We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel in great location, looks great but noisey room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Olympic Hotel
Ranked #61 of 325 Hotels in Athens
mission beach australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“hotel in great location, looks great but noisey room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

Professional and 'almost' 5 star. this hotel is very close to most of the sights and the plaka- great. we booked this hotel after reading the reviews, photos and location. . there were no pool view rooms available when we arrived although that's what we booked on expedia and to get a 3rd night cost $380 from reception(in a larger noiser room) against $165 on expedia!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    1,032
    527
    205
    134
See reviews for
487
1,419
111
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

Stayed for three nights in a double executive room, which is their cheapest alternative. While many aspects of the hotel matched the 5-star rating, the hotel had made some odd design choices. As a few points for improvement, I'd suggest are moving the armchair from half blocking the entrance to the room, installing something to hang towels on next to the bathroom, and keeping the pool open year-round. Hotter hot water and colder cold water would also have been nice, but perhaps nothing the hotel can control. They could, however, install working heating. Things I liked include the rooftop restaurant with spectacular views, the charming breakfast hall, the helpful staff, and the location. All in all, it's not that I was unhappy with my stay, but I am sure there are better alternatives out there. Hence, I would not recommend the Royal Olympic in particular.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2009

When I was booking this hotel in internet, I was not notified that during my stay most of the hotel facilities was not working such as:
1. The panorama restaurant on the top floor was not working due to construction works going there
2. The pool area and the Spa were also out of duty, staff told me that it was not a season for spa and the pool in may, but are there season and no season times in a hotel that is located in downtown? However there was nothing saying about no season time when I was booking hotel online.
The rooms were so small that there was even no wardrobe in the hall it was in the living room next to the bed, and they say that rooms starts with executive room. The room was located on the 4th floor with the balcony on the pool side. The safe was build in to the closets floor and the instruction of how to use it was on the side of the safe, so actually if you want to read the instruction you have to get on your knees light the lighter as there is not light in the closet and try to figure out how does this thing works.
There was no bidet in the bathroom.
The way of taking a shower was so bad, shower curtain will actually lay on your shoulder , because the bathroom is small and so bad designed and do not forget it is an executive room!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 04082009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England
Level Contributor
383 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in December. We paid a good rate for a 5 star hotel. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor i wasnt sure what to expect. The room we had which was an executive double was a good size and what i would expect of a 5 star hotel, although the shower which was a hand held version was a little disappointing.

The breakfast, reception and bar areas were also of a good standard. The roof terrace was a great addition to the hotel, giving great views of the Parthenon. Breakfast was only served until 10 am which was a little early.

Free internet access was available in the adjoining business centre.

The location was excellent and If we visit Athens again we would stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

Good value for money. The location of the hotel is fantastic, and views from the rooftop bar/restaurant can’t be beat. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycjime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

I stayed in the hotel for two nights in November and booked a room for two people for a very good price which included breakfast.

Although the twin room I stayed in was not of the same standard as the hotel’s suites and other types of rooms, I was overall happy, considering the price I had paid. I had a glimpse of the suites: they looked good and were facing the main ancient monuments of Athens. Pity I could not afford one of them.

Breakfast offered plenty of choice from cold and hot selections. I’ve had breakfast in a few hotels in various places and the breakfast here was one of the best.

The hotel was busy with business people and families but the staff was always helpful.

About the area: the hotel is near Acropolis, Plaka, the shops of Ermou Street and the new Acropolis museum which is a must-see. I had coffee at the museum, with Greek and non-Greek tourists as well as what seemed to be upper class Athenian families meeting for their weekend get-together. There are plenty of restaurants in the Plaka area for lunch and dinner. I enjoyed dinner at a place just behind the Lysicrates monument. If you want a quick bite while you are wondering around, try the Greek snack ‘koulouri’ from a stand in the corner of Ermou St and Evangelistrias (the stand is definitely on Ermou Street on or near Evangelistrias). Buy your bottled water from the small restaurant just to the left of the hotel.

Finally, when you travel to Greece, it is advisable to call hotels and check the prices directly with their reception - just in case they can offer a better price!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

Chose this hotel after much research on TA. As previously stated by other TA Members this hotel's staff is not friendly at all but after staying in Athens 3 days I tend to believe that their poor mannerism is due to their culture. Greeks tend to be harsh then once you offer conversation they open up some. We stayed 3 nights pre-cruise - our flight arrived at 2:25am into Athens therefore arriving at the hotel at 4am. Upon our arrival to the hotel we were told we were early so we negotiated a 1/2 night's rate in order to check in. Most hotels in Europe allow you early check-in at no additional charge if a room is available. We decided to pay this as we were exhausted from the long haul flight from Phoenix. Aside from this, the property itself is in an excellent location and worth the price. You can reserve at its direct website, www.royalolympic.com or do some rate searches with various search engines. Rates vary drastically in each so make sure you get the best rate. The hotel is walking distance to the Acropolis and across from the Temple of Zeus. No need to hire a taxi to visit these places or to get to the Plaka and Thiosis areas. If walking is a problem, there is a trolley train you can get at the corner of the hotel for 5Euros pp that will make stops to all the major areas. For the same ticket you can hop on and off the same day. There is free WiFi in rooms that is very reliable and fast - (a rarity). The property is beautiful and the public areas are well kept. Breakfast is excellent. It is advisable to purchase the breakfast with your room rate as it is expensive if you pay separately. We had a standard room that was quite large for European standards with two twin beds placed together to make one king - which was very hard. The bathroom was generally clean and large but had a leaky shower door that had some old mold in various areas. There is no in room coffee or tea. Room has a mini bar, safe and LCD Screen TV with good cable channels in many languages. The elevators became a small problem for us as we never were able to go down on one but used the stairs. They are very slow and small. For a good quick Greek meal try Athens Family Restaurant next door to the hotel - very good service and food. Taxi from airport to hotel is 40Euros as of Oct 19, 2009. Hotel to Pireaus Port $16-20Euros taxi. No negotiations with taxis - metered amount only. Stores in Plaka very negotiable. Watch for prices of vases that claim to be COPIES of museum pieces - they are marked up alot! You can negotiate up to 75% down. There is plenty of gold for sale in Athens, but as jewelry buyers - we found the prices to be very high - that and the Euro exchange rate to the USD, makes it even more expensive. Up to buyer if they really want the piece. Merchants are very pushy – learn to say no or you will lose time in stores. Merchants do not get upset if you say no and leave. You may pay in most places with credit cards, Euros or USD. Be aware that American Express is not accepted in most areas.
For a good tour guide at the Acropolis and other areas of Athens I recommend Ms. Koula (pronounced " Kula") Papadopoulou (mobile [--]. The country calling code of Greece is 30). Her fees are very reasonable about 50-85Euros per couple depending on sites you wish to visit and her knowledge is excellent. She was a teacher for many years. She loves questions and thanks you each time you ask one! Although this is not the 5Star property it boasts - but more like a 3Star - if staying for a short period of time or pre-cruise stay - I certainly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ludiandrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#68 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Property: Royal Olympic Hotel
Address: 28-34 Diakou Athanassiou, Athens 117 43, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#43 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing