We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel, convenient location, not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Olympic Hotel
Ranked #59 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel, convenient location, not 5 star”
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We just stayed 2 nights at this hotel while visiting Athens. We had an executive room overlooking the pool, the room and bathroom were small but clean, the bed linens were clean and soft. The hotel foyer is nice (in a greek way) and so are the roof bar, dining room and pool. We had drinks at the roof bar with an excellent view of the Acropolis at night. The service is excellent. I would recommend this hotel as it is just a few blocks from the Plaka which, if you are visiting Athens as a tourist, is where you want to be. The hotel is on a very noisy street with traffic, for this reason I would suggest a room not on the street. We didnt hear the street at all from our room. While I would recommend this hotel, I would not say it is a 5 star hotel. The rooms are just not that caliber. We opted out of the morning breakfast, for 25 euros per person we felt it was expensive and instead went to the Plaka and head a great breakfast for much less.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    1,089
    550
    214
    140
See reviews for
516
1,490
119
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Booked this hotel due to its location near to the main sights. We weren't disappointed with the location just 5 minutes walk from the Acropolis and near to plenty of cafes and restaurants. The nearest Metro station (Acropolis) is about 3 minutes walk and the tram to the beaches is 3 minutes walk in the other direction.

The first room I was offered was spacious and well furnished but had no window! This was quickly changed for a room in the other wing of the hotel which had french doors onto a good sized balcony. This immediately roused my suspicion that the Royal Olympic is not a 5 star hotel for what 5 star hotel would have bedrooms without windows! Anyway the second room was more than adequate. Not particularly modern in design but it was comfortable and quiet.

Checked out the rest of the hotel. The swimming pool was disappointing as its set in a courtyard on the ground floor which means it is surrounded by several storeys of the hotel on all sides so gets no sun. Consequently we only saw people using the pool once during our 3 day stay.

We didn't manage dinner in the hotel but the rooftop restaurant looked attractive. The bar off the lobby was pleasant but very quiet. Breakfast is in the main dining room on the ground floor and was very busy. On 2 of the 3 mornings the breakfast offering was very Greek with few items we recognised. The 3rd day there was bacon, scrambled egg etc. i was surprised by this as most of the other guests appeared to be from the US or Germany and we never encounted any Greek guests.

On 2 afternoons we took the nearby tram to the beaches. The cost is just 1 euro and the journey takes around 20 minutes. We also took the Metro into the centre of Athens (1 stop and again 1 euro) although I think you can walk in around 20 minutes. We visited the Acropolis around 10.30am on day and it was already very busy so I'd recommend arriving there as early as possible to avoid the crowds.

We reached the hotel from the airport by Metro. The directions on the hotel website are good and it was an easy journey with just one change. There are escalators in all the stations so it was easy with luggage. The journey to and from the airport took us 50-55 minutes, not 25 minutes as quoted by the hotel. The cost is just 6 euros each way. Make sure you take the right exit from Acropolis Metro station (as stated on the hotel website) and don't be put off by the narrow road you are directed to walk down as it saves quite a distance. It is only about 200m to the hotel but you need to cross one major road where there is a crossing.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJimBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The lobby was impressive, pool was nice and rooftop bar/restaurant had incredible views though extremely pricey. The doormen were the most personable of all the staff offering suggestions, answering questions and making us feel welcome. The rest were professionally cool. The room was a bit small for 2; more the size of a moderate motel. There was a small balcony which offered a view of the pool, a nice place for an evening drink. The location makes this hotel a good choice when visiting Athens.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westerns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Looks like its best days are behind it. Great location. Many attractive 'physical' attributes - nice lobby, pool area, dining room. But service is mediocre (e.g. breakfast buffet not replenished), and overall it has a slightly run down feel to it.

Perhaps a management change would let it fulfill its potential?

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed in September 09, and were pleasantly surprised on arriving to the hotel. It is very grand, a lovely hotel and definitely for the upmarket. They had a wedding on and it looked lovely.

Our room was an executive with pool view and was nice, had 2 singles piushed together to make a double and a further single by the window, very clean and the bathroom was a good size. Safe in the wardrobe was also free of charge. And there is free wifi in the hotel, you just need to get a card from reception.

The pool was very nice, the only issue is that because of the height of the hotel buildings the pool had limited sun and in some positions it was only from 1.30 until 4. So you do need to move your bed or move to other sun loungers throughout the day. The pool area was very nice with loungers and tables with chairs etc. There is a pine needle type tree which was a bit annoying when the wind blows and you;ve got loads of pine needles on you but not too much of a disturbance and the pool is kept clean.

The pool bar however was extortionate $5.50 for a coke and $20+ for a sandwich, not your average pool bar prices. The rooftop bar/restuarant was very nice and the view is amazing, however the prices are quite expensive so we only went up for a drink.

Breakfast was a bit of a let down as well, they had a variety on most days but they stop putting new food out at about 9.45 even though breakfast goes on until 10.30. Also on some days when they changed the menu it wasn't very breakfasty at all e.g. spinach pie, cous cous, polenta & carrots!

Really good location 2-3 mins walk from the tube stop - Acropoli & the Acropolis museum, 10 mins walk to the entrance of the Acropolis and the Temple of Zeus is literally opposite the hotel although the entrance is 5 min walk.

All in all good hotel, just a bit over-priced considering we booked through last minute.com, however it is 5 star!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingstonnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2009

The Royal Olympic is in a great location, the lobby looks super, but we were very disappointed with our room. It was small and only had a view of the pool. The bathroom had no counter space and the door had to be closed in order to use the toilet. The hair dryer was attached to the wall by the door making it difficult to use. The faucets in the tub stuck out so much that we bumped into them while showering. Service was slow, elevators were tiny, and costs were high. Room service charges three euros for a bucket of ice. The roof garden restaurant has a great view, but is only open after 6:30pm and is considerable expensive. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBeachCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Recently finished our trip in Greece with a stay at the Royal Olympic - big mistake. We were looking for a luxury hotel to relax on the last couple days and it turned out to be the opposite. Although the lobby and pool area are nice, the rooms definitely leave something to be desired. When we got there (very late after a delayed flight from Crete), we checked in and went up to our room which was very old and shabby and not to mention smoking which I am allergic to. We specifically chose non-smoking when we booked the room on THEIR own website. When I called the front desk and asked to be moved they seemed very inconvenienced and said our only other option would be a room in the middle of the building with no deck or windows facing outside. We had no other choice so moved rooms. The new room was VERY small and although nicer than the first, was not even close to worth the money. We had no view, an old dark room and were spending a lot! Finally, our second night, we picked up takeout and thought we could eat it in one of the common areas - this was a big no-no. We were immediately approached and asked to go to our room. It's not like we brought it into a restaurant or something - just wanted to spread out a bit.
At the end of the day - we are frequent travelers and have stayed in many hotels - this one was the most overrated hotel we have stayed in. Save your money or book somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoked24R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,761 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#69 of 326 in Athens
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Property: Royal Olympic Hotel
Address: 28-34 Diakou Athanassiou, Athens 117 43, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#43 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing