. However the bathroom was too small for two persons. The atmosphere is luxury in the hotel, unfortunately it feels like there are constantly tour groups running around the hotel. Not a very relaxed feeling! Same goes for the breakfast. They try to have too many choices leading to a huge queue of people who are constantly skipping the cue. Also the waiters always have to break up the queue to refill. No way to have a relaxed breakfast here! Also the food was cold (scrambled eggs) and not very tasty. And only one plqce to get a coffee for around 200 people eating at the same time?They should have a better organized smaller breakfast. Less choices but high quality and maybe two small buffets and not one huge. Really spoiled our morning of departure where we tried to be relaxed before our trip back home.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed only two days but it was amazing, its a really nice place. The reception does not have a really good indication of the places but they were nice. The guy on the entrance was rude and not much comprehensive but the hotel was beautiful and it had a really good location near dionysio a.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Cande D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal Olympic on two separate occasions this month and can recommend the location as it was within walking distance to so many attractions. The Plaka area was less than 5 minutes away. The rooftop bar is amazing for it's views of the Acropolis and Garden of Zeus and we highly recommend you have a drink up there and watch the sunset and enjoy the views but don't eat there unless you are prepared to pay triple the cost of what you would pay up the road in Plaka. Having said that though, the food and breakfast is great.

We had issues with our room on both occasions in that the air conditioning did not work - we had people come to our room to tinker around but were unable to fix it so it made for very unpleasant sleeping conditions. Our safe and fridge also didn't work in our first room which was annoying. The staff didn't seem to overly care too much so on that basis we probably won't stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lizass12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I arrived in an absolute down pour. The doorman seemed more interested in keeping himself dry than arriving guests! I couldn't really see much around the hotel as the rain was so heavy.
At reception the young lady said, she was sorry for the rain and that she would upgrade me to an Athenian room. Wow, great room, everything I needed and what capped it all was the view once the rain cleared and the sun came out. A picture window looked out on to the temple of Zeus.
Look left and a view of the Acropolis if you squint! Go up to the roof garden for breakfast and you wont have to squint, what a view, what a good breakfast as well. The pool are is a little small but I didn't really get time to use it. Food and drink was a bit expensive. Room service was quick but food was cold! I would come again as long as I got the same price deal, I wouldn't like to have paid the full room rate.

Room Tip: try and get an upgrade to a view of the Zeus temple. (I was in 307)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dean1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 284 in Athens
3,309 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 284 in Athens
2,490 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 284 in Athens
3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 284 in Athens
2,192 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 284 in Athens
3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Address: 28-34 Diakou Athanassiou, Athens 117 43, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#44 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £92 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing